Research Guides: CWRU's Digital Collections: Getting Started

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 15 views this year

General Usage

On Digital Case, you can start viewing materials by navigating to "Collections" or by using the search bar. Our collections are organized based on the location of the collection (CWRU Archives, CWRU Special Collections, or Partner Institutions). These materials are then further organized based on their collection and descriptions.

Image of Digital Case Homepage https://digital.case.edu/

Digital Case not only makes these digitized resources available for viewing, but also lets users download the digital materials and their corresponding data!

Download Buttons on Digital Case Users can download the digital objects, their metadata, and even optical character recognition (OCR) files.

To learn more about other capabilities of Digital Case and how they can assist your needs, contact the Digital Collections Librarianfor more individualized approaches!

Keywords

Before starting your search, it is always good to brainstorm keywords!

Write down words or phrases that describe your topic
Use these keywords to do a few test searches
Browse the results
Look at the "Details" section below the digital materials and note these terms down
Redo the search using those terms to yield better results

Quick Guide

Digital Case is CWRU's digital collections repository, an openly-available online source for curated digital content. By providing easy access to Special Collections, University Archives, and our Partner Institutions' digitized materials, digital copies of rare books, manuscripts, historical images, documents, audiovisual materials, and more are available for all!

Digital Case This link opens in a new window Digital Case is Case Western Reserve's online source for curated digital content about the University: photographs and audio recordings from University Archives (which cover historical events at CWRU), digital copies of rare books and manuscripts in Special Collections. With Digital Case, the Kelvin Smith Library assumes an active role in the scholarly communication process, providing expertise in the form of a set of services for access, distribution, and long-term preservation of Case's collective intellectual product.