Digital Case does currently house scholarly publications of CWRU faculty, staff, and students, but these collections are currently being moved to Scholarly Commons@CWRU! If you have any questions regarding the scholarly collections, contact digitalcommons@case.edu or click here to submit research!
Digital Case contains digitized Special Collections and Archival materials in a variety of subject areas. There are a few ways you can search for these sources.
Check out below "Ways to Search Digital Case" below to learn more about these search tactics!
Without even clicking an extra page, you can search for Digitized Collections on KSL's library homepage search widget. Click the tab, then type away!
By browsing for collections, you can see the many diverse digital collections in Digital Case. Click on a collection and scroll through to find materials. If you want to know more about how collections are organized in Digital Case, click here!
You can view all the digital collections through the main library search bar by clicking on the tab labeled "Digitized Collections"
Use the Search Bar within Digital Case to search for digitized objects across all the collections! Also, Advanced Search can allow for more granular details to be added to the search query!
When starting a new library search, you can use the dropdown and scroll to "Digitized Collections" to limit your search!
Look at the bottom of the "Details" section to see "Collection Path" and "More from the same Collection" to continuing viewing similar materials! This is also great to know which collection you are viewing!
You can also use the "Advanced Search" in Digital Case, which allows you to filter the search by title, date, subject, author, language, material type, and more. You can also narrow your search as well!
Some of the descriptions below the digital materials contain links that can be used to find materials! These links are called "contextual links" and can help users find specific types of sources. For example, you may only want materials from a specific date or author, so clicking these links under the object will take you to objects within that date range.
Ever wanted to extract text from yearbooks to see how language, culture, or society has changed over time? Or do you have another unique research question that needs large sets of textual data? Look no further than CWRU Archives Yearbook Collection!
Did you know that Digital Case has 255 CWRU Patents that could serve as a resource for business, law, and other subject area's research? Check it out!
Digital Case contains many different newspapers and periodicals, like the Cleveland Bystander, that can serve as both qualitative and quantitative datasets. Additionally, textual materials that are made accessible on Digital Case contain optical character recognition (OCR) files that are readily available to download under the digital objects!
An underrated source for datasets are digital books. Digital Case has a collection of digitized books from Kelvin Smith Library's Special Collections that focus on the history, government, culture, and people of Cleveland, Ohio. These are great sources for data mining, textual analysis, and other research methods!
Contact the Digital Collections Librarian!
