Please see this related guide that documents and promotes the OA publishing opportunities available to faculty, staff, and students.
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.
For 40 years, Crain’s Cleveland Business has been the trusted source for business news and information for Northeast Ohio’s top executives and business owners. CrainsCleveland.com provides visitors full access to all of Crain's award-winning content, including online news, blog posts, articles from the weekly print issue, original videos, and access to past Crain's stories.
This link opens in a new windowThe library negotiated a new 3-year deal to continue access to faculty, staff, and students.
Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, Encyclopaedia Islamica Online offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.
Starting January 1, 2023, students, faculty, and staff at most OhioLINK member institutions will have access to current articles published in all 70+ journals published by IOP. In addition, corresponding authors at OhioLINK member institutions may publish open access (OA) journal articles at no additional charge to either the author or the institution.
Access to the publishing benefits begins on January 1, 2022, and continues through December 31, 2025. This means that to publish an article as open access without paying any Article Publication Charge (APC), the article to be published must be accepted for publication after January 1, 2023, and on or before December 31, 2025. OhioLINK's agreement with IOP allows for original research and review articles to be published as open-access in all journals that participate in IOP's transformative agreements(link sends e-mail), including most of its fully open-access and hybrid open-access journals
See the OhioLINK information page for authors for more details.
The Index to Printed Music is a digital finding aid for individual pieces of music published in the complete works of composers, in anthologies, and in other scholarly editions. Over 540,000 entries provide a granular level of detail about each piece, including performing forces, language, music incipits, multiple clefs, and figured bass.
Knowledge Unlatched (KU) makes scholarly content freely available to everyone and contributes to the further development of the open access (OA) infrastructure. Through library pledges, content is secured and made available to the world.
The Kelvin Smith Library supported various efforts in FY22 and FY23.
Berghahn Migration and Development Studies (2021-23) is the front-list publications covering the topics of international migration and movement as well as the social implications of economic and environmental change on communities. Includes titles from the Forced Migration series as well as Integration and Conflict Studies and the Environmental Anthropology and Ethnobiology series among others. Features Berghahn Books’ most action-oriented anthropology portfolio aimed at achieving the widest impact that its research insights make possible.
EDP Sciences Open Mathematics (2023-2025) includes 6 journals:
HAU Books (2023-25) is the book publishing wing of the Society for Ethnographic Theory (SET). The aim is to ensure that anthropologists‘ precious ethnographic findings can return to the communities studied by the scientists in a free and shareable form. The effort also ensured no author-facing costs.
IWA Publishing Frontlist Books (2023-2025) collection explores a variety of topics related to water and wastewater. Includes research on water quality and filtration in evolving countries.
KU Focus Collection 2023: Climate Change features 20 frontlist cutting-edge books from publishers such as Emerald, Ohio University Press, Taylor & Francis, and others.
KU Focus Collection 2023: Global Health features 20 frontlist cutting-edge books from publishers such as the University of London Press, AOSIS, Taylor & Francis, and others.
KU Select 2023 English Language and Literature includes 42 books from Boydell & Brewer, Brill, Edinburgh University Press, and others.
KU Select 2023 History includes 51 books from Purdue University Press, Anthem Press, Liverpool University Press, and others.
KU Select 2023 Modern Languages includes 36 books from the University of Hawaii Press, Verso Books, Duke University Press, and others.
KU Select 2023 Politics & International Studies includes 30 front-list books from the University of Michigan Press, Ledizioni Publishing, Manchester University Press, and others.
KU Select 2023 Sociology includes 60 books from Emerald, Taylor & Francis, Georgetown University Press and others.
Routledge Gender Studies (2023-2025) includes 20 books per year in global and cutting-edge research on such hot topics as LGBTQ rights, post-colonialism, and feminist pedagogy. This collection of books also covers interdisciplinary areas ranging from motherhood and beauty to sport, film, and culture.
This link opens in a new windowOhioLINK announces the State Library of Ohio has awarded American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) grant funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) for the purchase of a collection of unlimited- and perpetual-access Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) e-books. OhioLINK’s central coordination of the selection and implementation will make these e-books accessible to libraries that otherwise would not have the financial, staffing, or technical resources to acquire such a collection. The first phase of the collection, 82 books, is available.
Note these books are not listed as a "collection" on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform or via the CWRU or OhioLINK library catalogs. Title list is below in Excel to be browsed.
Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds are part of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act, federal economic aid authorized in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2020, OhioLINK was awarded funding for the first round of GEER resources through the Ohio Department of Higher Education. Again in 2022, OhioLINK has been awarded additional funding. These funds will be used to continue efforts to bridge COVID-created gaps in higher education instructional materials and library resources. OhioLINK's collection development committee CIRM recommended the following e-resources be purchased with the GEER funds to address the ongoing needs of faculty/instructors in teaching remote and hybrid courses to Ohio’s 2-year, undergraduate, and graduate-level students across a wide range of disciplines.
Starting December 1, 2022, OhioLINK membership has perpetual access to approximately 2,700 e-books to support a broad curriculum: humanities, social sciences, science & technology, and more. Includes all Handbooks published through 2021.
Access for 12 months to e-books (published 2012-2022) and e-textbooks (published through 2023) in subjects relating to science, social science, medicine, and engineering. In November 2023, the purchase of selected high-use titles with perpetual access will be formalized and other titles turned off.
Perpetual access to 2023 frontlist e-books from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania university presses.
Additional leased access through, the end of 2023. to backfile content from these presses as well as Rutgers and Penn State university presses.
Supports broad curriculum for sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
Perpetual access to 480 streaming videos in mental health, counseling & psychotherapy.
Included with the SAGE videos purchase, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center (EJC) package will be upgraded to the "Premier 2017" fixed journal package. An additional 47 e-journals will be added for all EJC subscribers.
PitchBook uncovers actionable insights and trends hidden within the financial data of more than three million companies, including public and private markets.
Pitchbook provides data covering
Use the long-form version of your CWRU email address to log in..
PitchBook is the leading resource for comprehensive data, research and insights spanning the global capital markets. The unprecedented depths of their offerings are brought to life through the PitchBook Platform, a dynamic suite of products.
PitchBook platform includes Morningstar Equity Research ESG. The Morningstar research team analyzes industries and businesses with a focus on identifying sustainable competitive advantages.
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend-charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
This link opens in a new windowUse Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports, and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime, and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying material properties that cover data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
The platform is aimed at academic and governmental institutions with a research focus on materials science, physics, chemistry, and engineering, and is supporting research and development in corporate organizations in the fields of bulk and fine chemical manufacturing, petroleum and petrochemicals, semiconductors, electronic and optical materials, ceramics, polymer synthesis and processing, and materials for fuels and energy application.
The platform includes the entire Landolt-Börnstein archive.
CWRU has access to all T&F online journal titles from 2023-25, including back issues access to 1997. We gained over $10 million in content (2000+ titles) for a fraction of the cost.
In 2025, online usage will be analyzed to craft a future strategy for access.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG® represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception, the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.
Today the Online TLG contains more than 110 million words from over 10,000 works associated with 4,000 authors and is constantly updated and improved with new features and texts. The full corpus is available to more than 2,000 subscribing institutions and thousands of individuals in 58 countries worldwide.
This link opens in a new windowNew online journals have been added across a variety of disciplines. Search for the title in the eJournal Portal to gain access.