Skip to Main Content

Collections @ Kelvin Smith Library

Guide provides an overview of new collections and resources acquired and/or subscribed to by the Kelvin Smith Library (KSL). It provide information on collection policies and initiatives.

Special Projects Officer

Profile Photo
Brian Gray
(he/him/his)
Contact:
Kelvin Smith Library 201-F
(216) 368-8685

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.

Oxford Handbooks

Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. Oxford Handbooks Online is guided by a world-class Editorial Board that bring together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.

Oxford Handbooks Online publishes original, peer-reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in the following 17 disciplines and growing:

  • Archaeology
  • Business & Management
  • Classical Studies
  • Criminology & Criminal Justice
  • Economics & Finance
  • History
  • Law
  • Linguistics
  • Literature
  • Music
  • Neuroscience
  • Philosophy
  • Physical Sciences
  • Political Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Religion
  • Sociology

New OhioLINK Resources

OhioLINK, Ohio’s academic library consortium, has received $2.5 million from the Ohio Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds through the Ohio Department of Higher Education. The funds will be used to purchase digital resources for Ohio colleges, such as streaming video and e-books, to supplement online research, as well as provide instructional support for a wide range of curriculum, including physical and applied science courses that traditionally have not been taught online. GEER is part of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which authorized federal economic aid in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The CARES Act includes several funding streams, such as GEER, to support the education community's response to the public health emergency.

OhioLINK's collection development committee recommended the following e-resources be purchased with GEER funds to assist faculty/instructors in teaching remote and hybrid courses to Ohio’s 2-year, undergraduate, and graduate-level students across a wide range of disciplines, with emphasis on the most pressing need to support teaching labs in the STEM sciences and courses for the allied health fields. We thank ODHE for their advocacy and assistance in procuring the funds to make these resources available.

 

Resource              

Access term

JoVE Core Science Videos + Lab Manuals

2 years

InfoBase Films on Demand (curated collection)

14 months

Wiley Cochrane Library

1 year

MIT Press Direct (collection through 2021)

Permanent (owned)

Complete 2020 SAGE Business Cases Collection

Permanent (owned)

 

SAGE Business Cases does include Teaching Notes. Faculty can contact the library for assistance in gaining access to that content.

Springer Nature Journals

Several new Springer Nature titles have been added starting on January 1, 2021.

Nature Biomedical Engineering

Nature Biomedical Engineering publishes original research, reviews, and commentary of high significance to the biomedical engineering community, including bench scientists interested in devising materials, methods, technologies, or therapies to understand or combat disease, engineers designing or optimizing medical devices and procedures, and clinicians leveraging research outputs in biomedical engineering to assess patient health or deliver therapy across a variety of clinical settings and healthcare contexts.

Nature Ecology and Evolution

Nature Ecology & Evolution is interested in the full spectrum of ecological and evolutionary biology, encompassing approaches at the molecular, organismal, population, community and ecosystem levels, as well as relevant parts of the social sciences. Nature Ecology & Evolution provides a place where all researchers and policymakers interested in all aspects of life's diversity can come together to learn about the most accomplished and significant advances in the field and to discuss topical issues. 

Nature Energy

Nature Energy is dedicated to exploring all aspects of this on-going discussion, from the generation and storage of energy, to its distribution and management, the needs and demands of the different actors, and the impacts that energy technologies and policies have on societies. We have a particular interest in studies that advance our knowledge and inform the development of next-generation technologies and solutions. Nature Energy provides a forum for all parties active at the frontiers of energy to come together and learn about the different facets of this sector.

Nature Reviews Materials

Reviews aim to be balanced and objective analyses of the selected topic - with descriptions of relevant scientific literature and discussions that are easy to grasp for recent graduates in any materials-science related discipline, as well as informing principal investigators and industry-based research scientists of the latest advances. Reviews should provide the authors' insight into future directions and their opinion of the major challenges faced by researchers in the field.  

Nature Sustainability

Nature Sustainability publishes significant original research from a broad range of natural, social, and engineering fields about sustainability, its policy dimensions, and possible solutions. Understanding how to ensure the well-being of current and future generations within the limits of the natural world is the overarching goal of sustainability research. 

Brill's New Jacoby online

Brill's Jacoby Online cover art

Brill's New Jacoby is a fully-revised and enlarged edition of Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker I-III, providing new texts of the ancient historians in many instances as well as several new historians and many new fragments of existing historians that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. Especially important is that for the first time ever commentaries are provided on the final 248 historians in FGrHist I-III, which Jacoby was unable to prepare before his death. In addition, and also for the first time, Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of all the testimonia and fragments, new, critical commentaries on all the testimony and fragments, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.

Index of Medieval Art

The Index of Medieval Art online database complements the print Index at Princeton University, which is currently being integrated into the database. The collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, the collection now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.

Digital Theatre+

The Kelvin Smith Library has committed to a 3-year pilot (through June 2024) to explore the electronic resource called Digital Theatre+.

Over 500+ classic and contemporary productions in live-capture and audio formats, many exclusive to Digital Theatre+, or brought to you from our world-class partners such as Shakespeare’s Globe, BroadwayHD, and the BBC.

Over 450+ interviews and documentaries provide insights from casts, creatives, and academics to bring context to and enrich students’ learning, whilst focusing on key topics in international curricula and Theatre Studies’ syllabuses.

Over 14,500 pages of written resources by educators for educators, our essays, guides, lesson plans, and more give an in-depth look at a play or topic, perfect for independent study or supporting your lesson prep.

CWRU Libraries Discovery