In January 2019, the University Archives (Kelvin Smith Library) debuted the CWRU Student Newspaper Archive. This collection consists of digitized versions of nine student newspaper titles held in the Case Western Reserve University Archives, including Western Reserve Collegian, Western Reserve Souvenir, The Adelbert, The Case Tech, The Reserve Weekly, The Reserve Tribune, Cleveland College Life, The Mather Record, and The Observer.
This link opens in a new windowStarting, January 1, 2019, Case Western Reserve University will gain permanent access to ALL Wiley online journals from 2019-2023. In addition, content from 1997-2018 will be included for all new titles, and that access will exist as long as the OhioLINK deal continues.
In addition, the Wiley e-book deal was extended for 5 more years.
Various new titles were added in January 2019 across many disciplines.
Arts & Humanities
Social Sciences
Science & Engineering
In addition, 4 new journal titles have been added from the American Chemical Society (ACS), which means we have access to ALL the ACS journals:
JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII Collection extends coverage in the social sciences, focusing on disciplines with high usage and broad appeal across all levels of higher education; education, law, and political science disciplines anchor the collection, and include journals from the American Bar Association, Brill, Lynn Reiner, and Springer.
The collection includes:
The major subjects included are law, political science, education, sociology, criminology, social work, psychology, and Asian studies.
In 2018, CWRU had 912 turnaways which show demand for this content.
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.
Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
As of July 1, 2018, all OhioLINK member libraries have access to an updated suite of resources thanks to the Libraries Connect Ohio (LCO) partnership among OhioLINK, OPLIN (Ohio Public Library Information Network), INFOhio (Ohio’s Pre-K-12 Digital Library), and the State Library of Ohio. Access will be available through June 2023.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.
The study of music, “musicology,” is a relatively new discipline in academe, beginning in late nineteenth-century Germany. In the second half of the twentieth century, “ethnomusicology” became a viable academic discipline spawning a scholarly literature for the study of all musics not treated by traditional (“historical”) musicology. Oxford Bibliographies in Music takes a pragmatic approach, based on the past and emerging literature about music: if authors have found something they define as music worthy of serious study, it is music.
Oxford Bibliographies in Music combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s online researchers. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
An essential, unique collection of American Jazz Periodicals, of great importance to any lover of jazz and its history, and a primary source reference and research tool for all libraries. RIPM just released this collection in Spring 2019, and it currently includes over 100 searchable full-text American jazz journals.
This link opens in a new window
A powerful online service bringing news from around the world, translated into English. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports. This information is collected and translated by and for the U.S. Government.
Jewish Life in America will enable you to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This rich collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.
Medical Service and Warfare
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
Welcome to Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
This unique collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.
Service Newspaper of World War Two
This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window