Skip to Main Content

Collections @ Kelvin Smith Library

Guide provides an overview of new collections and resources acquired and/or subscribed to by the Kelvin Smith Library (KSL). It provide information on collection policies and initiatives.

Collection Strategies Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Gray
(he/him/his)
Contact:
Kelvin Smith Library 201-F
(216) 368-8685

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.

Constellate

Constellate helps users across all disciplines learn essential text analysis and data skills.

Constellate, a part of ITHAKA's portfolio of non-profit services, is the only text analysis platform that integrates access to scholarly content and open educational resources into a cloud-based lab to help faculty more easily and effectively teach text analysis and data skills.

With Constellate, learners across all disciplines can apply text analysis methods to datasets, and hone their skills with support from on-demand tutorials, live classes taught by experts, and engagement with an inspiring user community.

Drawing from its peer services, Constellate connects researchers with the JSTOR corpus and content from 100+ publishers preserving with Portico, providing 421 years of primary and secondary sources across all fields of study, including 31M+ documents, 2M+ historic newspaper issues, and 27M+ scholarly journal articles — independent of your library’s holdings.

Library and faculty can:

  • Draw from ready-to-use curriculum and robust on-demand tutorials
  • Prepare with live, expert-led classes, including a Teaching Text
    Analysis with Constellate course (free to all members of participating
    institutions)
  • Connect with an inspiring and supportive community of users
  • Consult with Constellate experts on research questions and
    curriculum customization
  • Create, save, and share your lessons
  • Teach in the preconfigured, cloud-based Constellate Lab

Students can:

  • Supplement faculty-led learning with Constellate-taught classes and on-demand tutorials
  • Build confidence through hands-on practice in a cloud-based lab
  • Seamlessly navigate between content, dataset building, lessons, and research
  • Easily build clean datasets with content from JSTOR, Portico, and partners
  • Instantly visualize search results to help refine ideas and form research questions

Encyclopedia of Jewish Book Cultures Online

Being an encyclopedia on book cultures rather than book contents, this work places textuality and materiality of the book in the center of its investigation. The singularity of the Jewish book can only be understood in full if it is studied in its broader cultural and intercultural context. This encyclopedia does that by focusing on the paleographic features, intended function, cultural significance, readership, acceptance, and design of particular books and genres, as well as the producer-consumer relations involved in the making and circulating of books. It covers more than 2000 years of Jewish book cultures from all corners of the earth.

National Theatre Collection 3

This third National Theatre collection has launched with 10 performances, from Greek tragedy, a medieval morality play, and Shakespeare, to plays about Generation Z. The collection will complete with a further 10 performances in February 2024.

Open Access (OA) Publishing Opportunities at CWRU

Please see this related guide that documents and promotes the OA publishing opportunities available to faculty, staff, and students.

New additions in 2024:

  • Elsevier: hybrid only
  • Punctum Books
  • Springer Nature: hybrid only - including Palgrave, Adis, and Nature Academic Journals, but not Nature portfolio journals such as Nature or Scientific American
  • Wiley expansion: full OA

ProQuest Primary Source Collections

Various primary source collections have been added, or existing collections expanded.

Various Journals

New online journals have been added across a variety of disciplines. Search for the title in the eJournal Portal to gain access.

  • German Yearbook of Contemporary History (coming soon)
  • Review of Religion and Chinese Society
  • Wordsworth Circle (coming soon)

Wall Street Journal: Full Subscription Version

Wall Street Journal QR code to activate subscription

 

For a long time, the Kelvin Smith Library (KSL) provided several options to access current articles and/or historical archives of the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) content. One of the most requested additions for our online content was to make a model similar to a "personal" subscription, but sadly an ideal model did not exist - until now! Starting February 1, 2024, the library has acquired 3 years of access for all faculty, staff, and students of CWRU.

This is the full version as if someone subscribed to their own subscription. It is accessible by the library database list via single sign-on (SSO) where you will create a WSJ account. You will have full access to the website, app, customizations, newsletters, videos, podcasts, and challenges (health, personal, & professional development courses and resources). Additional offerings include live Q&A programs and other event announcements.

If a student, faculty, or staff subscriber has a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to the CWRU WSJ access, they will need to call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.

 


Students gain access to a method to submit opinions that may get published directly to the opinion page on WSJ.com, a referral program, and discounts upon graduation. For graduating seniors, WSJ offers a discounted subscription for young professionals priced at $2 per month for the first year —a 95% discount on the standard consumer rate. Students who take advantage of the offer will continue to get a discounted rate for the next 7 years.


Instructors gain access to assessment tools, critical thinking resources, workshops, seminars, how-to guides, and announcements to conferences.


CWRU faculty, staff, and students will also gain access to announcements and invitations for exclusive events and series.

CWRU Libraries Discovery