OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. With contributions from 20 publishing partners and providing access to over 180,000 items, OnePetro.org is the definitive resource on upstream oil and gas.
Update: Access ended 5/31/2021.
The Roper Center has long held a large collection of surveys conducted in countries around the globe, including a rapidly growing collection of Latin America data. Over 8,000 datasets represent 100+ countries and more than 150 different survey organizations. Larger collections span decades—ABC News and CBS News have each archived about 1,000 surveys over the last four decades, many with their respective partners, Washington Post and New York Times. CNN has also archived nearly 1,700 surveys. Data archived from the Gallup Organization numbers over 2,000 studies and dates back to 1936. The National Exit Polls have been archived with us since the first Presidential Exit Poll in 1972.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research contains public opinion data from many organizations, such as:
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research provides access to archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism launched on May 9th 2016 and is the largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of modernism.
An accessible and intuitive online platform, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism.
With over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism is a vital tool for students and researchers. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.
Routledge Encyclopedia of ModernismKSL expanded access to technical standards available for research, specifically by adding the ASTM online standards. Links below will describe the standards available and how to get access.
Kelvin Smith added several new journal archives.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IX widens JSTOR’s coverage in business and the social sciences. It contains journals published in over 25 countries and content begins in 1853. Key areas include:
Taylor & Francis (T&F) Engineering, Computing & Technology Online Archive (Classic & Modern Archives) includes over 230 titles with years ranging from 1910 to 2006. Includes journals across science & engineering areas.
Electronic journals can be found in our eJournal Portal by searching for the title of the journal.
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.
Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
KSL added several new titles in support of science and engineering:
OhioLINK subscribes to many of the American Chemical Society (ACS) journals. KSL has added the missing titles.
ACS Biomaterials Science and Engineering covers: Modeling and informatics tools for biomaterials; synthesis and modulation of new biomaterials; bioinspired and biomimetic approaches to biomaterials; biomaterial interfaces and interactions; health risk studies of biomaterials; manufacturing, technology and tissues in the context of biomaterials; bioresponsive biomaterials, bioelectronics and bioMEMS; biomaterials based devices and prosthetics; regenerative medicine; genetic designs and bioengineering.
ACS Sensors is a peer-reviewed research journal that is devoted to the dissemination of new and original knowledge on all aspects of sensor science that selectively sense chemical or biological species or processes. Articles may address conceptual advances in sensing that are applicable to many types of analytes or application papers which report on the use of an existing sensing concept in a new way or for a new analyte. Application papers should demonstrate the use of the sensor in complex samples, show it is fit-for-purpose, and exhibit a correlation of the sensor’s performance with an existing analytical method. Papers may focus on sensor development for commercialization or developing sensors that are used to provide new scientific knowledge. Articles may be entirely theoretical with regard to sensing, or they may report experimental results.
ACS Infectious Diseases is the first journal to highlight chemistry and its role in the multidisciplinary and collaborative field of infectious disease research. The scope of the journal encompasses all aspects of chemistry relating to infectious diseases research including research on pathogens, host-pathogen interactions, therapeutics, diagnostics, vaccines, drug-delivery systems, and other biomedical technology development pertaining to infectious diseases.
ACS Energy Letters publishes papers that report new scientific advances in all aspects of energy research. Topics related to capture, conversion and storage of energy, including: Energy Materials, Light Harvesting Assemblies; Energy Conversion Processes (Catalysis and photocatalysis); Solar Fuels (Hydrogen production, CO2 reduction); Inorganic, organic and hybrid photovoltaics; Photosynthesis and Biofuels; Fuel cells, Storage Batteries and Supercapacitors; Plasmonics, OLEDs and Light Display Systems; and Tandem devices, piezoelectric and thermoelectric processes.
Environmental Science & Technology Letters is an international forum for brief communications on experimental or theoretical results of exceptional timeliness in all aspects of environmental science (pure and applied), and short reviews on emerging environmental science & technology topics. Manuscripts describing cross-disciplinary research or addressing emerging issues are of particular interest.
ACS Earth and Space Chemistry includes the application of analytical, experimental and theoretical chemistry to investigate research questions relevant to the Earth and Space. The journal encompasses the highly interdisciplinary nature of research in this area, while emphasizing chemistry and chemical research tools as the unifying theme. The journal publishes broadly in the domains of high- and low-temperature geochemistry, atmospheric chemistry, marine chemistry, planetary chemistry, astrochemistry, and analytical geochemistry. ACS Earth and Space Chemistry publishes Articles, Letters, Reviews, and Features to provide flexible formats to readily communicate all aspects of research in these fields.
Here some additional new titles from various publishers:
Combustion Science and Technology is an international journal which provides for open discussion and prompt publication of new results, discoveries and developments in the various disciplines which constitute the field of combustion. The editors invite original contributions dealing with flame and fire research, flame radiation, chemical fuels and propellants, reacting flows, thermochemistry, material synthesis, atmospheric chemistry and combustion phenomena related to aircraft gas turbines, chemical rockets, ramjets, automotive engines, furnaces and environmental studies. In so doing, the editors hope to establish a central vehicle for the rapid exchange of ideas and results emanating from the many diverse areas associated with combustion. Accordingly, both full-length papers on comprehensive studies, and communications of significant, but not fully explored, theoretical or experimental developments are included in the journal together with unsolicited and solicited comments on published matter and yearly, cumulative indices.
Metallurgical and Materials Transactions E: Materials for Energy Systems, an archival peer-reviewed quarterly publication, is uniquely focused on the science of materials applied to or being investigated to address unique aspects of current and emerging energy technologies. Covers a variety of areas of materials research, including larger materials issues with applications to energy.
Nanomedicine (ISSN 1743-5889) is a uniquely medicine-focused journal, addressing the important challenges and advances in medical nanoscale-structured material and devices, biotechnology devices and molecular machine systems and nanorobotics, delivering this essential information in concise, clear and attractive article formats. The journal is a valuable information source for all players in the field – academic, industrial and clinical researchers, pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies, regulatory authorities and others across the scientific community.
Electronic journals can be found in our eJournal Portal by searching for the title of the journal.
Kelvin Smith Library added several new subscriptions to support various subject areas:
Health Affairs is the leading journal of health policy thought and research. The peer-reviewed journal was founded in 1981 under the aegis of Project HOPE, a nonprofit international health education organization. Health Affairs explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Its mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access. The journal reaches a broad audience that includes: government and health industry leaders; health care advocates; scholars of health, health care and health policy; and others concerned with health and health care issues in the United States and worldwide.
Horizons publishes award-winning peer-reviewed articles, roundtables, and book reviews across a wide range of topics in theology and religious studies. While rooted in a commitment to the long and deep Catholic tradition of "faith seeking understanding," that commitment also welcomes all original scholarship in theology and religious studies that contributes to its basic constructive focus. It is unique in content with its ecumenical view, wide range of methods and topics, and insightful analysis of belief interacting with culture. Horizons publishes work by college and university professors with both active research profiles and teaching experience.
Language, Cognition and Neuroscience (formerly titled Language and Cognitive Processes) publishes high-quality papers taking an interdisciplinary approach to the study of brain and language, and promotes studies that integrate cognitive theoretical accounts of language and its neural bases. We publish both high quality, theoretically-motivated cognitive behavioural studies of language function, and papers which integrate cognitive theoretical accounts of language with its neurobiological foundations. The study of language function from a cognitive neuroscience perspective has attracted intensive research interest over the last 20 years, and the development of neuroscience methodologies has significantly broadened the empirical scope of all language research. Both hemodynamic imaging and electrophysiological approaches provide new perspectives on the representation and processing of language, and place important constraints on the development of theoretical accounts of language function and its neurobiological context.
Writing Systems Research (WSR) publishes work concerned with any issue to do with the analysis, use and acquisition of writing systems (WSs) such as:
Electronic journals can be found in our eJournal Portal by searching for the title of the journal.
Several new biology journals were added to our collection of e-journals.
Electronic journals can be found in our eJournal Portal by searching for the title of the journal.
Kelvin Smith Library added subscription to 5 Nature journal titles.
Nature Chemistry is a monthly journal dedicated to publishing high-quality papers that describe the most significant and cutting-edge research in all areas of chemistry. As well as reflecting the traditional core subjects of analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, the journal also features a broad range of chemical research including, but not limited to, catalysis, computational and theoretical chemistry, environmental chemistry, green chemistry, medicinal chemistry, nuclear chemistry, polymer chemistry, supramolecular chemistry and surface chemistry. Other cross-disciplinary topics such as bioinorganic, bioorganic, organometallic and physical–organic chemistry will also be featured.
Nature Climate Change is a monthly journal dedicated to publishing the most significant and cutting-edge research on the science of climate change, its impacts and wider implications for the economy, society and policy. Nature Climate Change publishes original research across the physical and social sciences and strives to synthesize interdisciplinary research.
Nature Geoscience is a monthly multi-disciplinary journal aimed at bringing together top-quality research across the entire spectrum of the Earth Sciences along with relevant work in related areas. The journal's content reflects all the disciplines within the geosciences, encompassing field work, modelling and theoretical studies.
Nature Photonics is a new monthly journal dedicated to this exciting field that will publish top-quality, peer-reviewed research in all areas of light generation, manipulation and detection. Coverage extends from research into the fundamental properties of light and how it interacts with matter through to the latest designs of optoelectronic device and emerging applications that exploit photons.
Nature Physics publishes papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied. The journal's content reflects core physics disciplines, but is also open to a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics. Theoretical physics, particularly where it is pertinent to experiment, also features.
Electronic journals can be found in our eJournal Portal by searching for the title of the journal.
PrivCo is the premier private company financial database. PrivCo’s powerful search tools allow users screen for privately-held companies across its unmatched global, cross-sector platform. Users can identify key metrics like revenues, employees, funding, and deals through our easy-to-use interface. Whether doing private company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, or private equity research, PrivCo is searchable by advanced criteria in all categories.
Led by the renowned linguistic scholars Stefan Müller (Humboldt-Universität Berlin) and Martin Haspelmath (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History), Language Science Press publishes high quality, peer-reviewed Open Access books in linguistics. By leveraging existing institutional infrastructures and creating efficient processes, Language Science Press titles come at a significantly lower price as compared to traditional publishers. At the same time, these titles are made freely accessible to readers worldwide to broaden the impact of the works.
Kelvin Smith Library has become a fiscal partner with other libraries to allow 30 books per year for 2018-2020 to become freely available to readers all around the world.
Collecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction from 1903 to 1982.
Virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. The reactions to those ideas are reflected in the reviews of those books, and Book Review Digest Retrospective makes it easy to search this vast record of information. Book reviewers are searchable by name, with excerpts by such famous writers as Edmund Wilson and John Updike.
Over the past 100 years, Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press. Earning the trust of researchers at all levels, it has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the “50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium.” Readers’ Guide Retrospective offers full coverage of the original paper volumes.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990, covers the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history and complement the modules in the Making of Modern Law series. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records. The papers are held at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920, presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. The collection includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts. This archive appeals to scholars in the fields of history, literature, law and criminal justice, as well as other fields.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
Archives Unbound addresses students and scholars' pressing need to see primary, unpublished archival documents. There is no better way to study the past than through consultation of primary source documents. Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Includes:
Individual resource links coming later.
World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow gives researchers access to primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1840 to 1940. With more than 600,000 pages of content, this archive captures the spirit, technology, design, and innovations that influenced the modern world.
The international nature of the collection is illustrated in the comprehensive range of material. A partial list of the events covered includes: London, Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations (1851); Melbourne, International Exhibition (1880); Barcelona, Exposicion Universal (1888); Paris, Exposition Universelle (1889); Chicago, World Columbian Exposition (1893); and Rio de Janeiro, Exposio Nacional (1908).
Materials drawn from the Smithsonian Libraries, Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology, Smithsonian Libraries, the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Library, the Archives Center, and the Smithsonian Libraries, National Museum of American History Library include:
The unique insights in this collection provide rich fodder for the study of:
The Kelvin Smith Library has added 2 new newspaper archives: Chicago Defender and Cleveland Leader.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) was the leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
The Cleveland Leader was first created in 1854 by Edwin Cowles, who merged a variety of abolitionist, pre-Republican Party titles under the Leader. From a program celebrating the opening of the Leader Building in 1913, "In 1847 an anti-slavery Whig paper which had been published for about a year in Olmsted Falls, now, as then, a small village, was moved to Cleveland and changed from a weekly to a daily, retaining the name of "True. Democrat." That event is commonly reckoned the beginning of the Cleveland Leader..."
The Leader's initial editorial bias was reflective of the anti-bellum period in Ohio; pro-Union, anti-slavery, but also according to several sources, virulently anti-Catholic. The Leader was explicitly political from its founding.
The Leader quickly became the most influential newspaper in Ohio. By 1875 its circulation of 13,000 was double that of the Herald and 5 times that of the Plain Dealer. After Cowles' 1890 death, the Leader began a swift decline, as competition from the Plain Dealer and other newspapers took advantage of the huge void left by Cowles personal control. Many examples of the Leader's poster art from the period immediately after Cowles' death in the 1890s are included in a collection at the New York Public Library as some of the finest examples of late Victorian American poster art.
American Fiction, 1774–1920, contains more than 17,800 titles and encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. The archive gathers extensive content in one place in a consistent format and allows researchers to explore the works in the context of history. American Fiction strengthens the offerings in Gale Primary Sources with integrated literary texts, which helps researchers answer key questions about history, society, identity, psychology, race, gender, sexuality, and culture.
The titles to the year 1900 include nearly all of the works found in Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography. Wright’s three-volume set—American Fiction, 1774–1850; American Fiction, 1851–1875; and American Fiction, 1876–1900—is widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Readers in American realism and naturalism will be especially interested in the second and third parts of Wright’s collection. The collection includes novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts and sketches, allegories, and tract like tales typifying the development of American literature in a changing culture. The digital images are based on microfilm collections from Gale, a part of Cengage Learning.
The 17,500 titles featured in American Fiction, 1774-1920 include:
Manchester Medieval Sources Online provides access to a collection of 33 ebooks that contain texts from the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasions.
From the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasion, Manchester Medieval Sources brings alive the reality of life in the medieval world through these first hand accounts, many translated into English for the first time. The series is also unique in providing extensive introductory and explanatory material which will enable a beginner in the area to understand the variety of interpretations the sources have had, and any linguistic problems that have been controversial.
The collection includes the following titles:
The Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents collection includes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
You can find more information on white supremacy, the Ku Klux Klan, and the voices that opposed them.
The Kelvin Smith Library was a founding member to fund the digitization and access to these collections.
Former names of this collection were "Newspapers from the Rise & Fall of the Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s" and "Understanding Hate in America".
From 2013 through January of 2017, Reveal Digital released seven series on the alternative press focusing on that transformative period of the 1960’s – 1980s.
* Feminist
* LGBT
* Minority
* Campus/community
* GI Press
* Small literary magazines
* Right-wing press
Case Western Reserve University, as a results of the Kelvin Smith Library funding pledge, has full access through 2018. In 2019, the collection becomes open access to the entire world.
Knowledge Unlatched has created a model in which libraries pledge to buy the e-book content. Once enough money is raised, the content is made available free for the entire world. As more libraries pledge, the cost to each library supporting the project decreases. Libraries also nominate members to a "selection committee" that identifies new titles each year.
Case Western had pledged to make the almost 800 books available for everyone around the globe.
Open Library of Humanities is a "a peer-reviewed open access, internationally supported, academic led and high quality mega-journal, multi-journal, overlay-journal & books platform for the humanities." It has created a new model for publishing humanities journals. In this library partnership funding model, libraries pay to support the infrastructure that allows titles to be open to the entire world. It is based on previous successes as demonstrated by arXiv, an open repository for for electronic preprints in math, physics, computer science, and astronomy.