CWRU Faculty & Staff Authors

Fundamentals of Musical Acoustics is a landmark book in its field, hailed for its astonishingly clear, delightfully readable statement of everything of acoustical importance to music-making. Though directed primarily to the music student who is taking an acoustics course, it is essential reading for all musicians, music lovers, and audiophiles eager to expand their musical horizons. The book deals extensively with the fundamental modes of sound production and with the special sound-producing properties of the musical instruments in common use today — keyboard, string, brass, woodwind, and percussion — as well as the human voice. It further explores the critical roles played by the room and by the hearer's auditory apparatus. The basis of scales and harmony and the craft of instrument makers are also discussed in this masterly text, which includes numerous illustrations, bibliographical information, and a stimulating section of "Examples, Experiments, and Questions" at the end of each chapter. After the original publication of this book, Dr. Benade maintained a detailed set of corrections and revisions that have been incorporated into this second, revised edition. "Comprehensive . . . rigorous . . . well-organized . . . will surely be the text of choice." — American Scientist "A remarkable achievement . . . a book on musical acoustics by an acknowledged master of the subject which guides the reader through all the most subtle intricacies of every important family of Western musical instruments with virtually no mathematics . . . Arthur Benade, a professor at Case Western Reserve, has set forth a vast knowledge of musical acoustics so clearly that you can read his book as you would a novel." — The Audio Amateur "Every chapter contains material not previously covered in books written on musical acoustics." — John T. Scott, Physics Today "Recommended for music lovers and audiophiles who want to know more about the physics of musical sounds." — Stereo Review

For sixteen months between June 1986 and June 1988, Melvyn Goldstein and Cynthia Beall lived in Tibet studying a community of roughly three hundred Tibetan nomads at altitudes above 16,000 feet in yak-hair tents, weathering temperatures which reached thirty to forty degrees below zero, drinking butter-salt tea, and eating 'tsampa'...popped and ground barley ...and mutton. This copiously illustrated book is a fascinating account of these remarkable people, of their traditional way of life and their continuing struggle for cultural survival. In a world where indigenous peoples and their environments are vanishing at alarming rates, the survival of this way of life represents an unexpected and heartening victory for humanity.

Dynamical Collision Theory and Its Applications reviews some of the powerful methods that have evolved for calculating the predictions of dynamical collision theory. Topics range from scattering theory to potential scattering, three- and four-particle scattering, multiparticle scattering, many-particle Lippmann-Schwinger equations, and the connected-kernel approach. This text is primarily intended for chemists, physicists, and graduate students interested in general scattering theory; intermediate and low-energy hadron and nuclear physics; atomic and molecular physics; statistical mechanics; and physical and quantum chemistry. There are a number of topics in this book that will be interesting to both mathematicians and particle physicists, as well as advanced graduate students in courses that involve collision theory.

Every poem, Robert Frost declared, "is an epitome of the great predicament, a figure of the will braving alien entanglements". This study considers what Frost meant by those entanglements, how he braved them in his poetry, and how he invited his readers to do the same. In the process it contributes significantly to a new critical awareness of Frost as a complex artist who anticipated postmodernism―a poet who invoked literary traditions and conventions frequently to set himself in tension with them.
Using the insights of reader-response theory, Judith Oster explains how Frost appeals to readers with his apparent accessibility and then, because of the openness of his poetry's possibilities, engages them in the process of constructing meaning. Frost's poems, she demonstrates, teach the reader how they should be read; at the same time, they resist closure and definitive reading. The reader's acts of encountering and constructing the poems parallel Frost's own encounters and acts of construction.
Commenting at length on a number of individual poems, Oster ranges in her discussion from the ways in which the poet dramatizes the inadequacy of the self alone to the manner in which he "reads" the Book of Genesis or the writing of Emerson. Oster illuminates, finally, the central conflict in Frost: his need to be read well against his fear of being read; his need to share his creation against his fear of its appropriation by others.

The story of the history and culture of a people is often told through regional literature. Anthology of Western Reserve Literature, funded in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Ohio Historical Society through the American Association of State and Local History, broadly represents the variety of literary genres and ethnic and economic pluralism of northeast Ohio over a 180-year period. The first collection of its kind devoted solely to Ohio literature; it supports pride in place and the importance of regionalism in defining American culture. The selections include works written by people who were born or lived in the Western Reserve, whose writings reflect an interest in the region, or who portray a particular aspect of the area, such as landscape, demography, or historic events. James Garfield, William Dean Howells, Clarence Darrow, Langston Hughes, Kenneth Patchen, Sherwood Anderson, Hart Crane, Herbert Gold, d.a. levy, and Rita Dove are among those represented here. The work is organized by century to give a sense of the literature that was typical for both the region and the time. The 19th-century selections include letters, diaries and journals, fiction, and poetry, while those from the 20th century focus on memoirs and autobiographies in addition to fiction and poetry, much of which reflects the growth and dominance of Cleveland. Historians of Ohio and the Western Reserve will find this collection valuable, as will scholars of American Studies and 19th- and 20th-century American literature, particularly specialists in regional literature. Ohioana enthusiasts will also consider this anthology essential reading.

"A fascinating excursion into an area too often ignored by the musical practitioner." — Music Library Association Notes. If you've ever wondered how a musical instrument produces the sound it does, this book explains the physics of musical instruments in an engaging and understandable way. Dr. Benade was a nuclear physicist, flutist, and science educator with a special ability to explain complex ideas in a simple, straightforward manner. In this book he brings that ability to bear in elucidating the ways in which music is formed by many different kinds of musical instruments. Dr. Benade first explores simple and complex vibrating systems and the ear's reception of sound. He then describes the fundamentals of the piano, violin, trumpet, bugle, trombone, oboe, clarinet, flute, saxophone, and many other instruments, demonstrating the sound-making capacities of each. For mechanically inclined readers who are interested in constructing basic instrumental models, Dr. Benade demonstrates how to build a working trumpet, flute, and clarinet. Enhanced with clear diagrams and easy scientific models, Horns, Strings, and Harmony is a book that will increase the musical enjoyment and understanding of all musicians, music lovers, and amateur scientists. "The book is commended not only to the 'young person' who seeks to know some physics of musical instruments but also to those who would like to review in simple outline the basic physics of what happens within a musical instrument." — Journal of the Acoustical Society of America.

This book studies the foundations of the theory of linear and nonlinear forms in single and multiple random variables including the single and multiple random series and stochastic integrals, both Gaussian and non-Gaussian. This subject is intimately connected with a number of classical problems of probability theory such as the summation of independent random variables, martingale theory, and Wiener's theory of polynomial chaos. The book contains a number of older results as well as more recent, or previously unpublished, results. The emphasis is on domination principles for comparison of different sequences of random variables and on decoupling techniques.

An interdisciplinary volume focusing on the interaction of stress and health. Coverage includes examinations of stress/health issues among minorities, social support, adaptation to stress, and psychopharmacological management of stress.

Designed as an introduction to harmonic analysis and group representations, this book covers a wide range of topics rather than delving deeply into any particular one. In the words of H. Weyl ...it is primarily meant for the humble, who want to learn as new the things set forth therein, rather than for the proud and learned who are already familiar with the subject and merely look for quick and exact information... . The main objective is to introduce the reader to concepts, ideas, results and techniques that evolve around symmetry-groups, representations and Laplacians . More specifically, the main interest concerns geometrical objects and structures {{ X }}, discrete or continuous, that possess sufficiently large symmetry group G, such as regular graphs (Platonic solids), lattices, and symmetric Riemannian manifolds. All such objects have a natural Laplacian Delta, a linear operator on functions over X, invariant under the group action. There are many problems associated with Laplacians on X, such as continuous or discrete-time evolutions, on X, random walks, diffusion processes, and wave-propagation. This book contains sufficient material for a 1 or 2-semester course.

Much work has been done on cognitive processes and creativity, but there is another half to the picture of creativity -- the affect half. This book addresses that other half by synthesizing the information that exists about affect and creativity and presenting a new model of the role of affect in the creative process. Current information comes from disparate literatures, research traditions, and theoretical approaches. There is a need in the field for a comprehensive framework for understanding and investigating the role of affect in creativity. The model presented here spells out connections between specific affective and cognitive processes important in creativity, and personality traits associated with creativity. Identifying common findings and themes in a variety of research studies and descriptions of the creative process, this book integrates child and adult research and the classic psychoanalytic approach to creativity with contemporary social and cognitive psychology. In so doing, it addresses two major questions: * Is affect an important part of the creative process? * If it is, then how is affect involved in creative thinking?In addition, Russ presents her own research program in the area of affect and creativity, and introduces The Affect in Play Scale -- a method of measuring affective expression in children's play -- which can be useful in child psychotherapy and creativity research. Current issues in the creativity area are also discussed, such as artistic versus scientific creativity, adjustment and the creative process, the role of computers in learning about creativity, gender differences in the creative process, and enhancing creativity in home, school, and work settings. Finally, Russ points to future research issues and directions, and discusses alternative research paradigms such as mood-induction methods versus children's play procedures.

"Assume the cow is a sphere.” So begins this lively, irreverent, and informative look at everything from the physics of boiling water to cutting-edge research at the observable limits of the universe. Rich with anecdotes and accessible examples, Fear of Physics nimbly ranges over the tools and thought behind the world of modern physics, taking the mystery out of what is essentially a very human intellectual endeavour.

While the Olympics, because of their modern revival, enjoy the greatest fame today, in ancient Greece other religious festivals were equally elaborate and impressive spectacles. The lavishly illustrated Goddess and Polis is the first work devoted to the Panathenaia, the most significant of these festivals to be held in ancient Athens. Founded in 566 B.C., this complex ritual performed for the goddess Athena vied with other Greek festivals in grandeur and importance and was particularly distinguished by the works of art commissioned in its service. Among these were the painted vases known as Panathenaic amphoras, each of which contained forty liters of olive oil, awarded to athletic and equestrian victors. The contests depicted on these vases are the best extant illustrations of Greek sport. Although women were excluded from the competitions, they had an important role to play in the weaving of the peplos, an elaborate textile that took nine months to produce. The culmination of the festival was a long procession bearing this new robe to the cult statue of the goddess; the procession in turn was the subject of another great work of art, the Parthenon frieze. Combining art, spectacle, and civic consciousness, the Panathenaia contributed to the development of the high classical style of Periklean Athens. This book deals with every aspect of the festival and produces a vivid portrait of the worship of the patron goddess of the city. Essays by eminent classical scholars examine in depth the musical and poetic competitions, the athletic and equestrian contests, the peplos, and the evolving image of Athena as documented in sculpture from the Acropolis. Jenifer Neils, the curator of the exhibition Goddess and Polis, held at the Hood Museum of Art at Dartmouth College, has contributed an introduction to the Panathenaia, an essay on the prize amphoras, and detailed entries for the seventy objects exhibited.

"Left to themselves, they drift, drink, disconnect. This stunning novel, by award-winning story writer Mary Grimm, is about loss and love in ordinary lives." "One night, in a bar, Lucette drifts into Harry's life. Distant, passionate, passive, Lucette is the catalyst of change. Harry has been in and out of jobs, bars, and women's beds, adept at avoidance, at not dealing with things, including feelings under the surface of his friendship with his cousin Cynthia. Cynthia goes through the motions of a marriage, but in fact spends her days waiting for Harry; she cannot find it in herself to leave the house that once belonged to her grandmother, where she and Harry played as children. The aimlessness with which Mary Grimm's flawlessly rendered characters live out their lives stems from complexities they are determined to ignore, to forget, repress - an ungiving mother, a father who died too soon, sexual feelings denied: actions and inactions that shift the fragile balance in people and in life." "Beautifully written, full of startling insight, Mary Grimm's mesmerizing novel illuminates the pretenses people use to avoid acknowledging the difficulty and pain of daily life. Left to Themselves is a remarkable first novel, one that reveals the empty spaces within us all."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Organic chemist Hermann Kolbe (1818-1884) is the subject of this vigorously contextualized biography, which combines the approaches of cognitive and social history of science. Kolbe was one of the most outstanding chemists during the remarkable period in which German science, like the wider manifestations of German industrial and political power, rose to a position of world dominance. Rocke portrays Kolbe as a leading actor in the transformation of the institutional and pedagological dimensions of the physical sciences, as well as in the rapid growth of technologically powerful pure sciences. In all these areas there was a sharp inflection point around 1860 when, as Rocke persuasively argues, the primary discipline in the drama was organic chemistry.

A comprehensive musical, social, and cultural analysis of heavy metal music.

Charts the course of artistic creativity of 98 artists whose works were shown at the Center during the quarter century spanning 1968-1993.

This text focuses on teaching the "thinking process" used in quantitative decision making. Its unique approach emphasizes the building of optimization models before plugging in of data. In this way, students have a better understanding of their results. To challenge the students to understand the problem, a greater emphasis is given to a conceptual approach to each solution procedure. Heavy amphasis in also given to computer analysis and interpreting computer outputs for solving decision problems.

The productive contribution by older adults to the lives of others through altruism and helping is the focus of this book, which provides a useful antidote to the view that the elderly are recipients rather than givers of help. Following a brief historical survey of ageing treatments, the authors present their own theoretical model of successful ageing. Based on a carefully applied methodological review of research focusing on altruism and the elderly, the results reveal the relative frequency, nature, correlates and ramifications of the contributions they make.

Analyzing the rise of art in the 18th century, this treatise demonstrates how painting, sculpture and literature were not regarded as valuable art forms before the emergence of a new bourgeois culture. The author reveals how Romantic poets and philosophers invented art as we know it today.

This beautifully illustrated book offers the first inside view of how the breakup of the Soviet bloc has affected this farthest republic and its nomadic peoples. The first Western scholars to be given permission to conduct fieldwork in Mongolia, Melvyn Goldstein and Cynthia Beall lived among a community of herders to study how they were adapting to Mongolia's transition to democracy and a market economy. Weathering temperatures below zero, living in the nomads' ger, drinking suteytsai (milk-tea), eating bordzig (a pastry made from wheat dough) and pieces of solid fat (a Mongolian delicacy), Goldstein and Beall studied the seasonal migrations and traditional lifestyle of the nomads. They also watched as a herders' collective under the Marxist-Leninist system made the difficult transition to a shareholding company through the government's privatization reforms. The book's magnificent photographs and accompanying text introduce us to a proud people undergoing enormous change as their country emerges from years under communism. The Changing World of Mongolia's Nomads promises an engaging read for anyone interested in nomads, Mongolia, East and Central Asia, and the transformation of the Soviet Union.

What is an author? What is a text? At a time when the definition of "text" is expanding and the technology whereby texts are produced and disseminated is changing at an explosive rate, the ways "authorship" is defined and rights conferred upon authors must also be reconsidered. This volume argues that contemporary copyright law, rooted as it is in a nineteenth-century Romantic understanding of the author as a solitary creative genius, may be inapposite to the realities of cultural production. Drawing together distinguished scholars from literature, law, and the social sciences, the volume explores the social and cultural construction of authorship as a step toward redefining notions of authorship and copyright for today's world. These essays, illustrating cultural studies in action, are aggressively interdisciplinary and wide-ranging in topic and approach. Questions of collective and collaborative authorship in both contemporary and early modern contexts are addressed. Other topics include moral theory and authorship; copyright and the balance between competing interests of authors and the public; problems of international copyright; musical sampling and its impact on "fair use" doctrine; cinematic authorship; quotation and libel; alternative views of authorship as exemplified by nineteenth-century women's clubs and by the Renaissance commonplace book; authorship in relation to broadcast media and to the teaching of writing; and the material dimension of authorship as demonstrated by Milton's publishing contract.

Examining caregiving issues from a multigenerational, family life cycle perspective, this volume deals with the broad spectrum of chronic illnesses that necessitate family caregiving throughout the lifespan and discusses responses to these challenges by both caregiving families and caregiving systems. Part One addresses the caregiving paradigm and the relationship of family caregiving research to family life studies. Part Two examines conceptual aspects of caregiving, ranging from the expansion of the caregiving paradigm, caregiving processes and tasks, to the positive aspects of caregiving. Part Three emphasizes how family caregivers are affected by the connection (or lack of it) to macro-level systems.

A study of classic hard-boiled fiction and film in the contexts of narrative theories and American social and cultural history. The book integrates economic history, biography, consumer product design, narrative analysis and film scholarship.

A wide coverage of topics in category theory and computer science is developed in this text, including introductory treatments of cartesian closed categories, sketches and elementary categorical model theory, and triples.

This IMA Volume in Mathematics and its Applications NONLINEAR STOCHASTIC PDEs: HYDRODYNAMIC LIMIT AND BURGERS' TURBULENCE is based on the proceedings of the period of concentration on Stochas tic Methods for Nonlinear PDEs which was an integral part of the 1993- 94 IMA program on "Emerging Applications of Probability." We thank Tadahisa Funaki and Wojbor A. Woyczynski for organizing this meeting and for editing the proceedings. We also take this opportunity to thank the National Science Foundation and the Army Research Office, whose financial support made this workshop possible. A vner Friedman Willard Miller, Jr. xiii PREFACE A workshop on Nonlinear Stochastic Partial Differential Equations was held during the week of March 21 at the Institute for Mathematics and Its Applications at the University of Minnesota. It was part of the Special Year on Emerging Applications of Probability program put together by an organizing committee chaired by J. Michael Steele. The selection of topics reflected personal interests of the organizers with two areas of emphasis: the hydrodynamic limit problems and Burgers' turbulence and related models. The talks and the papers appearing in this volume reflect a number of research directions that are currently pursued in these areas."

What exactly warps when you travel at warp speed? What is the difference between the holodeck and a hologram? What happens when you beam up? In this accessible introduction to physics, the author of Fear of Physics boldly goes where Star Trek has gone before--and beyond--taking readers on a voyage to the world of physics as we now know it--and as it might be one day. Photos.

This re-focused third edition of McGervey's Introduction to Modern Physics is one of the most comprehensive up-to-date textbooks and reference sources on quantum mechanics available. This revision fills the gap between the mainly descriptive treatments of quantum mechanics, usually found in traditional modern physics texts, and the non-intuitive approaches that treat the subject as a series of mathematical theorems. McGervey achieves this goal with a thoughtful analysis of a number of experiments, supplementing these with fully worked examples, and by investigating paradoxes rather than relying on the analysis of a series of dry mathematical theorems. Software, provided with the text, is available for IBM-PC compatible computers with VGA graphics. The software is the basis for the homework problems, many of which have not been used in any form in other books at this level. The text is exceptionally current, a fact reflected in the significant amount of material based on articles published in recent years in The American Journal of Physics, The Physical Review, and Science. In all, McGervey provides a lively discussion that will motivate interest and understanding of the subject at

Based on the experience of the restructuring of the MBA program at Case Western Reserve University, the book describes the transformation of a program from one where student learning was incidental to teaching and research into one where learning is preeminent. Draws from ten years of curriculum change efforts to trace the entire process of program redesign, from initial discussion to implementation and evaluation. Examines strategic planning within the professional school and describes in detail the Managerial Assessment Course--a key element of the new program and a driving force for self-directed learning. The book provides specific designs, methods, and procedures for conducting outcome assessment studies, including five types particularly relevant to professional schools: alumni studies, employer studies, faculty studies, student-change studies, and professional competency studies. Throughout the book, the authors and contributors describe a wealth of useful, thought-provoking ideas and learnings on management education and institutional change.

Here is a unique book that reduces the time & frustration involved in learning virtually every college-level undergraduate mathematics course & is as appropriate for freshman as it is for seniors. Standard textbooks teach specific subject matter, but this book explains for the first time the underlying thinking processes used in all of these courses. This book is therefore suitable as a supplement & as a reference for all of the following courses: discrete mathematics, linear algebra, abstract algebra, real analysis, transition-to-advanced math courses, courses on proofs & mathematical reasoning, & many more. There is currently no book on the market like this. You will not be able to keep this book on the shelf, but do not take our word for it -- Ask the head of your math department about this book. Distributed by BookMasters Distribution Center, P.O. Box 388, 1444 St. Route 42, Ashland, OH 44805. Phone (800) 247-6553, FAX (419) 281-6883.

In 1987 the Swedish National Board for Technical Development (STU, later becoming the Swedish National Board for Industrial and Technical Development, NUTEK) initiated a study of Sweden's Technological Systems and Future Development Potential. A comprehensive, interdisciplinary study was envisioned, yielding not only useful insight but also a permanent competence base for future analyses of technological systems and technology policy in Sweden. Three leading Swedish research institutes were invited to participate: the Industrial Institute for Economic and Social Research in Stockholm, the Department of Industrial Management and Economics at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, and the Research Policy Institute at the University of Lund. I was invited to direct the project. The project group decided to focus initially on a particular technological system, namely factory automation, to be followed by similar studies of other systems. Numerous publications have resulted from the project thus far. The current volume represents a summary of our work on factory automation. It consists of several original essays and of some previously published papers which have been edited, in some cases substantially, in order to form a comprehensive and coherent picture of a technological system. To our knowledge, this is the first in-depth analysis of a technological system designed as a component of a systematic study of technological systems more generally. At the time of this writing, three further studies on electronics and computers, pharmaceuticals, and powder technology are under way, to be published in a later volume.

A comprehensive exposition on analytic methods for solving science and engineering problems, written from the unifying viewpoint of distribution theory and enriched with many modern topics which are important to practioners and researchers. The book is ideal for a general scientific and engineering audience, yet it is mathematically precise.

Unique and fragile objects, old master drawings are kept in storage, their access limited to knowing scholars, other artists, and dedicated collectors. Now, through the sponsorship of the Midwest Art History Society and the commendable efforts of Burton Dunbar and Edward Olszewski, the drawings will be readily accessible to everyone. This first volume of Drawings in Midwestern Collections offers a full listing of old master drawings from collections throughout the Midwest. Thoroughly researched, this important reference book introduces a corpus of the rarest of European drawings through the year 1500, a time when artists had just begun to value drawings as works of art, and from which only a limited number of drawings have survived. Each of the thirty entries in this volume is written by a scholar who has immediate access to the artwork itself and who is a specialist in the art of that period. In addition to basic information about the work, the authors have commented on each drawing's artistic significance and on problems surrounding it. Included also are reproductions of the drawings as well as numerous illustrations of comparable works from other American and European collections. Drawings in Midwestern Collections presents previously unpublished technical information on many of the drawings, argues for the new attribution of several of them, provides an up-to- date summary of scholarship on each work, and, taken as a whole, provides insight into the diversity of the holdings of midwestern museums. The first in a series of books that will include all drawings in more than seventy midwestern collections, Drawings in Midwestern Collections: Volume I, Early Works is certain to enrich the lives of students, scholars, museum personnel, and the general public.

1995 marked the 50th anniversary of Stefan Banach's death. Until now, the general English speaking public has had no access to an in-depth life story of a mathematician whose name is one of those most often encountered in modern mathematical research. This small volume, originally written in Polish by a well-known reporter, is an effort to fill that gap in the biographical literature. It is based on original archival sources, dozens of interviews with people who knew and remember Banach, and conversations with mathematicians who are familiar with Banach's work and its impact on modern mathematics. The author presents engaging descriptions of Banach's personality and the unusual milieu in which he worked. Further, Chapter V focuses on the famous Scottish cafe, which like Banach himself, has achieved a mythical dimension in mathematical lore. The English edition has been revised to include new materials and many photographs, and to reflect the interests of a broader international audience."

This book aims to introduce the reader to contemporary Chinese urban life and to examine how reforms have changed not only the material circumstances of daily life, but also the overall well-being of urban residents.

This IMA Volume in Mathematics and its Applications STOCHASTIC MODELS IN GEOSYSTEMS is based on the proceedings of a workshop with the same title and was an integral part of the 1993-94 IMA program on "Emerging Applications of Probability." We would like to thank Stanislav A. Molchanov and Wojbor A. Woyczynski for their hard work in organizing this meeting and in edit­ ing the proceedings. We also take this opportunity to thank the National Science Foundation, the Office of N aval Research, the Army Research Of­ fice, and the National Security Agency, whose financial support made this workshop possible. A vner Friedman Willard Miller, Jr. v PREFACE A workshop on Stochastic Models in Geosystems was held during the week of May 16, 1994 at the Institute for Mathematics and Its Applica­ tions at the University of Minnesota. It was part of the Special Year on Emerging Applications of Prob ability program put together by an organiz­ ing committee chaired by J. Michael Steele. The invited speakers represented a broad interdisciplinary spectrum including mathematics, statistics, physics, geophysics, astrophysics, atmo­ spheric physics, fluid mechanics, seismology, and oceanography. The com­ mon underlying theme was stochastic modeling of geophysical phenomena and papers appearing in this volume reflect a number of research directions that are currently pursued in these areas.

The foremost religious festival of ancient Athens--the city dedicated to Athena, goddess of war, fertility, arts, and wisdom--was the Panathenaia. Challenging old assumptions and refuting new theories, Worshipping Athena addresses the many problems of interpretation and understanding that have swirled for years around the Panathenaia. Among the issues discussed is the recent sensational controversy over the Parthenon frieze, perhaps the best known but least understood work of Greek art. For centuries the frieze has been thought to represent the Panathenaia procession, but recently the argument has been advanced that it depicts the sacrifice of the daughters of the Athenian king Erechtheus. Worshipping Athena offers compelling evidence that the frieze does indeed depict the festal procession and also demonstrates that scenes of contemporary ritual were not unique to the Parthenon.     Editor Jenifer Neils and the contributors--eminent classicists, archaeologists, and art historians--explore the role of the Panathenaia in Athenian life and compare it with similar festivals held throughout the ancient Greek world. They discuss such topics as the Panathenaia's mythical origins, the phenomenon of the festival's valuable prizes (oil-filled amphoras, rather than the customary laurel wreath), and the architecture, sculpture, and painting related to the festival.     Worshipping Athena will provide valuable insights to scholars and students concerned with ancient religion, mythology, art, literature, and gender issues, as well as anyone with a keen interest in the ritual topography of the Athenian Acropolis and the iconography of the Parthenon frieze.

In the bestselling The Physics of Star Trek, the renowned theoretical physicist Lawrence Krauss took readers on an entertaining and eye-opening tour of the Star Trek universe. Now, responding to requests for more as well as to a number of recent exciting discoveries in physics and astronomy, Krauss takes a provocative look at how the laws of physics relate to notions from our popular culture--not only Star Trek, but other films, shows, and popular lore--from Independence Day to Star Wars to The X-Files.With his books and popular lectures, Krauss has been compared to the late Carl Sagan as one of the preeminent scientists writing with humor and clarity for the general public. Beyond Star Trek establishes him as today’s leading voice in the discussion of cutting-edge ideas that arise from our growing knowledge of the universe. Join him on a fun mind-bending journey through the nature of alien visitation, interstellar travel--including the very latest on warp-drive systems--time, consciousness, ESP, the probability of other life in the universe, and quantum reality.Once again Krauss has turned to his colleagues including the foremost theoretical physicists in the world, asking them about the greatest unsolved mysteries of the universe. The answers will surprise you.So buckle up and get ready for an exciting trip that takes the question ”Could this ever really happen?” to new heights and will give you new insights into your favorite science fiction and your favorite universe!

Tensions over the "Tibet Question"—the political status of Tibet—are escalating every day. The Dalai Lama has gained broad international sympathy in his appeals for autonomy from China, yet the Chinese government maintains a hard-line position against it. What is the history of the conflict? Can the two sides come to an acceptable compromise? In this thoughtful analysis, distinguished professor and longtime Tibet analyst Melvyn C. Goldstein presents a balanced and accessible view of the conflict and a proposal for the future.

This captivating autobiography by a Tibetan educator and former political prisoner is full of twists and turns. Born in 1929 in a Tibetan village, Tsering developed a strong dislike of his country's theocratic ruling elite. As a 13-year-old member of the Dalai Lama's personal dance troupe, he was frequently whipped or beaten by teachers for minor infractions. A heterosexual, he escaped by becoming a drombo, or homosexual passive partner and sex-toy, for a well-connected monk. After studying at the University of Washington, he returned to Chinese-occupied Tibet in 1964, convinced that Tibet could become a modernized society based on socialist, egalitarian principles only through cooperation with the Chinese. Denounced as a 'counterrevolutionary' during Mao's Cultural Revolution, he was arrested in 1967 and spent six years in prison or doing forced labor in China. Officially exonerated in 1978, Tsering became a professor of English at Tibet University in Lhasa. He now raises funds to build schools in Tibet's villages, emphasizing Tibetan language and culture.

This volume consitutes a summary of several years' multi-disciplinary research by a group of Swedish researchers. The project 'Sweden's Technological Systems and Future Development Potential' was initiated by the Swedish National Board for Industrial and Technical Development (NUTEK) and has been carried out at the Department of Industrial Management and Economics at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, the Research Policy Institute at the University of Lund, the Industrial Institute for Economic and Social Research (lUI) in Stockholm, and the Department of Industrial Economics and Management at the Royal Insitute of Technology, Stockholm, under the direction of Bo Carlsson, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio. The project group decided early on to focus fIrst on the technological system for factory automation - a relatively mature system of great importance to Swedish industry and in which Sweden has reached a leading position internationally - and then to shift the attention to other systems in various stages of development and with varying Swedish strength. The work on factory automation resulted in numerous papers and publications, summarized in a volume published in 1995 (Technological Systems and Economic Performance: The Case of Factory Automation, ed. Bo Carlsson. Dordrecht.

Proceedings of the 23rd Annual Meeting of the International Society on Oxygen Transport to Tissue, held August 23-27, 1995, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Topics included assessment of dysoxia; myocardial hypoxia-ischemia; tissue oxygen distribution; tissue oxygenation in tumors; oxygen supply-demand; angiogenesis and microcirculation; oxygen carriers; anticoagulants and tissue oxygenation; near infrared spectroscopy; nitric oxide and free radicals; measurement of tissue oxygen.

Introduction to the Audit Firm -- New Client Acceptance -- Engagement Planning -- Internal Control Structure Documentation -- Tests of Control -- Year-End Substantive Procedures - Accounts Receivable -- Completing the Audit Process.

In this edition, the authors present the research done during the fifteen years since the book's initial publication. They have also reconsidered their earlier material -- for which they won the Hourglass Award of the Academy of Accounting Historians -- especially their discussion of the relationship between developments in accounting and in society. Gary John Previts is a professor of accountancy at the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University. He is the author of several books on accounting, including Historical Perspectives of Selected Financial Accounting Topics.

First published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The productive contribution by older adults to the lives of others through altruism and helping is the focus of this book, which provides a useful antidote to the view that the elderly are recipients rather than givers of help. Following a brief historical survey of ageing treatments, the authors present their own theoretical model of successful ageing. Based on a carefully applied methodological review of research focusing on altruism and the elderly, the results reveal the relative frequency, nature, correlates and ramifications of the contributions they make.

Following the upheavals of the Cultural Revolution, the People's Republic of China gradually permitted the renewal of religious activity. Tibetans, whose traditional religious and cultural institutions had been decimated during the preceding two decades, took advantage of the decisions of 1978 to begin a Buddhist renewal that is one of the most extensive and dramatic examples of religious revitalization in contemporary China. The nature of that revival is the focus of this book. Four leading specialists in Tibetan anthropology and religion conducted case studies in the Tibet autonomous region and among the Tibetans of Sichuan and Qinghai provinces. There they observed the revival of the Buddhist heritage in monastic communities and among laypersons at popular pilgrimages and festivals. Demonstrating how that revival must contend with tensions between the Chinese state and aspirations for greater Tibetan autonomy, the authors discuss ways that Tibetan Buddhists are restructuring their religion through a complex process of social, political, and economic adaptation. Buddhism has long been the main source of Tibetans' pride in their culture and country. These essays reveal the vibrancy of that ancient religion in contemporary Tibet and also the problems that religion and Tibetan culture in general are facing in a radically altered world.

These lecture notes are woven around the subject of Burgers' turbulence/KPZ model of interface growth, a study of the nonlinear parabolic equation with random initial data. The analysis is conducted mostly in the space-time domain, with less attention paid to the frequency-domain picture. However, the bibliography contains a more complete information about other directions in the field which over the last decade enjoyed a vigorous expansion. The notes are addressed to a diverse audience, including mathematicians, statisticians, physicists, fluid dynamicists and engineers, and contain both rigorous and heuristic arguments. Because of the multidisciplinary audience, the notes also include a concise exposition of some classical topics in probability theory, such as Brownian motion, Wiener polynomial chaos, etc.

Examining caregiving issues from a multigenerational, family life cycle perspective, this volume deals with the broad spectrum of chronic illnesses that necessitate family caregiving throughout the lifespan and discusses responses to these challenges by both caregiving families and caregiving systems. Part One addresses the caregiving paradigm and the relationship of family caregiving research to family life studies. Part Two examines conceptual aspects of caregiving, ranging from the expansion of the caregiving paradigm, caregiving processes and tasks, to the positive aspects of caregiving. Part Three emphasizes how family caregivers are affected by the connection (or lack of it) to macro-level systems.

Based on a unique research study, this volume examines the later life development of Holocaust survivors from Israel and the US. Through systematic interviews, the authors - noted researchers and clinicians - collected data about the lives of these survivors and how they compared to peers who did not share this experience. The orientation of the book synthesizes several conceptual approaches - gerontological and life span development, stress research, and traumatology, and also reflects the varied disciplines of the authors, spanning psychology, social work, and sociology. The result is a multi-faceted view of their subject with an understanding of the individual, society, and the interaction of the two, tempered by the authors' own Holocaust experiences. Chapters cover a range of areas including stress and coping of these survivors, reviews of their heath and mental health, an examination of their social integration, as well as a review of the multiple predictors of psychological well-being and adaptation to aging. This book will be of interest to psychologists, social workers, sociologists, psychiatrists, and all those who study both trauma and aging.

The present book is based on a course developed as part of the large NSF-funded Gateway Coalition Initiative in Engineering Education. The Coalition aimed to restructure the engineering curriculum by incorporating the latest technological innovations and tried to attract more and better students to engineering and science.

This book is on theatricality in the chalk-circle plays by Bertolt Brecht and Li Xingdao.

The aim of this book on psychotherapies with children and families is to present a comprehensive overview of the current array of intervention approaches in the child mental health field. There is a focus on the integration of theory, research, and practice throughout the book. The book proceeds from the more global pre­ sentations of basic theoretical approaches to applications of these approaches with specific problems and populations. It then presents more integrated intervention approaches and overviews of the research literature. One of the unique features of this book is its focus on future directions for each approach, both in clinical prac­ tice and in research. A second unique feature is its structured format across di­ verse approaches with a focus on empirical validation of approaches. Another innovation is the presentation of interventions that integrate major components of different theoretical approaches. Thus, the book reflects the current trends in the field of interventions with specific problems and populations, empirical valida­ tion of the approach, and the integration of treatment approaches. There are five major sections in this book. Part I consists of four chapters that address a variety of issues related to child psychotherapy. Chapter 1 by the editors examines the historical roots of child psychotherapy and explores current trends in the treatment of diverse child disorders. It emphasizes the movement to "treat­ ments that work" and sets the stage for the chapters that follow.

This collection brings together twenty-seven essays by influential literary and cultural historians, as well as representatives of the vanguard of postmodernist economics. Contributors include: Jean-Joseph Goux, Marc Shell. This is a pathbreaking work which develops a new form of economic analysis. It will appeal to economists and literary theorists with an interest beyond the narrower confines of their subject.

This book was originally published in 1999. At this time, the US economy had recently restructured itself, moving away from an industrial economy towards one based on information, while the European Union and Japan were left to worry about rising government deficits, inflexible businesses, persistent unemployment, and workers inadequately trained for the information age. Why did the US economy move beyond its chief competitors? This collection suggests that at least some of the answers to the pattern of divergent development can be found in the role of the entrepreneur. By examining the process that entrepreneurs play in the economy, the essays in this volume make a fundamental contribution to our understanding of the macroeconomy. Each chapter clarifies the role of entrepreneur in economic theory, the function of small and medium-size enterprises that they found and build and the impact of the innovations introduced on employment, productivity, and economic growth.