Presenting the latest developments in the field, Wind Energy Systems: Control Engineering Designoffers a novel take on advanced control engineering design techniques for wind turbine applications. The book introduces concurrent quantitative engineering techniques for the design of highly efficient and reliable controllers, which can be used to solve the most critical problems of multi-megawatt wind energy systems. This book is based on the authors' experience during the last two decades designing commercial multi-megawatt wind turbines and control systems for industry leaders, including NASA and the European Space Agency. This work is their response to the urgent need for a truly reliable concurrent engineering methodology for the design of advanced control systems. Outlining a roadmap for such a coordinated architecture, the authors consider the links between all aspects of a multi-megawatt wind energy project, in which the wind turbine and the control system must be cooperatively designed to achieve an optimized, reliable, and successful system. Look inside for links to a free download of QFTCT--a new interactive CAD tool for QFT controller design with MATLAB® that the authors developed with the European Space Agency. The textbook's big-picture insights can help students and practicing engineers control and optimize a wind energy system, in which large, flexible, aerodynamic structures are connected to a demanding variable electrical grid and work automatically under very turbulent and unpredictable environmental conditions. The book covers topics including robust QFT control, aerodynamics, mechanical and electrical dynamic modeling, economics, reliability, and efficiency. It also addresses standards, certification, implementation, grid integration, and power quality, as well as environmental and maintenance issues. To reinforce understanding, the authors present real examples of experimentation with commercial multi-megawatt direct-drive wind turbines, as well as on-shore, offshore, floating, and airborne wind turbine applications. They also offer a unique in-depth exploration of the quantitative feedback theory (QFT)--a proven, successful robust control technique for real-world applications--as well as advanced switching control techniques that help engineers exceed classical linear limitations.
Stay up to date with recent advances in the NICU with Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate, 6th Edition. This trusted neonatology reference thoroughly covers the new guidelines, equipment, drugs, and treatments that have greatly increased the chance of survival for high-risk infants. Expert contributors deliver the information you need to stay on top of the technological and medical advances in this challenging field. Benefit from the expert advice offered in concise, easy-to-read editorial comments throughout the book. Assess your knowledge with comprehensive question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. Understand the clinical relevance of what you've learned with case studies that highlight real-world application. Own the reference trusted for nearly 40 years by those who care for at-risk neonates in the dynamic and challenging NICU. Get fast access to need-to-know information on drugs used in the NICU, normal values, and much more in the fully updated appendices. Keep your knowledge up to date with expanded coverage of evidence-based medicine and the role of networks in generating evidence. Stay current with all aspects of neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care.
For years the authoritarian regimes of the Arab world displayed remarkable persistence. Then, beginning in December 2010, much of the region underwent rapid and remarkable political change. This volume explores the precursors, nature, and trajectory of the dynamics unleashed by the Arab Spring.
The book series, "Child Maltreatment: Contemporary Issues in Research and Policy." will consist of a state of the art handbook (to be revised every five years) and two to three volumes per year. The first volume in this seriesnbsp;is a legacy to C. Henry Kempe. This is a timely publication because 2012 marks 50 years after the appearance of the foundational article by C. Henry Kempe and his colleagues, "The Battered-Child Syndrome." This volume capitalizes on this 50 year anniversary to stand back and assess the field from the perspective that Dr. Kempe's early contributions and ideas are still being played out in practice and policy today. The volume will be released at the next ISPCAN meeting, also in 2012.
A Companion to Ovid is a comprehensive overview of one of the most influential poets of classical antiquity. Features more than 30 newly commissioned chapters by noted scholars writing in their areas of specialization Illuminates various aspects of Ovid's work, such as production, genre, and style Presents interpretive essays on key poems and collections of poems Includes detailed discussions of Ovid's primary literary influences and his reception in English literature Provides a chronology of key literary and historical events during Ovid's lifetime
In this book, Susan McClary examines the mechanisms through which seventeenth-century musicians simulated extreme affective states--desire, divine rapture, and ecstatic pleasure. She demonstrates how every major genre of the period, from opera to religious music to instrumental pieces based on dances, was part of this striving for heightened passions by performers and listeners. While she analyzes the social and historical reasons for the high value placed on expressive intensity in both secular and sacred music, and she also links desire and pleasure to the many technical innovations of the period. McClary shows how musicians--whether working within the contexts of the Reformation or Counter-Reformation, Absolutists courts or commercial enterprises in Venice--were able to manipulate known procedures to produce radically new ways of experiencing time and the Self.
Predictions about global climate change have produced both stark scenarios of environmental catastrophe and purportedly pragmatic ideas about adaptation. This book takes a different perspective, exploring the idea that the challenge of adapting to global climate change is fundamentally an ethical one, that it is not simply a matter of adapting our infrastructures and economies to mitigate damage but rather of adapting ourselves to realities of a new global climate. The challenge is to restore our conception of humanity -- to understand human flourishing in new ways -- in an age in which humanity shapes the basic conditions of the global environment. In the face of what we have unintentionally done to Earth's ecology, who shall we become? The contributors examine ways that new realities will require us to revisit and adjust the practice of ecological restoration; the place of ecology in our conception of justice; the form and substance of traditional virtues and vices; and the organizations, scale, and underlying metaphors of important institutions. Topics discussed include historical fidelity in ecological restoration; the application of capability theory to ecology; the questionable ethics of geoengineering; and the cognitive transformation required if we are to "think like a planet."
Virgil Richardson blazed his own unique trail through the twentieth century: a co-founder of Harlem's American Negro Theater, 1930s radio personality, World War II pilot, and expatriate for most of his life. In Flight, this remarkable man tells his story in his own vivid words. Educated in Texas, Richardson set out for New York City in 1938 to build a career on the stage. Just when he was on the brink of success as an actor, World War II broke out and he was drafted into the army. After overcoming numerous obstacles, Richardson became a Tuskegee cadet in 1943, and later saw action flying over the battlefields of Europe. Upon returning to the racially divided U.S., he decided to move to Mexico, where he encountered a society quite different from the one he had left behind. Compellingly told and historically fascinating, this is the story of a determined individual unwilling to accept the limited options of Jim Crow America.
Hermann Kopp (1817-1892) is best remembered today as a historian of chemistry, but during his lifetime he was one of the most eminent chemists of his day, and one of the earliest pioneers of physical chemistry. Late in his career he wrote an endearing fantasy about personified molecules. Published in 1882, Aus der Molecular-Welt (From the Molecular World) portrayed the intimate details of what might actually be happening in the sub-microscopic world; the atoms and molecules we meet there have agency, personalities, sometimes even dialog. Filled with appealing tropes, humor, and whimsical asides, Kopp's short book provided an examination of the chemistry and physics of his day that was always light-hearted on the surface, but often surprisingly profound. Properly interpreted, the book provides a revealing tour of nineteenth-century debates concerning chemical theory. It is here translated into English, richly annotated, and equipped with an illuminating preface by a leading historian of chemistry. It provides entertaining reading to practicing chemists, as well as new insights to historians of science.
What is jazz? What is gained--and what is lost--when various communities close ranks around a particular definition of this quintessentially American music? Jazz/Not Jazz explores some of the musicians, concepts, places, and practices which, while deeply connected to established jazz institutions and aesthetics, have rarely appeared in traditional histories of the form. David Ake, Charles Hiroshi Garrett, and Daniel Goldmark have assembled a stellar group of writers to look beyond the canon of acknowledged jazz greats and address some of the big questions facing jazz today. More than just a history of jazz and its performers, this collections seeks out those people and pieces missing from the established narratives to explore what they can tell us about the way jazz has been defined and its history has been told.
The Oxford Anthology of Western Music, Volume One: The Earliest Notations to the Early Eighteenth Century, accompanies chapters 1-11 of The Oxford History of Western Music, College Edition*, by Richard Taruskin and Christopher H. Gibbs (9780195097627). From ancient Greek music and Christian plainchant to the keyboard sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti, this comprehensive volume includes a rich assortment of landmark musical scores. These include works found in many surveys as well as important pieces that are rarely anthologized, including Antoine de Févin's Missa super Ave Maria; Adrian Willaert's Benedicta es; the Overture and Act 3 of Jean-Baptiste Lully's Atys; Dietrich Buxtehude's Durch Adams Fall; and an aria from Jean-Philippe Rameau's Castor et Pollux. Designed with students in mind, this unique collection includes introductory essays at the beginning of each piece and an index of names and terms. A corresponding set of recordings* (2 CDs) contains all musical examples from the anthology in high-quality MP3 format (9780199768288). ALSO AVAILABLE* Oxford Anthology of Western Music Volume Two: The Mid-Eighteenth Century to the Late Nineteenth Century Edited by Klára Móricz and David E. Schneider > V2 Print Anthology: 9780199768264 > V2 Recorded Anthology (3 CDs): 9780199768295 Oxford Anthology of Western Music Volume Three: The Twentieth Century Edited by Klára Móricz and David E. Schneider > V3 Print Anthology: 9780199768271 > V3 Recorded Anthology (2 CDs): 9780199768301 Oxford Recorded Anthology of Western Music Concise Edition > Recorded Anthology (3 CDs): 9780199768318 The Oxford History of Western Music College Edition Richard Taruskin and Christopher H. Gibbs > Textbook: 9780195097627 * Sold separately
"This aptly-named book brings all manner of boundary-crossing into one provocative, material space in which we can view the riches of state-of-the-art scholarship on medieval and early modern visual culture." Gail McMurray Gibson, William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of English and Humanities, Davidson College The essays in this collection explore the thresholds between the visual and verbal, the sensory and performative, the literal and metaphorical, the social and epistemological that shaped the cultural matrix of the Middle Ages. The contributors' interrelated interests in patronage, word-image relationships, reception theory, gender studies, close visual and textual analysis, and performance criticism make for a valuable interdisciplinary mix that highlights the importance of studying medieval material culture in its many manifestations and valences. The book benefits from the ambitious cross-disciplinary explorations and engagements with contemporary theory undertaken in the field of medieval studies in recent decades, especially those by Pamela Sheingorn, to whom the volume is dedicated. Jill Stevenson is Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts, Marymount Manhattan College; Elina Gertsman is Assistant Professor of Medieval Art, Case Western Reserve University. Contributors: Richard K. Emmerson, Kathryn A. Smith, Lucy Freeman Sandler, Marilynn Desmond, Adelaide Bennett, Jonathan J. G. Alexander, Diane Wolfthal, Corine Schleif, Rachel Dressler, Glenn Burger, Robert L. A. Clark, Jenna Soleo-Shanks, Glenn Ehrstine, Colum Hourihane
This edited collection looks at two of the most important ancient Greek historians living in the 5th Century BCE who are considered to be the founders of the western tradition of historiography. Thucydides and Herodotus examines the relevant relationship between these historians which isconsidered, especially nowadays, by historians and philologists to be more significant than previously realized. The volume includes an introduction by the editors which addresses our changing view of how the historians relate to one another, and twelve papers written by leading experts in the field of ancient history and philology. Nine of the papers discuss either comprehensive issues pertaining to thehistorians' relationship or their common themes and practices, while three further papers discuss the ancient reception of Herodotus and Thucydides and investigate the historians' debt to Homer.
Postsocialist China is marked by paradoxes: economic boom, political conservatism, cultural
complexity. Haomin Gong's dynamic study of these paradoxes, or "unevenness," provides a
unique and seminal approach to contemporary China. Reading unevenness as a problem and an
opportunity simultaneously, Gong investigates how this dialectical social situation shapes cultural
production. He begins his investigation of "uneven modernity" in China by constructing
a critical framework of unevenness among different theoretical schools and expounding on
how dialectical thinking points to a metaphysical paradox in capitalism and modernity: the
inevitable tension between a constant pursuit of infinite fullness and a break of fullness
(unevenness) as the means of this pursuit. In the Chinese context, this paradox is created in the
"uneven developmentalism" that most manifestly characterizes the postsocialist period.
Gong goes on to investigate manifestations of the dialectics of unevenness in specific cultural
events. Four case studies address respectively but not exclusively literature (the prose of Yu
Qiuyu), popular fiction (Chi Li's neorealist fiction), commercial cinema (the movies of
Feng Xiaogang), and art-house cinema (Wang Xiaoshuai's filmmaking). Representing different
aspects of cultural production in postsocialist China, these writers and directors deal with the
same social condition of uneven development, and their works clearly exhibit the problematics
of this age. Uneven Modernity makes a significant contribution to the burgeoning field of China studies
as well as the study of uneven development in general. It addresses some of the most popular,
yet understudied, cultural phenomena in contemporary China. Specialists and students will
find its insights convincing and its style accessible.
"WHERE DID THE UNIVERSE COME FROM? WHAT WAS THERE BEFORE IT? WHAT WILL THE FUTURE BRING? AND FINALLY, WHY IS THERE SOMETHING RATHER THAN NOTHING?" Lawrence Krauss's provocative answers to these and other timeless questions in a wildly popular lecture now on YouTube have attracted almost a million viewers. The last of these questions in particular has been at the center of religious and philosophical debates about the existence of God, and it's the supposed counterargument to anyone who questions the need for God. As Krauss argues, scientists have, however, historically focused on other, more pressing issues--such as figuring out how the universe actually functions, which can ultimately help us to improve the quality of our lives. Now, in a cosmological story that rivets as it enlightens, pioneering theoretical physicist Lawrence Krauss explains the groundbreaking new scientific advances that turn the most basic philosophical questions on their heads. One of the few prominent scientists today to have actively crossed the chasm between science and popular culture, Krauss reveals that modern science is addressing the question of why there is something rather than nothing, with surprising and fascinating results. The staggeringly beautiful experimental observations and mind-bending new theories are all described accessibly in A Universe from Nothing, and they suggest that not only can something arise from nothing, something will always arise from nothing. With his characteristic wry humor and wonderfully clear explanations, Krauss takes us back to the beginning of the beginning, presenting the most recent evidence for how our universe evolved--and the implications for how it's going to end. It will provoke, challenge, and delight readers as it looks at the most basic underpinnings of existence in a whole new way. And this knowledge that our universe will be quite different in the future from today has profound implications and directly affects how we live in the present. As Richard Dawkins has described it: This could potentially be the most important scientific book with implications for supernaturalism since Darwin. A fascinating antidote to outmoded philosophical and religious thinking, A Universe from Nothing is a provocative, game-changing entry into the debate about the existence of God and everything that exists. "Forget Jesus," Krauss has argued, "the stars died so you could be born."
Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel—a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh’s Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle’s The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar’s The World We Found—a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls “perceptive and often piercing.”
A catalogue commemorating an exhibition curated by Kentaro Tomio and organized by the Tyler Museum of Art featuring works by N.C., Andrew and Jamie Wyeth from private and public collections throughout Texas.
Rock-solid decision-making through strong coverage and effective practice. Managerial Accounting presents readers with the rock-solid fundamentals they need to know, followed by extensive opportunities for practice.
The Global Accounting History four volume set aims to establish a benchmark reference source that covers the evolution of accounting, financial reporting and related institutions for all major economies in the world in a comparable way.