Transformative Cooperation (TC) presents new ways for individuals and organizations to partner to create a more sustainable future and take people to a higher stage of moral development. This handbook invites readers to consider how businesses can partner with organizations in other sectors of society, including governments and nonprofits, to address global concerns and improve the lives of all. It documents the need for and early examples of cooperative efforts that have transformed the relationships between corporations and the communities in which their employees live and work. The editors begin by issuing a call for TC, explaining the economic and social reasons for working across traditional organization, national, and international boundaries. The book then goes on to explain the dynamics of transformative cooperation, exploring the leadership characteristics that facilitate the transformation and its social benefits. Throughout this handbook, the editors present some of the best designs in transformative cooperation, and conclude by explaining transformative cooperation as a generative possibility. Overall, the editors and contributors argue that TC is about the search for the best in people, their organizations, and the world around them.
This comprehensive Handbook presents specially commissioned original essays on the societal roles and contexts facing women in business and management, the specific career and workÐlife issues of women in these fields, organizational processes affecting w
Contains authoritative coverage from experts around the world on the ways to restore the planet. Focused on solutions rather than on environmental problems, this work is suitable for twenty-first century students and professionals working to transform our common future.
New product development is not just about creating successful new products. This book presents a blend of cases, original survey research and theory to show the principles used by successful firms in developing new products and pruning those that hold the company back.
Current, comprehensive, and cutting edge, ENTREPRENEURSHIP: A PROCESS PERSPECTIVE equips potential entrepreneurs with the tools and insight for success. With solid theory and relevant examples, this thorough resource covers the entire process of building a business. Seasoned instructors and entrepreneurial authorities, Professors Baron and Shane deliver a practical, applied process approach with a multidisciplinary perspective, drawing on knowledge from the studies of economics, psychology, and other areas. The book begins with recognizing opportunity and building a team, and then moves through assembling finances, the business plan, legal issues, marketing, growth, and exit strategies. Rather than getting bogged down in excessive discussions of theory, Baron and Shane use real-world examples to illustrate how students can apply chapter concepts to their own business ventures. Thoroughly updated and revised based on student and professor feedback, the second edition adds a chapter on legal issues specific to entrepreneurs--including intellectual property considerations--and an appendix on key accounting principles entrepreneurs should know. A new chapter on growth strategies for new ventures is coupled with a chapter on managing new ventures for growth. In addition, new boxed features shed light on common myths and misperceptions about entrepreneurship. The book is also packed with hands-on applications--including a case written specifically for each chapter--giving students experience putting text concepts into real-world action.
This volume draws on the power of Appreciative Inquiry (AI) to rethink our methods, approaches, and ethos for designing social and technical systems across all forms of human organising. It explores the role of a positive lens in advancing the scholarship of designing human organisations that fosters betterment.
The Demo Docs System of instruction replicates the classroom experience by providing more I get it moments outside of class. We've talked to tons of Managerial Accounting instructors and our editors have even taken the accounting course (numerous times ) to figure out the following issue in this course that is consistent: Students understand (or get it) right after you do a problem in class, but as soon as they leave class, with each passing hour, their ability to do the problems again and complete their homework diminishes to the point of them either having to come to office hours to get help, or they just quit and get behind in the course. On top of this, you can end up getting behind in the course as well, in order to keep everyone on track. The Demo Docs system helps to recreate the I get it moments outside of class-keeping both you and the students on track.
This is an original survey of the economic and social history of slavery of the Afro-American experience in Latin America and the Caribbean. The focus of the book is on the Portuguese, Spanish, and French-speaking regions of continental America and the Caribbean. It analyzes the latest research on urban and rural slavery and on the African and Afro-American experience under these regimes. It approaches these themes both historically and structurally. The historical section provides a detailed analysis of the evolution of slavery and forced labor systems in Europe, Africa, and America. The second half of the book looks at the type of life and culture which the salves experienced in these American regimes.
This groundbreaking collection by the most distinguished musicologists and film scholars in their fields gives long overdue recognition to music as equal to the image in shaping the experience of film. Refuting the familiar idea that music serves as an unnoticed prop for narrative, these essays demonstrate that music is a fully imagined and active power in the worlds of film. Even where films do give it a supporting role--and many do much more--music makes an independent contribution. Drawing on recent advances in musicology and cinema studies, Beyond the Soundtrack interprets the cinematic representation of music with unprecedented richness. The authors cover a broad range of narrative films, from the "silent" era (not so silent) to the present. Once we think beyond the soundtrack, this volume shows, there is no unheard music in cinema.
Late in life, Foucault identified with "the critical tradition of Kant," encouraging us to read both thinkers in new ways. Kant's "Copernican" strategy of grounding knowledge in the limits of human reason proved to stabilize political, social-scientific, and medical expertise as well as philosophical discourse. These inevitable limits were made concrete in historical structures such as the asylum, the prison, and the sexual or racial human body. Such institutions built upon and shaped the aesthetic judgment of those considered "normal." Following Kant through all of Foucault's major works, this book shows how bodies functioned as "problematic objects" in which the limits of post-Enlightenment European power and discourse were imaginatively figured and unified. It suggests ways that readers in a neoliberal political order can detach from the imaginative schemes vested in their bodies and experiment normatively with their own security needs.
To coincide with the recent DVD release of The Spirit of the Beehive, this paperback collection of essays focuses on the work of acclaimed Spanish director, Victor Erice. Originally published in hardcover under the title An Open Window, this expanded edition draws on original essays, reprints, and new translations from an international group of writers. New to this edition are four essays from noted film scholars including editor Linda C. Ehrlich as well as three added essays from the filmmaker himself. Both the original and new material provide a deeper appreciation of Erice's three feature-length films The Spirit of the Beehive El espiritu de la colmena] (1973), El Sur (1982), and Dream of Light aka The Quince Tree Sun, El sol del membrillo] (1992), as well as his shorter works, including his most recent accomplishment, La morte rouge (2006). This anthology examines the aesthetic, historical, and sociological forces at work in Erice's films and includes an extensive interview with the director. This broad array of writings provides insight into not only three unforgettable films, but also into twentieth-century Spanish society, as well as world cinema. The Cinema of Victor Erice: An Open Window will serve as an important resource to measure the career of this director who along with Bunuel, Saura, and Almodovar has helped show the world the creative range of Spanish cinema. With additional essays, translations, and illustrations, this paperback edition explores new avenues of expression pursued by one of the most poetic of modern filmmakers."
A composer who dabbled in the Dada movement, a Bohemian “gymnopédiste” of fin-de-siècle Montmartre, and a legendary dresser known as “The Velvet Gentleman,” Erik Satie cut a unique figure among early twentieth-century European composers. Yet his legacy has largely languished in the shadows of Stravinsky, Debussy, and Ravel. Mary E. Davis now brings Satie to life in this fascinating new biography. Satie redefined the composer’s art, devising new methods of artistic expression that melded ordinary and rarified elements of words, visual art, and music. Davis argues that Satie’s modernist aesthetic was grounded in the contradictions of his life—such as enrolling in the conservative Schola Cantorum after working as a cabaret performer—and is reflected in his irreverent essays, drawn art, and music. Erik Satie explores how the composer was embraced by avant-garde artists and fashionable Parisian elite, and how his experiences inspired him to create the musical style of Neoclassicism. Satie also employed the power of the image through his infamous fashion statements, Davis contends, and became part of a nascent celebrity culture. A cogent and informative portrait, Erik Satie upends the accepted history of modernist music and restores the composer to his rightful pioneering status.
This is the biography of one of Cleveland's leading philanthropists. born entrepreneur Amasa Stone and his wife, Julia. Stone, who settled on Cleveland's Euclid Avenue, earned his fortune in railroads and bridge building, and was president and director of numerous railroads and other industrial and financial corporations. In 1881 Flora wed her neighbor, Samuel Mather, a marriage that united two of Cleveland's - and the nation's - wealthiest and most influential families. The couple, recognized as a true love match, not simply a marriage of convenience, had four children. philanthropic responsibilities and undertook charitable endeavors of her own. She was at the center of many charities and organizations that addressed the physical, intellectual, cultural, and spiritual needs of Clevelanders, especially the poor, women, and children. Credited with establishing the Goodrich House settlement, she also supported the Children's Aid Society and gave generously to promote women's education at Western Reserve University. as well as her money - and never sought credit for her many contributions. Flora Stone Mather died from breast cancer in 1909. The region and city still benefit from her generosity, compassion, and foresight. be important reading for students of women's studies and the history of philanthropy as well as those interested in Ohio's Western Reserve and its people.
It is not possible to fully understand contemporary politics between China and the Dalai Lama without understanding what happened--and why--during the 1950s. In a book that continues the story of Tibet's history that he began in his acclaimed A History of Modern Tibet, 1913-1951: The Demise of the Lamaist State, Melvyn C. Goldstein critically revises our understanding of that key period in midcentury. This authoritative account utilizes new archival material, including never before seen documents, and extensive interviews with Tibetans, including the Dalai Lama, and with Chinese officials. Goldstein furnishes fascinating and sometimes surprising portraits of these major players as he deftly unravels the fateful intertwining of Tibetan and Chinese politics against the backdrop of the Korean War, the tenuous Sino-Soviet alliance, and American cold war policy.
Tehmina Sethna's beloved husband has died this past year and she is visiting her son, Sorab, in his suburban Ohio home. Now Tehmina is being asked to choose between her old, familiar life in India and a new one in Ohio with her son, his American wife, and their child. She must decide whether to leave the comforting landscape of her native India for the strange rituals of life in a new country. This is a journey Tehmina, a middle-aged Parsi woman, must travel alone. The Parsis were let into India almost a millennium ago because of their promise to "sweeten" and enrich the lives of the people in their adopted country. This is an ancient promise that Tehmina takes seriously. And so, while faced with the larger choice of whether to stay in America or not, Tehmina is also confronted with another, more urgent choice: whether to live in America as a stranger or as a citizen. Citizenship implies connection, participation, and involvement. Soon destiny beckons in the form of two young, troubled children next door. It is the plight of these two boys that forces Tehmina to choose. She will either straddle two worlds forever and live in a no-man's land or jump into the fullness of her new life in America. If Today Be Sweet is a novel that celebrates family and community. It is an honest but affectionate look at contemporary America—the sterility of its suburban life, the tinsel of its celebrity culture, but also the generosity of its people and their thirst for connection and communication. Eloquently written, evocative, and unforgettable, If Today Be Sweet is a poignant look at issues of immigration, identity, family life, and hope. It is a novel that shows how cultures can collide and become better for it.
This book has been written for undergraduate and graduate students in various disciplines of mathematics. The authors, internationally recognized experts in their field, have developed a superior teaching and learning tool that makes it easy to grasp new concepts and apply them in practice. The book's highly accessible approach makes it particularly ideal if you want to become acquainted with the Bayesian approach to computational science, but do not need to be fully immersed in detailed statistical analysis.
This book centers on a foundational moment for Latin American racial constructs. While most contemporary scholarship has focused the explanation for racial tolerance-or its lack-in the colonial period, Marixa Lasso argues that the key to understanding the origins of modern race relations are to be found later, in the Age of Revolution. Lasso rejects the common assumption that subalterns were passive and alienated from Creole-led patriot movements, and instead demonstrates that during Colombia's revolution, free blacks and mulattos (pardos) actively joined and occasionally even led the cause to overthrow the Spanish colonial government. As part of their platform, patriots declared legal racial equality for all citizens, and promulgated an ideology of harmony and fraternity for Colombians of all colors. The fact that blacks were mentioned as equals in the discourse of the revolution and later served in republican government posts was a radical political departure. These factors were instrumental in constructing a powerful myth of racial equality-a myth that would fuel revolutionary activity throughout Latin America. Thus emerged a historical paradox central to Latin American nation-building: the coexistence of the principle of racial equality with actual racism at the very inception of the republic. Ironically, the discourse of equality meant that grievances of racial discrimination were construed as unpatriotic and divisive acts-in its most extreme form, blacks were accused of preparing a race war. Lasso's work brings much-needed attention to the important role of the anticolonial struggles in shaping the nature of contemporary race relations and racial identities in Latin America."
In this follow-up to The Book of Honor, Gup exposes how and why American institutions keep secrets from the very people they are supposed to serve. He argues that a preoccupation with secrets has undermined the very values in whose name secrecy is so often invoked.
"The first comprehensive account of the relation of collections of imperial beasts to narrative practices in England, The Novel and the Menagerie explores an array of imaginative responses to the empire as a dominant, shaping factor in English daily life. Kurt Koenigsberger argues that domestic English novels and collections of zoological exotica (especially zoos, circuses, traveling menageries, and colonial and imperial exhibitions) share important aesthetic strategies and cultural logics: novels about English daily life and displays featuring collections of exotic animals both strive to relate Englishness to a larger empire conceived as an integrated whole." "Koenigsberger's investigations range from readings of novels by authors such as Charles Dickens, Virginia Woolf, Salman Rushdie, and Angela Carter to analyses of ballads, handbills, broadsides, and memoirs of showmen. Attending closely to the collective English practices of imagining and delineating the empire as a whole, The Novel and the Menagerie works at the juncture of literary criticism, colonial discourse studies, and cultural analysis to historicize the notion of totality in the theory and practice of the English novel. In exploring the shapes of the novel in England and of the English institutions that collected exotic animals, it offers fresh readings of familiar literary texts and opens up new ways of understanding the character of imperial Englishness across the nineteenth and twentieth centuries."--BOOK JACKET.
Most of the people in this book will die before the fifth paragraph. You probably haven't heard of any of them. That doesn't mean it's a book about nobodies. That doesn't mean it is a book about death. The obituaries collected here are at times humorous, (""The Woman Who Outlived Her Tombstone"") and at times heartbreaking (""Love Stories from a Plane Crash""). They shine a light into forgotten places (""How to Build a Mountain"") and forgotten lives (""TGhe shortest Obituary on the Page""). Inside are countless lessons of life, taught by people we all pass on the street every day. It's not too late to meet them.
For three decades, Evelyne Accad has been one of the most promiment Arab Francophone writers and theorists. Her three novels, The Excised (1982), Poppy of the Massacre (1988), and Wounding Words (1993), her innovative autobiography, The Wounded Breast (2000), and her critical work, Sexuality and War (1990), treat issues such as female genital mutilation, civil war in her native Lebanon, the Tunisian feminist movement, 'femihumanisme', and multicultural perspectives on breast cancer. These writings span the fields of French and Francophone Studies, Women's and Gender Studies, Cultural Studies, Post-colonial theory, Middle Eastern Studies, and comparative literature. Egyptian feminist and essayist, Nawal El Saadawi, wrote the preface to this new collection of essays in which 25 scholars and writers offer diverse perspectives on Accad's writings. This book is an invaluable resource for students or specialists who study, teach, or research Accad's life and works.
No other ancient poet has had such a hold on the imagination of readers as Ovid. Through the centuries, artists, writers, and poets have found in his work inspiration for new creative endeavors. This anthology of twenty of the most influential papers published in the last thirty years represents the broad range of critical and scholarly approaches to Ovid's work. The entire range of his poetry, from the Amores to the Epistles from the Black Sea, is discussed by some of the leading scholars of Latin poetry, employing, critical methods ranging from philology to contemporary literary theory. In an introductory essay, Peter Knox surveys Ovidian scholarship over this period and locates the assembled papers within recent critical trends. Taken together, the articles in this collection offer the interested reader, whether experienced scholar or novice, an entrée into the current critical discourse on Ovid, who is at once one of the most accessible authors of classical antiquity and one of the least understood.
The present volume analyzes mathematical models of time-dependent physical p- nomena on three levels: microscopic, mesoscopic, and macroscopic. We provide a rigorous derivation of each level from the preceding level and the resulting me- scopic equations are analyzed in detail. Following Haken (1983, Sect. 1. 11. 6) we deal, at the microscopic level, with individual atoms or molecules, described by their positions, velocities, and mutual interactions. At the mesoscopic level, we describe the liquid by means of ensembles of many atoms or molecules. The - tension of such an ensemble is assumed large compared to interatomic distances but small compared to the evolving macroscopic pattern. . . . At the macroscopic level we wish to study the corresponding spatial patterns. Typically, at the mac- scopic level, the systems under consideration are treated as spatially continuous systems such as ?uids or a continuous distribution of some chemical reactants, etc. Incontrast, onthemicroscopiclevel, Newtonianmechanicsgovernstheequationsof 1 motion of the individual atoms or molecules. These equations are cast in the form 2 of systems of deterministic coupled nonlinear oscillators. The mesoscopic level is probabilistic in nature and many models may be faithfully described by stochastic 3 ordinary and stochastic partial differential equations (SODEs and SPDEs), where the latter are de'ned on a continuum. The macroscopic level is described by ti- dependent partial differential equations (PDE s) and its generalization and simpl- cations. In our mathematical framework we talk of particles instead of atoms and mo- cules. The transition from the microscopic description to a mesoscopic (i. e."