Bearings: from Technoloogical Foundations to Practical Design Applications provides a modern study of bearing types, design factors, and industrial examples. The major classes of bearings are described, and design concepts are covered for rolling elements, surfaces, pivots, flexures, and compliance surfaces. Fluid film lubrication is presented, and the basics of tribology for bearings is explained. The book also looks at specific applications of bearing technology, including bearings in vehicles, rotating machinery, machine tools, and home appliances. Case studies are also included.
This book constitutes the refereed joint proceedings of the 4th International Workshop on Deep Learning in Medical Image Analysis, DLMIA 2018, and the 8th International Workshop on Multimodal Learning for Clinical Decision Support, ML-CDS 2018, held in conjunction with the 21st International Conference on Medical Imaging and Computer-Assisted Intervention, MICCAI 2018, in Granada, Spain, in September 2018. The 39 full papers presented at DLMIA 2018 and the 4 full papers presented at ML-CDS 2018 were carefully reviewed and selected from 85 submissions to DLMIA and 6 submissions to ML-CDS. The DLMIA papers focus on the design and use of deep learning methods in medical imaging. The ML-CDS papers discuss new techniques of multimodal mining/retrieval and their use in clinical decision support.
A much-needed practical guide, particularly suited for readers with engineering or science backgrounds, that provides the financial decision-making skills needed in the business world For engineers with little or no business background this book provides the financial decision-making skills necessary for a management career. Based on materials used by students in a Masters of Engineering and Management program at Case Western Reserve University and informed by both classroom and industry experience, this essential guide can be used in courses or independent study. The chapters introduce and integrate key concepts relevant to basic management, accounting, and finance that will enhance the critical thinking and confidence necessary for success as a chief technology officer or in any business career.
Provides in-depth knowledge of flexible energy conversion and storage devices-covering aspects from materials to technologies. Written by leading experts on various critical issues in this emerging field, this book reviews the recent progresses on flexible energy conversion and storage devices, such as batteries, supercapacitors, solar cells, and fuel cells. It introduces not only the basic principles and strategies to make a device flexible, but also the applicable materials and technologies, such as polymers, carbon materials, nanotechnologies and textile technologies. It also discusses the perspectives for different devices.
This book teaches readers the fundamentals of innovation and reduces them to practice in the context of entrepreneurship and intrapreneurship. It is a new, fresh look at learning and practicing innovation at the individual level, based on scientific knowledge and in the context of the 21st Century. This book is written for engineering students and professionals, but can also be used by those in other disciplines by adapting the engineering analogies.
Neuromodulation: Comprehensive Textbook of Principles, Technologies, and Therapies, Second Edition, serves as a comprehensive and in-depth reference textbook covering all aspects of the rapidly growing field of neuromodulation. Since the publication of the first edition seven years ago, there has been an explosion of knowledge in neuromodulation, optogenetics, bioelectronics medicine and brain computer interfacing. Users will find unique discussions of the fundamental principles of neuromodulation and therapies, and how they are applied to the brain, spinal cord, peripheral nerves, autonomic nerves and various organs. The book focuses on comprehensive coverage of spinal cord stimulation, non-interventional and interventional brain stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation, and the emerging fields of neuromodulation, including optogenetics and bioelectronics medicine.
This reference work, also known as "The Red Book," is a source of information and advice for school teachers, their representatives, and other professionals in the legal areas of education administration. Topics range from organization and government of the school system to school property and school finance. More than 300 pages of model forms streamline document preparation. Research aids help you locate information quickly.
This problem-pedagogy casebook gives due attention to common law cases but also emphasizes the importance of statutes in the modern world. Innovative features, such as graphic exercises and diagrams of crimes, are integrated with more traditional elements. Beginning with an overview of the criminal justice system, the book goes on to devote chapters to the following topics: punishment, making criminal law, conduct, mental states, homicide, causation, defenses, rape, attempted crimes, complicity, consipracy, and theft. Criminal Law also includes an appendix with relevant sections of the Model Penal Code.
The Balkan Wars, the Rwanda genocide, and the crimes against humanity in Cambodia and Sierra Leone spurred the creation of international criminal tribunals to bring the perpetrators of unimaginable atrocities to justice. When Richard Goldstone, David Crane, Robert Petit, and Luis Moreno-Ocampo received the call - each set out on a unique quest to build an international criminal tribunal and launch its first prosecutions. Never before have the founding International Prosecutors told the behind-the-scenes stories of their historic journey. With no blueprint and little precedent, each was a path-breaker. This book contains the first-hand accounts of the challenges they faced, the obstacles they overcame, and the successes they achieved in obtaining justice for millions of victims.
This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence, selected sections from: The Ohio Revised Code, The Federal Rules of Evidence, Provisions of the Foreign Evidence Act, The Ohio Rules of Civil, Criminal, and Juvenile Procedure. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980.
Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohios criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of the U.S. Constitution and Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution. The volume provides the laws on: Traffic offenses; Controlled substances; Domestic violence; Procedure; Evidence; Traffic rules. In addition to reviewing the elements of crimes, the text also includes a table of definitions, charts and checklists on sentences and fines, procedure outlines and timetable, and a detailed subject index.
Katz & Giannelli Criminal Law covers all aspects of criminal procedure, from initial appearance to postconviction remedies, with special emphasis on constitutional and evidentiary issues. The authors have integrated the Rules of Criminal Procedure with revised code provisions, common-law precedent, and recent caselaw from Ohio, other states, and the federal system. Expert commentary is enhanced with convenient cross-references to all major related treatises.
In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.
Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern, such as: teachers' compensation, fringe benefits, and leave; the training of board of education members and personnel. This portable book is suitable for adoption as a text in schools of education and is ideal for quick reference by board members, principals, teachers, and the general public.
Seventy-two new problems have been added in this new edition. A number of these new problems concern authentication of social media and electronic evidence and the authentication of DNA with interesting chain of custody problems. Additional problems have been added dealing with expert evidence, including validation of new types of expert and lay testimony regarding cell tower tracking. Three new problems in the area of attorney-client privilege examine the application Federal Rule of Evidence Rule 502. Many of the new problems draw their inspiration from recent appellate opinions dealing with cutting-edge evidence issues.
Questions and Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and on into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions and Answers series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams. This study guide includes over 455 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 98 "practice exam" questions. This edition includes questions on the latest Federal Rules of Evidence amendments and Supreme Court cases. For each multiple-choice question, there is a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less and includes a thoughtful and comprehensive, yet brief, model answer.
Tax Aspects of Marital Dissolution provides the tools you need to conduct tax-wise negotiations on behalf of your divorce clients. It provides guidance in drafting marital settlement agreements that take tax ramifications into account, and covers the latest alimony recomputation rules and maximum tax rates.
This Understanding treatise presents the essential topics in evidence law cogently and concisely. While it was written primarily for students in Evidence and Trial Practice courses, the "Key Points" summary at the end of each chapter and the inclusion of the current Federal Rules of Evidence in an appendix make this treatise an excellent reference for busy attorneys.Understanding Evidence begins with an overview of Evidence law followed by an explanation of the roles of the judge and jury. The remaining chapters are organized under the following topics: Procedural Framework of Trial Relevancy Witnesses Real and Demonstrative Evidence Writings Hearsay Privileges Substitutes for Evidence This treatise extensively discusses and cites the Federal Rules of Evidence. Cases, statutes, other rules, and secondary sources are also cited, providing a comprehensive framework for understanding evidence law. The fifth edition discusses recent amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence and new Supreme Court cases since the previous edition in 2013.
In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.
Offering a concise overview of transfusion medicine, including best practices for specific clinical settings, this practical resource by Dr. Robert W. Maitta covers the key information you need to know. Holistic, multidisciplinary coverage and a succinct, easy-to-read format make it essential reading for transfusion specialists, as well as practitioners in other specialties whose patients undergo blood transfusions. Covers the latest advancements in transfusion therapies, hematopoietic stem cells, infectious and non-infectious complications of transfusions, and future directions in transfusion medicine. Discusses special populations, including organ transplant patients; pediatric, obstetric, and geriatric patients; and patients undergoing emergency care. Consolidates fundamental clinical concepts and current practice of transfusion medicine into one convenient resource.
Drawing on real-life cases as well as research data, Family Murder: Pathologies of Love and Hate distills the current psychiatric knowledge of different forms of murder within the family. Although crimes of this sort have made headlines for decades-and although violence and homicide within the family are public health issues-little guidance exists in the research literature for mental health professionals who treat these families or for the child protection workers and lawyers who interact with them. This book offers a unique framework for examining the various types of family murder-delving into the commonalities, the differences, and society’s misconceptions and providing readers with a comprehensive guide to begin to understand these tragedies. Ten forensic psychiatrists, who among them have interviewed hundreds of perpetrators and thousands of individuals affected by family violence, examine crimes such as intimate partner homicide, feticide, child murder by parents, siblicide, and intimate partner homicide in elderly populations.
Characterized by clarity and straddling the line between scope and depth of information, this concise book provides physicians a comprehensive overview of pain medicine. Chapters are written by some of the leading minds in pain medicine and feature case studies, key points and suggested readings. Multidisciplinary approaches to the clinical and financial challenges of pain with the goal of improving patient quality of life are also discussed. Additionally, the book is in is in tight alignment with the information that trainees are expected to master for the American Board of Anesthesiology's pain medicine subspecialty certification, as outlined by the Joint Council on Anesthesiology Examinations; it covers the diagnosis of pain states, the management of pain, acute pain, radicular pain, neuropathic pain, chronic visceral pain, headaches, and special populations. This book is a must-have for anyone new to pain medicine or studying for the subspecialty certification.
This book is a practical guide on how best to incorporate advanced radiation therapy techniques into the multimodality treatment of a wide range of gastrointestinal tumors, including esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, hepatobiliary malignancies (primary and metastatic liver tumors, intrahepatic, perihilar, and extrahepatic cholangiocarcinomas, and gallbladder cancer), pancreatic cancer, colorectal cancer, and carcinoma of the anal canal. Practical considerations when treating patients with external beam radiation therapy, intensity-modulated radiation therapy, particle therapy, and stereotactic body radiation therapy are clearly explained. Detailed attention is devoted to the safety and efficacy of radiotherapy in combination with current and emerging systemic therapies (chemotherapy, immunotherapy, and biologic agents), surgery, and ablative therapy, and the advantages and disadvantages of alternative treatment approaches for different tumor types are carefully evaluated. The book will benefit radiation oncologists, medical and surgical oncologists, medical physicists, medical dosimetrists, and other oncology professionals.
The book contains the refereed contributions from the 45th Annual Meeting of the International Society on Oxygen Transport to Tissue (ISOTT) 2017. This volume covers cross-disciplinary work on a broad range of topics related to the dynamics of oxygen transport: microcirculation and vascular medicine; O2 deficiency and its impact on molecular processes in cells and tissues; cellular metabolism and mitochondrial function; multimodal functional imaging; mathematical modeling; the clinical relevance of oxygen supply as well as therapeutic interventions (e.g. in oncology or critical care medicine). The annual meetings of ISOTT bring together scientists from diverse fields (medicine, physiology, mathematics, biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, etc.) in a unique international forum. The book includes sections on brain oxygenation and function, NIRS oxygenation measurements, tumor oxygenation, cell metabolism, tissue oxygenation and treatment, methodical aspects of O2 measurements and physicochemical aspects of oxygen diffusion.
This pocket handbook provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of esophageal disorders. The text covers every prominent esophageal disorder and syndrome, with an emphasis on pathophysiology, diagnosis, treatment/management strategies, and complications for each disorder or syndrome. Major aspects of the field covered include dysphagia, esophageal motility disorders, esophageal malignancy, GERD, and eosinophilic esophagitis. The handbook is also presented in an easy to read format for quick reference and ease of use. Written by experts in the field, Pocket Handbook of Esophageal Disorders is a valuable resource for clinicians and trainees who treat patients with esophageal disorders.
Thyroid Ultrasonography and Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy: A Practical Guide and Picture Atlas is a concise and visual reference for diagnostic ultrasonography and needle biopsy of the human thyroid gland. The book provides the reader essential information on how to 1) distinguish between normal and abnormal thyroid sonograms, 2) differentiate low suspicion for malignancy thyroid nodules from sonographically high suspicion nodules, 3) evaluate cervical lymph nodes and parathyroid glands, and 4) examine post-thyroidectomy patients with differentiated thyroid cancer. The reader is also introduced to the different thyroid nodule risk stratification systems in ultrasound imaging, when and how to perform thyroid fine needle aspiration biopsies, and the use of percutaneous ethanol injections for cystic thyroid nodules.
A lot of women remember having had tomboy girlhoods. Some recall it as a time of gender-bending freedom and rowdy pleasures. Others feel the word is used to limit girls by suggesting such behavior is atypical. In American Tomboys, Renée M. Sentilles explores how the concept of the tomboy developed in the turbulent years after the Civil War, and she argues that the tomboy grew into an accepted and even vital transitional figure. In this period, cultural critics, writers, and educators came to imagine that white middle-class tomboys could transform themselves into the vigorous mothers of America's burgeoning empire. In addition to the familiar heroines of literature, Sentilles delves into a wealth of newly uncovered primary sources that manifest tomboys' lived experience, and she asks critical questions about gender, family, race, and nation. Beautifully written and exhaustively researched, American Tomboys explores the cultural history of girls who, for a time, whistled, got into scrapes, and struggled against convention.
This volume proposes a journey through the literature of the Cuban Revolution from its beginnings to the most recent years. Specifically, the chapters included here establish a provocative dialogue between literature and Cuban political and cultural powers. The nexus between these elements is essential to understand the complexity of such a peculiar cultural field, where the history of contemporary literature must be unavoidably read in light of historical and political determinants. Born out of a joint effort, this book brings together academics from different countries and institutions that address from a plurality of perspectives one of the essential topics of contemporary Latin American literature: the fascinating relationship between writing and power.
At the dawn of the twenty-first century, villages in the Fang region of northern Gabon must grapple with the clash of tradition and the evolution of customs throughout modern Africa. With this tension in the background, the passionate, deft, and creative seamstress Awu marries Obame, after he and his beloved wife, Bella, have been unable to conceive. Because all three are reluctant participants in this arrangement, theirs is an emotionally fraught existence. Through heartbreaking and disastrous events, Awu grapples with long-standing Fang customs that counter her desire to take full control of her life and home. Supplemented with a foreword and critical introduction highlighting Justine Mintsa's importance in African literature, Awu's Story is an essential work of African women's writing and the only published work to meditate this deeply on some of the Fang's most cherished legends and oral history.
Timothy Beal provides a concise cultural history of Revelation and the apocalyptic imaginations it has fueled. Taking readers from the book's composition amid the Christian persecutions of first-century Rome to its enduring influence today in popular culture, media, and visual art, Beal explores the often wildly contradictory lives of this sometimes horrifying, sometimes inspiring biblical vision. He shows how such figures as Augustine and Hildegard of Bingen made Revelation central to their own mystical worldviews, and how, thanks to the vivid works of art it inspired, the book remained popular even as it was denounced by later church leaders such as Martin Luther. Attributed to a mysterious prophet identified only as John, Revelation speaks with a voice unlike any other in the Bible. Beal demonstrates how the book is a multimedia constellation of stories and images that mutate and evolve as they take hold in new contexts, and how Revelation is reinvented in the hearts and minds of each new generation. This succinct book traces how Revelation continues to inspire new diagrams of history, new fantasies of rapture, and new nightmares of being left behind.
The latest title in the Cognitive Science and Second Language Acquisition series presents a comprehensive review of connectionist research in second language acquisition (SLA). Second language researchers and the cognitive science community will find accessible discussions of the relevance of connectionist research to SLA. This important volume is key reading for any student or researcher interested in how second language acquisition can be better understood from a connectionist perspective.
Why do some surprises delight--the endings of Agatha Christie novels, films like The Sixth Sense, the flash awareness that Pip's benefactor is not (and never was!) Miss Havisham? Writing at the intersection of cognitive science and narrative pleasure, Vera Tobin explains how our brains conspire with stories to produce those revelatory plots that define a "well-made surprise." By tracing the prevalence of surprise endings in both literary fiction and popular literature and showing how they exploit our mental limits, Tobin upends two common beliefs. The first is cognitive science's tendency to consider biases a form of moral weakness and failure. The second is certain critics' presumption that surprise endings are mere shallow gimmicks. The latter is simply not true, and the former tells at best half the story. Tobin shows that building a good plot twist is a complex art that reflects a sophisticated understanding of the human mind. Reading classic, popular, and obscure literature alongside the latest research in cognitive science, Tobin argues that a good surprise works by taking advantage of our mental limits. Elements of Surprise describes how cognitive biases, mental shortcuts, and quirks of memory conspire with stories to produce wondrous illusions, and also provides a sophisticated how-to guide for writers. In Tobin's hands, the interactions of plot and cognition reveal the interdependencies of surprise, sympathy, and sense-making. The result is a new appreciation of the pleasures of being had.
Geometry and Martingales in Banach Spaces provides a compact exposition of the results explaining the interrelations existing between the metric geometry of Banach spaces and the theory of martingales, and general random vectors with values in those Banach spaces. Geometric concepts such as dentability, uniform smoothness, uniform convexity, Beck convexity, etc. turn out to characterize asymptotic behavior of martingales with values in Banach spaces.
As the last decade has shown, ideological polarization in Congress has reached historic levels. Yet, spatial theory has become increasingly important for how scholars understand Congress and legislative elections. In spatial models, candidates select positions along an ideological spectrum,and voters choose candidates based on those locations. However, the central tendency of these models is for the candidates to converge to the location of the median voter, so polarization has become increasingly problematic for spatial theory, even as scholars have come to rely increasingly on thesemodels. In Incremental Polarization, Justin Buchler provides a unified spatial model of legislative elections, parties, and roll call voting to explain the development of polarization in Congress. His model moves beyond elections and factors in legislators' roll call voting, where a different butrelated spatial process operates. By linking these models, Incremental Polarization fills a critical gap in our understanding of the strategic, electoral, and procedural roots of polarization - and the role that parties play in the process.
Linear Algebra offers a unified treatment of both matrix-oriented and theoretical approaches to the course, which will be useful for classes with a mix of mathematics, physics, engineering, and computer science students. Major topics include singular value decomposition, the spectral theorem, linear systems of equations, vector spaces, linear maps, matrices, eigenvalues and eigenvectors, linear independence, bases, coordinates, dimension, matrix factorizations, inner products, norms, and determinants.
Few realize that long before the political activism of the 1960s, there existed a broad social movement in the United States spearheaded by a generation of Mexican immigrants inspired by the revolution in their homeland. Many revolutionaries eschewed U.S. citizenship and have thus far been lost to history, though they have much to teach us about the increasingly international world of today. John H. Flores follows this revolutionary generation of Mexican immigrants and the transnational movements they created in the United States. Through a careful, detailed study of Chicagoland, the area in and around Chicago, Flores examines how competing immigrant organizations raised funds, joined labor unions and churches, engaged the Spanish-language media, and appealed in their own ways to the dignity and unity of other Mexicans. Painting portraits of liberals and radicals, who drew support from the Mexican government, and conservatives, who found a homegrown American ally in the Roman Catholic Church, Flores recovers a complex and little known political world shaped by events south of the U.S border.
The extraordinary array of images included in this volume reveals the full and rich history of the Middle Ages. Exploring material objects from the European, Byzantine and Islamic worlds, the book casts a new light on the cultures that formed them, each culture illuminated by its treasures. The objects are divided among four topics: The Holy and the Faithful; The Sinful and the Spectral; Daily Life and Its Fictions, and Death and Its Aftermath. Each section is organized chronologically, and every object is accompanied by a penetrating essay that focuses on its visual and cultural significance within the wider context in which the object was made and used. Spot maps add yet another way to visualize and consider the significance of the objects and the history that they reveal. Lavishly illustrated, this is an appealing and original guide to the cultural history of the Middle Ages.
Offering the broadest review of psychological perspectives on human expertise to date, this volume covers behavioral, computational, neural, and genetic approaches to understanding complex skill. The chapters show how performance in music, the arts, sports, games, medicine, and other domains reflects basic traits such as personality and intelligence, as well as knowledge and skills acquired through training. In doing so, this book moves the field of expertise beyond the duality of "nature vs. nurture" toward an integrative understanding of complex skill. This book is an invaluable resource for researchers and students interested in expertise, and for professionals seeking current reviews of psychological research on expertise.
Poor and illiterate, Bhima had faithfully worked for the Dubash family, an upper-middle-class Parsi household, for more than twenty years. Yet after courageously speaking the truth about a heinous crime perpetrated against her own family, the devoted servant was cruelly fired. The sting of that dismissal was made more painful coming from Sera Dubash, the temperamental employer who had long been Bhima's only confidante. A woman who has endured despair and loss with stoicism, Bhima must now find some other way to support herself and her granddaughter, Maya. Bhima's fortunes take an unexpected turn when her path intersects with Parvati, a bitter, taciturn older woman. The two acquaintances soon form a tentative business partnership, selling fruits and vegetables at the local market. As they work together, these two women seemingly bound by fate grow closer, each confessing the truth about their lives and the wounds that haunt them. Discovering her first true friend, Bhima pieces together a new life, and together, the two women learn to stand on their own. A dazzling story of gender, strength, friendship, and second chances, The Secrets Between Us is a powerful and perceptive novel that brilliantly evokes the complexities of life in modern India and the harsh realities faced by women born without privilege as they struggle to survive.
As the field of psychotherapy focuses more on treatment manuals and the regimented nature of clinical research, the practice risks losing the subtle nuances that guide the interactive fluidity of therapy sessions. Can clinicians combat this loss by incorporating ideals from ancient philosophy into contemporary psychotherapy? In The Socratic Method of Psychotherapy, James Overholser approaches cognitive therapy through the interactive dialogues of Socrates, aiming to reduce the gap between theory and practice. Clinicians and students will appreciate the flexibility and creativity that underlie effective psychotherapy sessions when guided by the Socratic method as an innovative approach to self-exploration.
English comedy from the fifteenth to the early seventeenth century abounds in song lyrics, but most of the original tunes were thought to have been lost--until now. By deducing that playwrights borrowed melodies from songs they already knew, Ross W. Duffin has used the existing English repertory of songs, both popular and composed, to reconstruct hundreds of songs from more than a hundred plays and other stage entertainments. Thanks to Duffin's incredible breakthrough, these plays have been rendered performable with period music for the first time in five hundred years. Some Other Note not only brings these songs back from the dead, but tells a thrilling tale of the investigations that unraveled these centuries-old mysteries.
For many American Muslims, the 9/11 attacks and subsequent War on Terror marked a rise in intense scrutiny of their religious lives and political loyalties. In Suburban Islam, Justine Howe explores the rise of "third spaces," social surroundings that are neither home nor work, created byeducated, middle-class American Muslims in the wake of increased marginalization. Third spaces provide them the context to challenge their exclusion from the American mainstream and to enact visions for American Islam different from those they encounter in their local mosques. Suburban Islam captures the fragile optimism of educated, cosmopolitan American Muslims during the Obama presidency, as they imagined a post-racial, pluralistic, and culturally resonant American Islam. Even as this vision aims to be more inclusive, it also reflects enduring inequalities of race, class, and gender.
Scott Dill's A Theology of Sense: John Updike, Embodiment, and Late Twentieth-Century American Literature brings together theology, aesthetics, and the body, arguing that Updike, a central figure in post-1945 American literature, deeply embeds in his work questions of the body and the senses with questions of theology. Dill offers new understandings not only of the work of Updike--which is importantly being revisited since the author's death in 2009--but also new understandings of the relationship between aesthetics, religion, and physical experience. Dill explores Updike's unique literary legacy in order to argue for a genuinely postsecular theory of aesthetic experience. Each chapter takes up one of the five senses and its relation to broader theoretical concerns: affect, subjectivity, ontology, ethics, and theology. While placing Updike's work in relation to other late twentieth-century American writers, Dill explains their notions of embodiment and uses them to render a new account of postsecular aesthetics. No other novelist has portrayed mere sense experience as carefully, as extensively, or as theologically--repeatedly turning to the doctrine of creation as his stylistic justification. Across this examination of his many stories, novels, poems, and essays, Dill proves that Updike forces us to reconsider the power of literature to revitalize sense experience as a theological question.
From home mortgages to i-phones, basic elements of our daily lives depend on international economic markets. The astonishing complexity of these exchanges may seem ungoverned. Yet the global economy remains deeply bound by rules. Far from the staid world of treaties and state-to-state diplomacy, economic governance increasingly relies on a different class of international market regulation - soft law - comprised of voluntary standards, best practices, and recommendedguidance created by a motley assortment of international organizations. Voluntary Disruptions argues that international soft law is deeply political, shaping the winners and losers of globalization. Some observers focus on soft law's potential to solve problems and coordinate market participants. Voluntary Disruptions widens the discussion, shifting attention to theways soft law provides new political resources to some groups while not to others and alters the sites of contestation and the actors who participate in them. Highlighting two mechanisms - legitimacy claims and arena expansion - the book explains how soft law, typically viewed as limited by itsvoluntary nature, disrupts and transforms the politics of economic governance. Using financial regulation as its laboratory, Voluntary Disruptions explains the remarkable pre-crisis alignment of US and European approaches to governing markets, the rise and prominence of transnational industry associations in the 1990s and 2000s, and the ambivalence of US reforms towards international market cooperation in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis. Rethinking scholarly and policy approaches to international soft law, this volume answers enduring and pressing questions about global finance, International Relations, and power.
A process begun in Pisa, Italy in April of 2016 during a workshop on political theory in the Anthropocene, The Wind ~ An Unruly Living is a philosophical exercise (askêsis, translated, following Ignatius of Loyola, as “spiritual exercise”). In his exercise, Bendik-Keymer throws to the void: the ideology of self-ownership from a society of possession. By using the Stoic kanôn, the rule of living by phûsis, he follows an element. Unhappily for the Stoic and happily for us, the wind is unruly. A swerve of currents through a social fabric, it’s full of holes, all holely. Stretch and stitch as you want, it might settle more shapely tattered into light, but it will never become whole. The wind’s only holesome.
Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences: 2018 Books
The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression presents the current state of knowledge related to the study of violent behaviors and aggression. An important extension of the first Handbook published ten years ago, the second edition maintains a distinctly cross-disciplinary focus by representing the newest scholarship and insights from behavior genetics, cross-cultural comparative psychology/criminology, evolutionary psychology, criminal justice, criminology, human development, molecular genetics, neurosciences, psychology, prevention and intervention sciences, psychiatry, psychopharmacology, public health, and sociology. The Handbook is divided into introductory and overview chapters on the study of violent behavior and aggression, followed by chapters on biosocial bases, individual and interpersonal factors, contextual factors, and prevention and intervention work and policy implications. It is an essential resource for researchers, scholars, and graduate students across social and behavioral science disciplines interested in the etiology, intervention, and prevention of violent behavior and aggression.
This series focuses on the synthesis of knowledge about evidence-based practices and service delivery initiatives whose effectiveness has been demonstrated by the strength of empirical evidence (i.e., extensiveness and quality of research) in various fields relevant to social work practice such as aging, child welfare, mental health, or substance abuse. The primary audience for books in this Series are social work faculty and students and social work professionals. The Series will also appeal to faculty, students, and professionals in the fields of nursing, psychology, psychiatry, and public health.
In Beyond Silicon Valley: How One Online Course Helped Support Global Entrepreneurs, Professor Michael Goldberg takes readers on a global entrepreneurial adventure. He tells the stories of students who took his groundbreaking and hugely popular Beyond Silicon Valley massive open online course (MOOC), the most translated in Coursera history. To date, over 135,000 people have registered for Beyond Silicon Valley, and in this book, readers will meet nearly 20 students who started and grew their businesses, mentored other entrepreneurs, became innovation consultants, grew their entrepreneurial advocacy organizations, and more. These entrepreneurs live and work in transitioning economies throughout Europe, the Middle East, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Goldberg also poignantly connects these startup struggles and successes to his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio, a region that is making a transition of its own. Join Goldberg as he inspires--and finds inspiration from--innovators and entrepreneurial supporters everywhere.
It's become an article of faith that American entrepreneurship is in trouble. The problems are many: lack of capital, too few entrepreneurial immigrants, excessive regulation, an aging population, slowing population growth, and rising student debt. But while experts across the country debate the causes and propose solutions, Scott Shane explains that the data just do not fit. Dismantling each of the most widely accepted theories in turn, he persuasively demonstrates that--while an evolving market is changing the nature of most startups--entrepreneurship is actually alive and well. Shane reveals how the number of incorporated startups is rising, fewer startups are failing, and the number of businesses backed by investors is increasing. The overall picture is positive. Exhaustively researched and compellingly told, this book will be read and discussed for years to come.