This book constitutes the refereed joint proceedings of the Third International Workshop on Deep Learning in Medical Image Analysis, DLMIA 2017, and the 6th International Workshop on Multimodal Learning for Clinical Decision Support, ML-CDS 2017, held in conjunction with the 20th International Conference on Medical Imaging and Computer-Assisted Intervention, MICCAI 2017, in Québec City, QC, Canada, in September 2017. The 38 full papers presented at DLMIA 2017 and the 5 full papers presented at ML-CDS 2017 were carefully reviewed and selected. The DLMIA papers focus on the design and use of deep learning methods in medical imaging. The ML-CDS papers discuss new techniques of multimodal mining/retrieval and their use in clinical decision support.
This guide for engineers provides a comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of centrifugal pumps, addressing the range of pump operating problems encountered in both fossil and nuclear power plants. Employing effective research models developed through years of experience, the author draws on an extensive range of scholarship that covers the detrimental impact of power plant pump failures on overall plant performance, as well as the preventative measures that aid in successful pump maintenance. After covering the performance and components of centrifugal pumps, operating failure modes are covered both for fossil and nuclear power plants. This is followed by the presentation of several power plant pump troubleshooting case studies. The text also walks readers through the various other industrial applications of centrifugal pumps, as in their use within petrochemical plants and in ocean vessel propulsion systems. Recognizing the warning signs of specific impending pump failure modes is essential to minimizing the financial costs of dealing with pump operating problems. To this end, the author lays out a range of theoretical models and relevant examples in support of the essential work of power plant pump use and maintenance.
This book thoroughly covers the fundamentals of the QFT robust control, as well as practical control solutions, for unstable, time-delay, non-minimum phase or distributed parameter systems, plants with large model uncertainty, high-performance specifications, nonlinear components, multi-input multi-output characteristics or asymmetric topologies. The reader will discover practical applications through a collection of fifty successful, real world case studies and projects, in which the author has been involved during the last twenty-five years, including commercial wind turbines, wastewater treatment plants, power systems, satellites with flexible appendages, spacecraft, large radio telescopes, and industrial manufacturing systems. Furthermore, the book presents problems and projects with the popular QFT Control Toolbox (QFTCT) for MATLAB, which was developed by the author.
Rotating Machinery Research and Development Test Rigs presents the purpose and development processes for test apparatuses built for Research & Development in machinery technology and product development. Each R & D apparatus is the focus of an entire chapter, with fifteen detailed case studies included from mechanical, aerospace, chemical and biomedical engineering. Specific machinery components covered include bearings, seals, power plant pumps, rotors, turbines and compressors. Machinery condition monitoring and product development processes have been integrated. The specific purpose and results for each test rig are comprehensively presented and explained.
ROS is becoming the de facto means of robot programming, and is expected to be crucial for robotics development in self-driving cars, service robots, military robots, industrial robots, aerial drones, underwater robots, and smart buildings and cities. This text is for senior undergraduate and graduate students, as well as professionals learning or working in automation. The ROS style of programming offers many benefits to developers, including: access to a large library of ROS packages; open-source repositories; rapid prototyping of new robots, sensors and actuators; ability to develop code in realistic dynamic simulations; and ability to deploy systems that exploit distributed processing.
Call Number: U104 .F68 2017 (Kelvin Smith Library)
Publication Date: 2016-11-18
This revised and expanded second edition of The Code of the Warrior--a book George R. Lucas has described as "groundbreaking" and "now part of the Military Ethics canon"--takes the reader on a tour of warrior cultures and their values, from the ancient Greeks and Romans to the "barbaric" Vikings and Celts, from chivalric knights to Native American tribesmen, from Chinese warrior monks pursuing enlightenment to Japanese samurai practicing death. This new edition enhances these discussions with analyses of modern-day warriors and examines the ethical dimensions of emerging military technology such as drones, cyber warfare, and bio-enhanced troops. A new chapter also addresses the Islamic warrior code, both in its historic and modern implementations. Drawing these historical traditions up to the present, this book seeks a code for the warriors of today, as they do battle in asymmetric conflicts both remotely and face-to-face against the scourge of global terrorism. This book offers a comprehensive survey of historic and modern warrior cultures for students of military history, philosophy, and ethics.
Intellectual property law, or IP law, is based on certain assumptions about creative behavior. The case for regulation assumes that creators have a fundamental legal right to prevent copying, and without this right they will under-invest in new work. But this premise fails to fully capture the reality of creative production. It ignores the range of powerful non-economic motivations that compel creativity, and it overlooks the capacity of creative industries for self-governance and innovative social and market responses to appropriation. This book reveals the on-the-ground practices of a range of creators and innovators. In doing so, it challenges intellectual property orthodoxy by showing that incentives for creative production often exist in the absence of, or in disregard for, formal legal protections. Instead, these communities rely on evolving social norms and market responses-sensitive to their particular cultural, competitive, and technological circumstances-to ensure creative incentives. From tattoo artists to medical researchers, Nigerian filmmakers to roller derby players, the communities illustrated in this book demonstrate that creativity can thrive without legal incentives, and perhaps more strikingly, that some creative communities prefer, and thrive, in environments defined by self-regulation rather than legal rules. Beyond their value as descriptions of specific industries and communities, the accounts collected here help to ground debates over IP policy in the empirical realities of the creative process.
This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence, selected sections from: The Ohio Revised Code, The Federal Rules of Evidence, Provisions of the Foreign Evidence Act, The Ohio Rules of Civil, Criminal, and Juvenile Procedure. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980.
Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of the U.S. Constitution and Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution. The volume provides the laws on: Traffic offenses Controlled substances Domestic violence Procedure Evidence Traffic rules In addition to reviewing the elements of crimes, the text also includes a table of definitions, charts and checklists on sentences and fines, procedure outlines and timetable, and a detailed subject index.
Katz & Giannelli Criminal Law covers all aspects of criminal procedure, from initial appearance to postconviction remedies, with special emphasis on constitutional and evidentiary issues. The authors have integrated the Rules of Criminal Procedure with revised code provisions, common-law precedent, and recent caselaw from Ohio, other states, and the federal system. Expert commentary is enhanced with convenient cross-references to all major related treatises.
This comprehensive and practical book focuses on the core concepts of Intellectual Property. Its innovative pedagogy engages students with problems drawn from actual cases and provides them with introductions to cases and contextual summaries in the notes.
From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."
From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."
From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."
Tax Aspects of Marital Dissolution provides the tools you need to conduct tax-wise negotiations on behalf of your divorce clients. It provides guidance in drafting marital settlement agreements that take tax ramifications into account, and covers the latest alimony recomputation rules and maximum tax rates.
The average size of human bodies all over the world has been steadily rising over recent decades. The total count of people clinically labeled "obese" is now at least three times what it was in 1980. Fat Planet represents a collaborative effort to consider at a global scale what fat stigma is and what it does to people. Making use of an array of social science perspectives applied in multiple settings, the authors examine the interplay of weight, wealth, history, culture, and meaning to fat and its social rejection. They explore the notion of symbolic body capital--the power of non-fat bodies to do what people need or want. In so doing, they illustrate the complex and quickly shifting dynamics in thinking about fat--often considered personal yet powerfully influenced by and influential upon the broader world in which we live.
This volume presents all aspects of delivery of oxygen to tissues and tumors in peer reviewed short articles. Both overview and the most recent, advanced techniques for oxygen measurement are presented. Articles and peer reviewers include those from leaders in their field. Topics such as molecular signaling in the organismal and tumor response to low levels of local oxygenation, hypoxia inducible factor (HIF) , cancer metabolism, individual human and animal response to oxygen changes monitored by optical/near infrared spectroscopy/ tomography to novel electron resonance spectroscopy and spectroscopic imaging, instrumentation, progress in blood substitute research, retinal physiology, cellular hypoxia, mitochondrial function, brain oxygenation and function, oxygen transport in sports, hypoxia in diseases and clinical care.
This book presents pulmonary outcomes of prematurity, from their emergence in infancy through to their consequences in adulthood. With an increasing number of preterm births and more infants surviving, there is now a larger population of adults with lung disease originating in infancy requiring specialized care. Looking at the whole group of preterm infants, not just those with bronchopulmonary dysplasia, this text covers a wide spectrum of pulmonary outcomes, including: pulmonary hypertension, wheezing, and alterations in sleep. The chapter authors focus on critically appraising what is and is not known about each outcome and suggest key questions that still need to be answered. Respiratory Outcomes in Preterm Infants: Sequelae from Infancy through Adulthood is an ideal reference for the multidisciplinary group that cares for these preterm infants and the adults they become, including: neonatologists, pediatric pulmonologists, pediatricians, adult pulmonologists, primary care physicians, nurses, and fellows.
Legal, regulatory, and ethical perspectives on balancing social benefit and human autonomy in research using human biospecimens. Advances in medicine often depend on the effective collection, storage, research use, and sharing of human biological specimens and associated data. But what about the sources of such specimens? When a blood specimen is drawn from a vein in your arm, is that specimen still you? Is it your property, intellectual or otherwise? Should you be allowed not only to consent to its use in research but also to specify under what circumstances it may be used? These and other questions are at the center of a vigorous debate over the use of human biospecimens in research. In this book, experts offer legal, regulatory, and ethical perspectives on balancing social benefit and human autonomy in biospecimen research. After discussing the background to current debates as well as several influential cases, including that of Henrietta Lacks, the contributors consider the rights, obligations, risks, and privacy of the specimen source; different types of informed consent under consideration (broad, blanket, and specific); implications for special patient and researcher communities; and the governance of biospecimen repositories and the responsibilities of investigators.
The quest to build a quantum computer is arguably one of the major scientific and technological challenges of the twenty-first century, and quantum information theory (QIT) provides the mathematical framework for that quest. Over the last dozen or so years, it has become clear that quantum information theory is closely linked to geometric functional analysis (Banach space theory, operator spaces, high-dimensional probability), a field also known as asymptotic geometric analysis (AGA). In a nutshell, asymptotic geometric analysis investigates quantitative properties of convex sets, or other geometric structures, and their approximate symmetries as the dimension becomes large. This makes it especially relevant to quantum theory, where systems consisting of just a few particles naturally lead to models whose dimension is in the thousands, or even in the billions. Alice and Bob Meet Banach is aimed at multiple audiences connected through their interest in the interface of QIT and AGA: at quantum information researchers who want to learn AGA or apply its tools; at mathematicians interested in learning QIT, or at least the part of QIT that is relevant to functional analysis/convex geometry/random matrix theory and related areas; and at beginning researchers in either field. Moreover, this user-friendly book contains numerous tables and explicit estimates, with reasonable constants when possible, which make it a useful reference even for established mathematicians generally familiar with the subject.
Anne Frank was a young Jewish girl forced into hiding with her family by the Nazi regime that occupied the Netherlands in the Second World War. No one would have known of her, her family or their fate had it not been for the survival of the diary that she kept during this time, a book that has long been an inspiration to the poet and writer Marjorie Agosín. In her quest to introduce more young people to this tragic tale of the irrepressible Anne, the author provides a lyrical and engaging imagining of Anne's world. Through Anne's eyes, the reader is taken on the family's journey: their flight from Hitler's Germany, the excitement of a new start in Amsterdam and their eventual confinement in a small set of hidden rooms where they lived in fear of discovery, transportation and likely death.
This book opens new dimensions on race in Latin America by examining the extreme caste groups of colonial Mexico. In tracing their experiences, a broader understanding of the connection between mestizaje (Latin America's modern ideology of racial mixture) and the colonial caste system is rendered. Before mestizaje emerged as a primary concept in Latin America, an earlier precursor existed that must be taken seriously. This colonial form of racial hybridity, encased in an elastic caste system, allowed some people to live through multiple racial lives.Hence, the great fusion of races that swept Latin America and defined its modernity, carries an important corollary.Mestizaje, when viewed at its roots, is not just about mixture, but also about dissecting and reconnecting lives. Such experiences may have carved a special ability for some Latin American populations to reach across racial groups to relate with and understand multiple racial perspectives.This overlooked, deep history of mestizaje is a legacy that can be built upon in modern times.
Scholars have long described modernism as "heretical" or "iconoclastic" in its assaults on secular traditions of form, genre, and decorum. Yet critics have paid surprisingly little attention to the related category of blasphemy - the rhetoric of religious offense - and to the specific waysthis rhetoric operates in, and as, literary modernism. United by a shared commitment to "the word made flesh," writers such as James Joyce, Mina Loy, Richard Bruce Nugent, and Djuna Barnes made blasphemy a key component of their modernist practice, profaning the very scriptures and sacraments thatfueled their art. In doing so they belied T. S. Eliot's verdict that the forces of secularization had rendered blasphemy obsolete in an increasingly godless century ("a world in which blasphemy is impossible"); their poems and fictions reveal how forcefully religion endured as a cultural force afterthe Death of God. More, their transgressions spotlight a politics of religion that has seldom engaged the attention of modernist studies. Blasphemy respects no division of church and state, and neither do the writers who wield it to profane all manner of coercive dogmas - including ecclesiastical aswell as more worldly ideologies of race, class, nation, empire, gender, and sexuality. The late-century example of Salman Rushdie's The Satanic Verses affords, finally, a demonstration of how modernism persists in postwar anglophone literature and of the critical role blasphemy plays in thatpersistence. Blasphemous Modernism thus resonates with the broader cultural and ideological concerns that in recent years have enriched the scope of modernist scholarship.
In the aftermath of his father's untimely death and his family's indecision over what to do with the remains, Thomas Mira y Lopez became obsessed with the type and variety of places where we lay the dead to rest. The result is a singular collection of essays that weaves together history, mythology, journalism, and personal narrative into the author's search for a place to process grief. Mira y Lopez explores unusual hallowed grounds--from the world's largest cryonics institute in southern Arizona to a set of Roman catacombs being digested by modern bacteria, to his family's burial plots in the mountains outside Rio de Janeiro to a nineteenth-century desert cemetery that was relocated for the building of a modern courthouse. The Book of Resting Places examines these overlooked spaces and what they tell us about ourselves and the passing of those we love--how we grieve them, and how we attempt to forget them.
This book provides a unique perspective on addressing issues of various forms of violence against children from scholars within their own country. Bringing together cross-disciplinary expertise, this volume addresses a vast range of topics related to child abuse and neglect in Uganda. Exploring areas from the protection of street children to cultural proverbs related to child maltreatment, this volume examines issues both specific to the Ugandan contexts as well as broadly experienced in child maltreatment work in non-Euro-American countries. This book surveys the breadth of the child protection field, covering issues of children's universal rights, challenges of protection and ethical quandaries in researching and addressing maltreatment.
China's patrilineal and patriarchal tradition has encouraged a long-standing preference for male heirs within families. Coupled with China's birth-planning policy, this has led to a severe gender imbalance. But a counterpattern is emerging in rural China where a noticeable proportion of young couples have willingly accepted having a single daughter. They are doing so even as birth-planning policies are being relaxed and having a second child, and the opportunity of having a son, is a new possibility. Choosing Daughters explores this critical, yet largely overlooked, reproductive pattern emerging in China's demographic landscape. Lihong Shi delves into the social, economic, and cultural forces behind the complex decision-making process of these couples to unravel their life goals and childrearing aspirations, the changing family dynamics and gender relations, and the intimate parent?daughter ties that have engendered this drastic transformation of reproductive choice. She reveals a leading-edge social force that fosters China's recent fertility decline, namely pursuit of a modern family and successful childrearing achieved through having a small family. Through this discussion, Shi refutes the conventional understanding of a universal preference for sons and discrimination against daughters in China and counters claims of continuing resistance against China's population control program.
In 1985, the Sohio oil company commissioned Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen to design and construct a large outdoor sculpture for its new corporate headquarters in Cleveland, Ohio. The result was Free Stamp, a bold and distinctive installation that captured both a Pop Art sensibility and a connection to the city's industrial past. Sohio executives approved the design, and work was already underway, when British Petroleum acquired the company. The new owners quickly decided that the sculpture was "inappropriate" for their building and attempted to rid themselves of Free Stamp by donating it to the city of Cleveland--a gift that the city initially had no desire to accept. After much debate and public protest, the sculpture found a home in Willard Park, where it stands today. This is the first study of any sculpture by Oldenburg and van Bruggen to examine the genesis of their art from conception to installation. Edward J. Olszewski has put together a fascinating narrative based on interviews with the artists, archival material from city records, and in-house corporate memoranda, as well as letters to the editor and political cartoons. He traces the development of the sculpture from the artists' first sketches and models to the installation of the completed work in its urban environment.
This book consists of 72 short lively essays covering topics as diverse as mustard and the Yellow Cab Company. Each essay touches on issues that have helped define the community and is accompanied by an historical image and a contemporary color photo. Importantly, A to Z, is much more than a book. It is a bridge to the “on line” history of our community. Dozens of QR codes accompanying the articles allow readers to access the ever growing body of local history available on historically vetted websites. Whether it’s the odor of “Vinegar Hill” or the emerald necklace that comes with residence in our community, this new work will help build an understanding of why our city is what it is.
The work of Simone de Beauvoir has endured and flowered in the last two decades, thanks primarily to the lasting influence of The Second Sex on the rise of academic discussions of gender, sexuality, and old age. Now, in this new Companion dedicated to her life and writings, an international assembly of prominent scholars, essayists, and leading interpreters reflect upon the range of Beauvoir s contribution to philosophy as one of the great authors, thinkers, and public intellectuals of the twentieth century. The Companion examines Beauvoir s rich intellectual life from a variety of angles including literary, historical, and anthropological perspectives and situates her in relation to her forbears and contemporaries in the philosophical canon. Essays in each of four thematic sections reveal the breadth and acuity of her insight, from the significance of The Second Sex and her work on the metaphysics of gender to her plentiful contributions in ethics and political philosophy. Later chapters trace the relationship between Beauvoir s philosophical and literary work and open up her scholarship to global issues, questions of race, and the legacy of colonialism and sexism. The volume concludes by considering her impact on contemporary feminist thought writ large, and features pioneering work from a new generation of Beauvoir scholars. Ambitious and unprecedented in scope, A Companion to Simone de Beauvoir is an accessible and interdisciplinary resource for students, teachers, and researchers across the humanities and social sciences.
What is the lived experience of previously healthy older adults as they face disability in late life, and how is disability assimilated in their identity? How do prevailing practices facilitate-or limit-options for elders living with new disabilities? To address these questions, Jeffrey Kahana and Eva Kahana uniquely synthesize disability and gerontological perspectives to explore both the unfolding challenges of aging and the practices and policies that can enhance the lives of older adults.
During a terrible heat wave in 1991--the worst in a decade--ten-year-old Anton has been locked in an apartment in the projects, alone, for seven days, without air conditioning or a fan. With no electricity, the refrigerator and lights do not work. Hot, hungry, and desperate, Anton shatters a window and climbs out. Cutting his leg on the broken glass, he is covered in blood when the police find him. Juanita, his mother, is discovered in a crack house less than three blocks away, nearly unconscious and half-naked. When she comes to, she repeatedly asks for her baby boy. She never meant to leave Anton--she went out for a quick hit and was headed right back, until her drug dealer raped her and kept her high. Though the bond between mother and son is extremely strong, Anton is placed with child services while Juanita goes to jail. The Harvard-educated son of a US senator, Judge David Coleman is a scion of northeastern white privilege. Desperate to have a child in the house again after the tragic death of his teenage son, David uses his power and connections to keep his new foster son, Anton, with him and his wife, Delores--actions that will have devastating consequences in the years to come. Following in his adopted family's footsteps, Anton, too, rises within the establishment. But when he discovers the truth about his life, his birth mother, and his adopted parents, this man of the law must come to terms with the moral complexities of crimes committed by the people he loves most.
This book traces the history of formative, enduring concepts, foundational in the development of the health disciplines. It explores existing literature, and subsequent contested applications. Feminist legacies are discussed with a clear message that early sociological and anthropological theories and debates remain valuable to scholars today. Chapters cover historical events and cultural practices from the standpoint of 'difference'; formulate theories about the emergence of social issues and problems and discuss health and illness in light of cultural values and practices, social conditions, embodiment and emotions. This collection will be of great value to scholars of biomedicine, health and gender.
How can we rescue and nourish a sense of wonder? Especially if we live in chaotic and violent places like Beirut and New York City, which teach us to be skeptical? This is the problem that courses beneath the poems, prose, photos and art that William Marling composes in his seventh book. In work that ranges from Beirut, Middle America, and New York City to Eastern Europe, Paris, and painting, Marling is always alert to the fallibility of the senses, the small victories of innocence and wonder
Le code de l'indigénat : "une monstruosité juridique" ? Instrument d'embrigadement, ce régime de décrets, arrêtés, notes de services, etc. . . fut une arme imparable entre les mains des administrateurs coloniaux. Piètre méthode de brigandage, il servit de moyen de plumage des indigènes. Instrument de terreur, il servit à asseoir la toute puissance des gouverneurs et leur adjoints et après les indépendances, la toute puissance des tortionnaires que de Gaulle et Foccart placent à la tête des nouvelles nations francophones.
Within this book you will find the building blocks for human rights in our communities. To understand why sometimes we enjoy human rights and other times we experience vulnerability and risk, sociologists seek to understand the individual within her context. Bringing together prominent sociologists to grapple with these questions, Movements for Human Rights: Locally and Globally, offers insights into the ways that people move for (and against) human rights.
The centrality of fantasy to French literary culture has long been accepted by critics, but the sonorous dimensions of the mode and its wider implications for musical production have gone largely unexplored. In this book, Francesca Brittan invites us to listen to fantasy, attending both to literary descriptions of sound in otherworldly narratives, and to the wave of 'fantastique' musical works published in France through the middle decades of the nineteenth century, including Berlioz's 1830 Symphonie fantastique, and pieces by Liszt, Adam, Meyerbeer, and others. Following the musico-literary aesthetics of E. T. A. Hoffmann, they allowed waking and dreaming, reality and unreality to converge, yoking fairy sound to insect song, demonic noise to colonial 'babbling', and divine music to the strains of water and wind. Fantastic soundworlds disrupted France's native tradition of marvellous illusion, replacing it with a magical materialism inextricable from republican activism, theological heterodoxy, and the advent of 'radical' romanticism.
A committed Lutheran excommunicated from his own church, a friend to Catholics and Calvinists alike, a layman who called himself a "priest of God," a Copernican in a world where Ptolemy still reigned, a man who argued at the same time for the superiority of one truth and the need for many truths to coexist--German astronomer Johannes Kepler was, to say the least, a complicated figure. With The Pursuit of Harmony, Aviva Rothman offers a new view of him and his achievements, one that presents them as a story of Kepler's attempts to bring different, even opposing ideas and circumstances into harmony. Harmony, Rothman shows, was both the intellectual bedrock for and the primary goal of Kepler's disparate endeavors. But it was also an elusive goal amid the deteriorating conditions of his world, as the political order crumbled and religious war raged. In the face of that devastation, Kepler's hopes for his theories changed: whereas he had originally looked for a unifying approach to truth, he began instead to emphasize harmony as the peaceful coexistence of different views, one that could be fueled by the fundamentally nonpartisan discipline of mathematics.
New information technologies have, to an unprecedented degree, come to reshape human relations, identities and communities both online and offline. As Internet narratives including online fiction, poetry and films reflect and represent ambivalent politics in China, the Chinese state wishes to enable the formidable soft power of this new medium whilst at the same time handling the ideological uncertainties it inevitably entails. This book investigates the ways in which class, gender, ethnicity and ethics are reconfigured, complicated and enriched by the closely intertwined online and offline realities in China. It combs through a wide range of theories on Internet culture, intellectual history, and literary, film, and cultural studies, and explores a variety of online cultural materials, including digitized spoofing, microblog fictions, micro films, online fictions, web dramas, photographs, flash mobs, popular literature and films. These materials have played an important role in shaping the contemporary cultural scene, but have so far received little critical attention. Here, the authors demonstrate how Chinese Internet culture has provided a means to intervene in the otherwise monolithic narratives of identity and community. Offering an important contribution to the rapidly growing field of Internet studies, this book will also be of interest to students and scholars of Chinese culture, literary and film studies, media and communication studies, and Chinese society.
Laura Hengehold presents a new, Deleuzian reading of Simone de Beauvoir's phenomenology, the place of recognition in The Second Sex, the philosophical issues in her novels and the important role of her student diaries. Most studies of Simone de Beauvoir situate her with respect to Hegel and the tradition of 20th-century phenomenology begun by Husserl and Heidegger, and often stress the importance of Hegel's struggle for recognition. Hengehold, in comparison, reads de Beauvoir through a Deleuzian lens, and looks atde Beauvoir's early interest in Bergson and Leibniz. Hengehold clarifies the elements of Deleuze's thought - alone and in collaboration with Guattari - that may be most useful to contemporary feminists who are simultaneously rethinking the becoming of gender and the becoming of philosophy.
Imagine the kind of philosophy book you might have wished for when you were growing up. Seeking a reader who would live with her own questions and walk around town with her thoughts, this book would not have a single thesis but would work through multiple problems and be an experience, born out of life-experience. Solar Calendar contains a family portrait, a parody-essay, a time-capsule poem, an exploded essay, a poetic record of an act, and an aphorism journal for a year. They protest that philosophy is a daily practice of thoughtful relationships and turn the book into the texture of a person.
Despite the British being early abolitionists, a significant slave trade remained down the east coast of Africa through the mid-1800s, even after the Civil War ended it in the United States. What further undermined the British Empire was that many of the vessels involved in the trade were themselves British ships.The Royal Navy's response was to dispatch a squadron to patrol Africa's coast. Following what began as a simple policing action, this is the story of the four Royal Naval officers who witnessed how rampant the slave trade remained and made it their personal mission to end it. When the disruption in trade ships started to step on toes within the wealthy merchant class, the campaign was cancelled. However, in the end a coalition of naval officers and abolitionists forced the British government's hand into eradicating the slave trade entirely.Squadron grew from historian John Broich's passion to hunt down firsthand accounts of this untold story. Through research from archives throughout the U.K., Broich tells a tale of defiance in the face of political corruption, while delivering thrills in the tradition of high seas heroism. If it weren't a true story, Squadron would be right at home alongside Patrick O'Brian's Master and Commander series.