Updated to reflect current research and best practices, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Pocket Guide to Neonatal Nutrition, Second Edition is an indispensable tool for registered dietitian nutritionists and other health care professionals working with premature infants. The easy-to-use format presents practical information on topics including nutrition assessment, parenteral nutrition, enteral nutrition, medical/surgical conditions, discharge and follow-up, and conversion tables. Includes key updates to medical surgical conditions and growth charts, addresses parenteral nutrition shortages and new enteral products, and discusses safety issues with the use of thickeners.
Biomechanics of the Female Pelvic Floor, Second Edition, is the first book to specifically focus on this key part of women's health, combining engineering and clinical expertise. This edited collection will help readers understand the risk factors for pelvic floor dysfunction, the mechanisms of childbirth related injury, and how to design intrapartum preventative strategies, optimal repair techniques, and prostheses. The authors have combined their expertise to create a thorough, comprehensive view of female pelvic floor biomechanics in order to help different disciplines discuss, research, and drive solutions to pressing problems. The book includes a common language for the design, conduct, and reporting of research studies in female PFD, and will be of interest to biomechanical and prosthetic tissue engineers and clinicians interested in female pelvic floor dysfunction, including urologists, urogynecologists, maternal fetal medicine specialists, and physical therapists.
Offering a concise overview of transfusion medicine, including best practices for specific clinical settings, this practical resource by Dr. Robert W. Maitta covers the key information you need to know. Holistic, multidisciplinary coverage and a succinct, easy-to-read format make it essential reading for transfusion specialists, as well as practitioners in other specialties whose patients undergo blood transfusions. Covers the latest advancements in transfusion therapies, hematopoietic stem cells, infectious and non-infectious complications of transfusions, and future directions in transfusion medicine. Discusses special populations, including organ transplant patients; pediatric, obstetric, and geriatric patients; and patients undergoing emergency care. Consolidates fundamental clinical concepts and current practice of transfusion medicine into one convenient resource.
Drawing on real-life cases as well as research data, Family Murder: Pathologies of Love and Hate distills the current psychiatric knowledge of different forms of murder within the family. Although crimes of this sort have made headlines for decades-and although violence and homicide within the family are public health issues-little guidance exists in the research literature for mental health professionals who treat these families or for the child protection workers and lawyers who interact with them. This book offers a unique framework for examining the various types of family murder-delving into the commonalities, the differences, and society’s misconceptions and providing readers with a comprehensive guide to begin to understand these tragedies. Ten forensic psychiatrists, who among them have interviewed hundreds of perpetrators and thousands of individuals affected by family violence, examine crimes such as intimate partner homicide, feticide, child murder by parents, siblicide, and intimate partner homicide in elderly populations.
The average size of human bodies all over the world has been steadily rising over recent decades. The total count of people clinically labeled "obese" is now at least three times what it was in 1980. Fat Planet represents a collaborative effort to consider at a global scale what fat stigma is and what it does to people. Making use of an array of social science perspectives applied in multiple settings, the authors examine the interplay of weight, wealth, history, culture, and meaning to fat and its social rejection. They explore the notion of symbolic body capital--the power of non-fat bodies to do what people need or want. In so doing, they illustrate the complex and quickly shifting dynamics in thinking about fat--often considered personal yet powerfully influenced by and influential upon the broader world in which we live.
Learning how to behave and engage professionally can be one of the most challenging parts of embarking on a career in the medical field. But using the “power of stories” can teach, heal, and enlighten; encourage the development of empathy; and help healthcare providers “be with suffering” and appreciate who their patients are, not just what disease they have. The humanities offer knowledge and skills that may move students toward becoming better physicians. The incorporation of the humanities into the traditional medical education curriculum can truly make a difference. In this expansive anthology, Susan Stagno and Michael Blackie assemble an insightful group of contributors to discuss the ways in which medical professionals can powerfully engage with their students through a variety of literary texts. Examples as diverse as Charles Bukowski, Leo Tolstoy, William Carlos Williams, Sherwood Anderson, Mary Shelley, Stephen King, the comic strip Pearls Before Swine, and the sayings of Buddha will provide both teachers and students a rich cache of stories for discussion and inspiration.
Characterized by clarity and straddling the line between scope and depth of information, this concise book provides physicians a comprehensive overview of pain medicine. Chapters are written by some of the leading minds in pain medicine and feature case studies, key points and suggested readings. Multidisciplinary approaches to the clinical and financial challenges of pain with the goal of improving patient quality of life are also discussed. Additionally, the book is in is in tight alignment with the information that trainees are expected to master for the American Board of Anesthesiology's pain medicine subspecialty certification, as outlined by the Joint Council on Anesthesiology Examinations; it covers the diagnosis of pain states, the management of pain, acute pain, radicular pain, neuropathic pain, chronic visceral pain, headaches, and special populations. This book is a must-have for anyone new to pain medicine or studying for the subspecialty certification.
This book is a practical guide on how best to incorporate advanced radiation therapy techniques into the multimodality treatment of a wide range of gastrointestinal tumors, including esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, hepatobiliary malignancies (primary and metastatic liver tumors, intrahepatic, perihilar, and extrahepatic cholangiocarcinomas, and gallbladder cancer), pancreatic cancer, colorectal cancer, and carcinoma of the anal canal. Practical considerations when treating patients with external beam radiation therapy, intensity-modulated radiation therapy, particle therapy, and stereotactic body radiation therapy are clearly explained. Detailed attention is devoted to the safety and efficacy of radiotherapy in combination with current and emerging systemic therapies (chemotherapy, immunotherapy, and biologic agents), surgery, and ablative therapy, and the advantages and disadvantages of alternative treatment approaches for different tumor types are carefully evaluated. The book will benefit radiation oncologists, medical and surgical oncologists, medical physicists, medical dosimetrists, and other oncology professionals.
The Handbook of Clinical Sexuality for Mental Health Professionals (3rd Edition) builds on the authors' authoritative first person voice on sexual matters of the previous editions. The work reflects the field's growing sophistication about sexual disorders and their therapies. The scope has been expanded to keep pace with new literature and research in the field, and eight additional chapters have been added. New topics include the politics of diagnosis, persistent genital arousal, asexuality, post orgasm illness, scientific findings concerning origin of orientation, and partnering with the pharmaceutical industry. Written in a personal, supervisory style, the book will help new therapists anticipate clinical contingencies and help experienced therapists refine their thinking and teaching.
The book begins with a refresher of basic descriptive immunology and soon moves to concepts such as TRALI, transfusion reactions, alloimmunization, TRIM, complications to transplantation, HLA-incompatibility, responses in adults versus neonate/pediatric patients and more, even including state-of-the-art topics such as polyclonal/monoclonal therapies and CAR T. The authors encourage readers to see these chapters as their effort to increase levels of awareness of blood usage and use what is learned from what is described to continue to make transfusions safer.
Stay up to date with recent advances in the NICU with Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate, 6th Edition. This trusted neonatology reference thoroughly covers the new guidelines, equipment, drugs, and treatments that have greatly increased the chance of survival for high-risk infants. Expert contributors deliver the information you need to stay on top of the technological and medical advances in this challenging field. Benefit from the expert advice offered in concise, easy-to-read editorial comments throughout the book. Assess your knowledge with comprehensive question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. Understand the clinical relevance of what you've learned with case studies that highlight real-world application. Own the reference trusted for nearly 40 years by those who care for at-risk neonates in the dynamic and challenging NICU. Get fast access to need-to-know information on drugs used in the NICU, normal values, and much more in the fully updated appendices. Keep your knowledge up to date with expanded coverage of evidence-based medicine and the role of networks in generating evidence. Stay current with all aspects of neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care.
Measures for Community and Neighborhood Research is the first book of its kind to compile measures focused on communities and neighborhoods in one accessible resource. Organized into two main sections, the first provides the rationale, structure and purpose, and analysis of methodological issues, along with a conceptual and theoretical framework; the second section contains 10 chapters that synthesize, analyze, and describe measures for community and neighborhood research, with tables that summarize highlighted measures. The book will get readers thinking about which aspects of the neighborhood may be most important to measure in different research designs and also help researchers, practitioners, funders, and others more closely examine the impact of their work in communities and neighborhoods.
This essential volume explores mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) and their potential to suppress immune-mediated inflammation. The chapters examine applications in autoimmune diseases such as lupus, rheumatoid arthritis and multiple sclerosis; blood cancers such as leukemia and lymphoma; and reproductive complications, specifically pre-term labor and use of MSCs in vitro and in animal models to discover methods of suppressing the causal inflammatory response. It also further defines the methodologies required to develop research on MSCs in vitro into established preclinical animal models including those which are proven replicas of autoimmunity and pre-term labor, to name but two. Mesenchymal Stem Cells and Immunomodulation, part of Springer's Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, is an invaluable resource for researchers and clinicians working with stem cells, autoimmune disease, oncology, and reproductive medicine.
Neonatology at a Glance provides a concise, illustrated overview of neonatal medicine. Written by leading international experts, it provides essential information on perinatal medicine, delivery, the normal newborn infant and neonatal problems encountered in neonatal intensive care units and their management. Each topic is supported by excellent illustrations, diagrams, and, for the first time, video clips to show neonatal resuscitation and stabilizing the sick newborn, normal examination, the baby with hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy, recognition of seizures and practical procedures. Neonatology at a Glance: Provides up to date coverage of the important conditions you will encounter; Covers challenging topics including pain, ethical issues, quality improvement, evidence based medicine and palliative care; Features new sections on fetal medicine, respiratory support, therapeutic hypothermia, amplified EEG and perinatal neuroimaging; Integrates invaluable details about practical procedures including neonatal resuscitation and transport; Supplemented by video materials and artwork which can be viewed via the companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/neonatology. Neonatology at a Glance is the perfect guide for all health professionals looking after newborn infants, including pediatric trainees, medical students, neonatal nurse practitioners and neonatal nurses, therapists and midwives. For neonatologists, pediatricians and nurse tutors it is a valuable resource to assist with teaching.
This book integrates all the critical elements around individual patient care into a coherent management strategy that is practical and applicable to daily clinical practice. Rather than compiling what have been published in the literature, this work emphasizes on identifying and highlighting the key points or findings that guide decision-making in clinical practice. It integrates the key points around a typical case scenario that not only represents the core of the diagnostic and therapeutic processes but also allows introduction and differentiation of painful conditions that bare similarities with the case in hand. The overarching goal is to improve clinical outcomes through better understanding of the mechanisms, more accurate diagnosis, and wiser and more comprehensive treatment strategies.
The book contains the refereed contributions from the 45th Annual Meeting of the International Society on Oxygen Transport to Tissue (ISOTT) 2017. This volume covers cross-disciplinary work on a broad range of topics related to the dynamics of oxygen transport: microcirculation and vascular medicine; O2 deficiency and its impact on molecular processes in cells and tissues; cellular metabolism and mitochondrial function; multimodal functional imaging; mathematical modeling; the clinical relevance of oxygen supply as well as therapeutic interventions (e.g. in oncology or critical care medicine). The annual meetings of ISOTT bring together scientists from diverse fields (medicine, physiology, mathematics, biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, etc.) in a unique international forum. The book includes sections on brain oxygenation and function, NIRS oxygenation measurements, tumor oxygenation, cell metabolism, tissue oxygenation and treatment, methodical aspects of O2 measurements and physicochemical aspects of oxygen diffusion.
Proceedings of the 23rd Annual Meeting of the International Society on Oxygen Transport to Tissue, held August 23-27, 1995, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Topics included assessment of dysoxia; myocardial hypoxia-ischemia; tissue oxygen distribution; tissue oxygenation in tumors; oxygen supply-demand; angiogenesis and microcirculation; oxygen carriers; anticoagulants and tissue oxygenation; near infrared spectroscopy; nitric oxide and free radicals; measurement of tissue oxygen.
Based on the 2009 proceedings of the 37th annual ISOTT conference, this volume covers all aspects of oxygen delivery to tissue, everything from near infrared spectroscopy, tumor biology, angiogenesis and mitochondrial metabolism to systems modeling, gas transport, hypoxic adaptation and exercise physiology. Special emphasis is placed on methods of oxygen measurement in living tissue and application of these technologies to understanding physiological and biological bases for pathology related to tissue oxygenation. This multidisciplinary volume includes contributions from scientists, engineers, clinicians and mathematicians and is aimed and students and experts from a range of research fields.
This volume presents all aspects of delivery of oxygen to tissues and tumors in peer reviewed short articles. Both overview and the most recent, advanced techniques for oxygen measurement are presented. Articles and peer reviewers include those from leaders in their field. Topics such as molecular signaling in the organismal and tumor response to low levels of local oxygenation, hypoxia inducible factor (HIF) , cancer metabolism, individual human and animal response to oxygen changes monitored by optical/near infrared spectroscopy/ tomography to novel electron resonance spectroscopy and spectroscopic imaging, instrumentation, progress in blood substitute research, retinal physiology, cellular hypoxia, mitochondrial function, brain oxygenation and function, oxygen transport in sports, hypoxia in diseases and clinical care.
This pocket handbook provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of esophageal disorders. The text covers every prominent esophageal disorder and syndrome, with an emphasis on pathophysiology, diagnosis, treatment/management strategies, and complications for each disorder or syndrome. Major aspects of the field covered include dysphagia, esophageal motility disorders, esophageal malignancy, GERD, and eosinophilic esophagitis. The handbook is also presented in an easy to read format for quick reference and ease of use. Written by experts in the field, Pocket Handbook of Esophageal Disorders is a valuable resource for clinicians and trainees who treat patients with esophageal disorders.
Medical students often struggle when presenting new patients to the attending physicians on the ward. Case presentation is either poorly taught or not taught at all in the first two years of medical school. As a result, students are thrust into the spotlight with only sketchy ideas about how to present, prioritize, edit, and focus their case presentations. They also struggle with producing a broad differential diagnosis and defending their leading diagnosis. This text provides a comprehensive guide to give well-prepared, focused and concise presentations. It also allows students to discuss differential diagnosis, incorporate high-value care, educate their colleagues, and participate actively in the care of their patients.
This book presents pulmonary outcomes of prematurity, from their emergence in infancy through to their consequences in adulthood. With an increasing number of preterm births and more infants surviving, there is now a larger population of adults with lung disease originating in infancy requiring specialized care. Looking at the whole group of preterm infants, not just those with bronchopulmonary dysplasia, this text covers a wide spectrum of pulmonary outcomes, including: pulmonary hypertension, wheezing, and alterations in sleep. The chapter authors focus on critically appraising what is and is not known about each outcome and suggest key questions that still need to be answered. Respiratory Outcomes in Preterm Infants: Sequelae from Infancy through Adulthood is an ideal reference for the multidisciplinary group that cares for these preterm infants and the adults they become, including: neonatologists, pediatric pulmonologists, pediatricians, adult pulmonologists, primary care physicians, nurses, and fellows.
Atherosclerosis and stroke are two leading causes of age-associated disability, dementia, and death. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Center for Health Statistics recently reported that Alzheimer's Disease has surpassed diabetes as a leading cause of death. Alzheimer is now the sixth-leading cause of death in the United States. This book discusses the roles of oxidative stress, mitochondria failure, and cellular hypoperfusion in the pathobiology of Alzheimer Disease.
Legal, regulatory, and ethical perspectives on balancing social benefit and human autonomy in research using human biospecimens. Advances in medicine often depend on the effective collection, storage, research use, and sharing of human biological specimens and associated data. But what about the sources of such specimens? When a blood specimen is drawn from a vein in your arm, is that specimen still you? Is it your property, intellectual or otherwise? Should you be allowed not only to consent to its use in research but also to specify under what circumstances it may be used? These and other questions are at the center of a vigorous debate over the use of human biospecimens in research. In this book, experts offer legal, regulatory, and ethical perspectives on balancing social benefit and human autonomy in biospecimen research. After discussing the background to current debates as well as several influential cases, including that of Henrietta Lacks, the contributors consider the rights, obligations, risks, and privacy of the specimen source; different types of informed consent under consideration (broad, blanket, and specific); implications for special patient and researcher communities; and the governance of biospecimen repositories and the responsibilities of investigators.
Thyroid Ultrasonography and Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy: A Practical Guide and Picture Atlas is a concise and visual reference for diagnostic ultrasonography and needle biopsy of the human thyroid gland. The book provides the reader essential information on how to 1) distinguish between normal and abnormal thyroid sonograms, 2) differentiate low suspicion for malignancy thyroid nodules from sonographically high suspicion nodules, 3) evaluate cervical lymph nodes and parathyroid glands, and 4) examine post-thyroidectomy patients with differentiated thyroid cancer. The reader is also introduced to the different thyroid nodule risk stratification systems in ultrasound imaging, when and how to perform thyroid fine needle aspiration biopsies, and the use of percutaneous ethanol injections for cystic thyroid nodules.
This up-to-date guide addresses all the subjects you would expect to find in an authoritative book on pregnancy plus issues of special concern to the 60 to 80 percent of women who hold jobs during their pregnancies: Is my workplace safe for my developing baby? When should I tell my employer that I am expecting? How can I handle the discomforts of pregnancy when I need to work? What laws will protect me when I take medical leave? The answers to these questions--and myriad others--can be found in the pages of this practical and reassuring book. Dr. Marjorie Greenfield draws from her experiences as an obstetrician and working mom, and from more than a hundred interviews with mothers ranging from factory workers to high-powered attorneys, to create a unique resource for working women. Dr. Greenfield includes checklists for multitasking working moms-to-be, helpful illustrations, stories and advice from experienced mothers, and information on everything from planning a pregnancy to balancing life after the baby is born. The Working Woman’s Pregnancy Book is an invaluable expert resource that will inform, reassure, and empower any working woman throughout the miraculous journey of her pregnancy.
This book provides medical students and physicians with a practical, step-by-step guide on how to write and publish a medical case report. The case report is the traditional way for physicians to describe their unique or unusual cases to a broad audience and it plays an important role in the discovery of new diseases or syndromes, unusual manifestations of disease, important adverse drug reactions, and the generation of hypotheses for further study. This book guides readers through the process from choosing a case to report on to finding a publisher and then comment on future directions and potential new uses of case reports, including expanded computer case databases to optimize care for individual patients and new applications in medical education. Interspersed throughout the text are example case reports, many written by the authors, with commentary on their experiences working with those reports to provide context and aid readers in creating clear, concise, and useful case reports.
This is the first book to provide a comprehensive overview of foundational results and recent progress in the study of random matrices from the classical compact groups, drawing on the subject's deep connections to geometry, analysis, algebra, physics, and statistics. The book sets a foundation with an introduction to the groups themselves and six different constructions of Haar measure. Classical and recent results are then presented in a digested, accessible form, including the following: results on the joint distributions of the entries; an extensive treatment of eigenvalue distributions, including the Weyl integration formula, moment formulae, and limit theorems and large deviations for the spectral measures; concentration of measure with applications both within random matrix theory and in high dimensional geometry; and results on characteristic polynomials with connections to the Riemann zeta function. This book will be a useful reference for researchers and an accessible introduction for students in related fields.
The Making, Breaking, and Renewal of a Surgeon-Scientist by Steven E. Wilson
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
An autobiographical narrative about how a middle-class youth endured personal turmoil and family crisis to achieve his lifelong goal of becoming a physician and rose to become one of the outstanding eye physician-scientists of his generation...only to be disheartened and disillusioned by the ongoing tainting of medicine by bureaucrats, bungling administrators, and federal prosecutors - including the tragic scapegoating of three physicians during the whistleblower-initiated federal Medicare/Medicaid fraud investigation at the University of Washington. The story is at once entertaining, informative, and poignant - providing a personal account accentuating why physicians and surgeons are fleeing medicine in droves and detailing what must be done to mend the cracks before the once great American medical system crumbles to pieces.
This uniquely accessible volume challenges professionals to understand--and help correct--health disparities, both at the patient level and in their larger social contexts. Dedicated to eradicating this ongoing injustice, contributors focus on marginalized populations, the role of healthcare systems in perpetuating inequities, the need for deeper engagement and listening by professionals, and the need for advocacy within professional education and the political/policy arena. The compelling case narratives at the core of the book illustrate the interrelated biopsychosocial components of patients' health problems and the gradations of learning needed for practitioners to address them effectively. The book's tools for developing a health disparities curriculum include a selection of workshop exercises, facilitator resources, and a brief guide to writing effective case narratives. A sampling of the narratives: "Finding the Person in Patient-Centered Health Care" (race/ethnicity/culture). "The Annual Big Girl / Big Boy Exchange" (gender). "Just Give Me Narcan and Let Me Go" (poverty/addiction). "Everyone Called Him Crazy" (immigration). "Adrift in the System" (disability). "Aging out of Pediatrics" (mental illness and stigma). "Time to Leave" (LGBT) A work of profound compassion, Health Disparities will be of considerable interest to researchers and practitioners interested in public health, population health, health disparities, and related fields such as sociology, social work, and narrative medicine. Its wealth of educational features also makes it a quality training text. "I was impressed when I read Health Disparities: Weaving a New Understanding through Case Narratives. As a patient who has experienced unpleasant situations in health care, I was moved to see that it was emotional and personal for the writers. The book confirms for me that the time is now for change to take place in our health care systems. I see this book as a light that can shine bright in the darkest places of health care. The editors have assembled a powerful book that provides all health professionals with specific steps they can take towards addressing and then eventually eliminating health disparities. A few steps that I really connected with were improving critical awareness, delivering quality care, listening and empathizing with patients and families, and advocating for changes. I recommend that anyone interested in working to improve health care obtain a copy of this book--it's filled with useful information that every medical professional should know. The book reminds me of a quote by Wayne Dyer, 'When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'" -Delores Collins, Founder and Executive Director, A Vision of Change Incorporated, Certified Community Health Worker. Founder of The Greater Cleveland Community Health Workers Association.
Art Gallery of Pathology by Tim-Rasmus Kiehl; Sylvia Asa (Editor); ARP Press Staff (Produced by); Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (U.S.) Staff (Produced by); Zoya Volynskaya (Designed by)
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Explore the use of human pathology samples as they are used to develop art that is pleasing to the eye and challenging to the mind. For those with knowledge of pathology, histology and microscopy, the work of Dr. Tim-Rasmus Kiehl, a neuropathologist who worked at University Health Network in Toronto, Canada, will be a source of fascination.For those who appreciate art, welcome to a new dimension of the art and science of Pathology, seen through the lens of modern culture. Join Dr. Kiehl and his former Pathologist-in-Chief, Dr. Sylvia Asa, on a trip through the Art Gallery of Pathology.
Neuroendocrine neoplasms comprise a large family of proliferative lesions that involve almost every part of the body. Our understanding of their cells of origin as well as the pathology, pathophysiology and genetics of these neoplasms has made tremendous advances in the last few decades. While they are often discussed as separate entities in textbooks of gastroenteropancreatic pathology and pulmonary pathology, their scope is much broader. The book conveys the similarities and differences of these fascinating tumors that may be found from the hypothalamus and pituitary to the rectum, and in soft tissue as well as in many organs. Written by experts in the field, the authors emphasize their structural, functional, predictive and prognostic features and attempt to provide the clinical context that allows improved diagnosis and therapy while building on the genetics that clarifies patterns of inheritance and predisposition to tumor development through precursor lesions.