Suspended Lives: Navigating Everyday Violence in the US Asylum System by
Delves into the experiences of Cameroonian and other African asylum seekers in the midwestern U.S., highlighting the emotional and social impacts of the U.S. asylum system. Bridget M. Haas reveals how this system, while offering refuge, also imposes new forms of suffering. She provides an intimate look into asylum seekers’ lives, revealing the often hidden violence within the asylum process, and how asylum seekers persist despite these challenges.
Collectors, Commissioners, Curators by
This volume celebrates the storied career of Stephen N. Fliegel, the former Robert Bergman Curator of Medieval Art at the Cleveland Museum of Art (CMA). Authors of these essays, all leading curators in their fields, offer insights into curatorial practices by highlighting key objects in some of the most important medieval collections in North America and Europe.
The Radical Vision of Edward Burne-Jones by
Challenging the dominant characterization of Edward Burne-Jones as an escapist who withdrew from the modern world into imaginary realms of his creation, this groundbreaking book argues that he was engaged in a fundamentally radical defiance of the age, protesting against imperial aggression, capitalist economic inequality, and environmental destruction in the wake of the industrial revolution.
Souvenirs and the Experience of Empire in Ancient Rome by
In this book, Maggie Popkin offers an in-depth investigation of souvenirs, a type of ancient Roman object that has been understudied and that is unfamiliar to many people. Souvenirs commemorated places, people, and spectacles in the Roman Empire. Straddling the spheres of religion, spectacle, leisure, and politics, they serve as a unique resource for exploring the experiences, interests, imaginations, and aspirations of a broad range of people - beyond elite, metropolitan men - who lived in the Roman world. Popkin shows how souvenirs generated and shaped memory and knowledge, as well as constructed imagined cultural affinities across the empire's heterogeneous population. At the same time, souvenirs strengthened local identities, but excluded certain groups from the social participation that souvenirs made available to so many others. Featuring a full illustration program of 137 color and black and white images, Popkin's book demonstrates the critical role that souvenirs played in shaping how Romans perceived and conceptualized their world, and their relationships to the empire that shaped it.
Italy by Way of India: Translating Art and Devotion in the Early Modern World by
The return of a saint's body to its rightful resting place during Medieval times was a significant event, as illustrated by the legend of Saint Thomas Apostle, whose body was transported from India to Italy in the thirteenth century. However, while the apostle's purported resting place in Ortona, Italy did not become a major pilgrimage site or a subject for Renaissance art, his burial site in Chennai, India flourished as a terminus of religious pilgrimage and fostered a vibrant local cult of 'Thomas Christians.' This unexpected cultural exchange challenges traditional art historical paradigms and highlights the influence of global mobility on early modern visual culture.
Future Thinking in Roman Culture: New Approaches To History, Memory, And Cognition by
A first volume dedicated to the exploration of prospective memory and future thinking in the Roman world, integrating cutting-edge research in cognitive sciences and theory with approaches to historiography, epigraphy, and material culture.
The Absent Image: Lacunae In Medieval Books by
Examines the idea of nothingness alongside the imaginary, uncovering deeply creative methods of addressing emptiness in the visual culture of the late Middle Ages. This ranges from clever depictions of the world's creation out of nothing (ex nihilo) to representations of absence as a stand-in for the unseen forces of creation and death.
Modern Optical Spectroscopy: From Fundamentals To Applications In Chemistry, Biochemistry And Biophysics by
The 3rd edition of this textbook offers clear explanations of optical spectroscopic phenomena and shows how spectroscopic techniques are used in modern chemistry, biochemistry, and biophysics.
Ovid Fasti: Books I-III by
The reader of this poem tours the monuments of the Augustan-era city, witnesses both urban and rustic seasonal festivals, and commemorates the epic events of long history. The reader also experiences the passage of the year, as measured by the natural world: the rising and setting of constellations, the migration of birds, and the comforting rhythms of agriculture. T
Discourse, Knowledge, and Power in Apuleius' Metamorphoses by
Presents a new approach to Metamorphoses and is the first in-depth investigation of the use of speech and discourse as tools of characterization in Apuleius' novel.
The Dawn of Modern Cosmology: From Copernicus to Newton by
In the late 15th century, people believed that the Earth was the still center of a small and orderly universe. This is the story of that incredible transformation, told through the words of astronomers and mathematicians like Copernicus, Galileo, Kepler, Descartes, and Newton. For the first time, excerpts from their works and letters are presented in one of the greatest turning points in human history.
Islam and Egalitarianism in Colonial Bengal by
This book is a historical exploration of the social and cultural processes that led to the rise of the ideology of labor as a touchstone of Bengali Muslim politics in late colonial India.
Cleveland's Cultural Gardens: A Landscape of Diversity by
From their beginnings as private farmland to their current form as monuments to cultural and ethnic diversity, the unique collection of landscaped, themed gardens that compose Cleveland's Cultural Gardens holds a rich history. John J. Grabowski guides readers through this story, using both archival images and Lauren R. Pacini's photography to illustrate their development and importance.
Reclaiming the Tomboy by
This anthology explores the tomboy’s presence throughout history, in artistic representations, and in real life. It also discusses her evolution over time, as she adapts to her surroundings, breaks new ground in innovative ways (sometimes through a “simple” selfie), and challenges traditional norms.
The Sun King at Sea by
This richly illustrated volume is the first book devoted to maritime art and galley slavery in early modern France and shows how royal propagandists used the image and labor of enslaved Muslims to glorify Louis XIV.
Toni Morrison and the Geopoetics of Place, Race, and Be/longing by
Marilyn Sanders Mobley analyzes Morrison's expressed narrative intention of providing "spaces for the reader" to help us understand the narrative strategies in her work.
The American House Poem, 1945-2021 by
Hunter's book, "The American House Poem, 1945-2021", examines poets who use older poetic forms to address the impact of housing crises. These poets write about the tools, materials, and plans involved in building a house, expressing the tension between creating art and freeing themselves from inherited constraints and conditions.
New Psychoanalytic Readings of Shakespeare by
The essays in New Psychoanalytic Readings of Shakespeare engages a broad spectrum of psychoanalytic theory and criticism, from Freud to the present, to read individual plays closely.
Uncanny Fidelity by
This book challenges critical orthodoxies and recognizes how a film or television series closely recalling Shakespeare's drama encourages an interrogation of what we consider to be "Shakespeare" in the first place.
Common Life by
With humor and sincerity, Common Life imagines the utopias of collectivity, friendship, and love that might enable hope for the present and the future.
Some Flowers by
In these poems, Hunter imagines the earth and weathers of language back to their origins in the first substances and the first light.
Honor: A Novel by
Selected as Reese's Book Club pick for January 2022, this book tells the story of two couples, exploring the challenges of love across cultural differences. Smita, an Indian-American journalist, returns to India to cover a story where she meets Mohan, an Indian man, and finds herself drawn to him.
True Raiders: The Untold Story Of The 1909 Expedition to Find the Legendary Ark of the Covenant by
Narrates the untold true story of Monty Parker, a British rogue nobleman who, after being dared by Ava Astor, heads a secret 1909 expedition to find the fabled Ark of the Covenant.
A Defense of Judgment by
In his book, Michael W. Clune challenges these objections to judgment and offers a positive account of literary studies as an institution of aesthetic education. Clune argues that it is impossible to separate judgments about literary value from the practices of interpretation and analysis that constitute any viable model of literary expertise. He envisions progressive politics freed from the strictures of dogmatic equality and enlivened by education in aesthetic judgment, transcending consumer culture and market preferences.
Christian Anarchist: A Life On The Catholic Left by
In this exceptional biography, William Marling tells the story of Ammon Hennacy a remarkable figure, whose politics prefigured today's social justice, ecology, and gender equality movements.
Bayesian Scientific Computing by
Provides an insider's view of how to combine two mature fields, scientific computing, and Bayesian inference, into a powerful language leveraging the capabilities of both components for computational efficiency, high-resolution power, and uncertainty quantification ability.
The Less Is More Linear Algebra of Vector Spaces and Matrices by
This textbook is designed for a proof-based course on linear algebra. It introduces vector spaces, inner products, and vector and matrix norms before Gaussian elimination and eigenvalues. This allows students to quickly discover the singular value decomposition (SVD). The book also includes examples and problems focused on concepts rather than the mechanics of linear algebra. It is aimed at students and researchers interested in learning linear algebra, with an early introduction of the SVD making it useful for those interested in applications such as scientific computing and data science.
Large Deviations for Markov Chains by
This book studies the large deviations for empirical measures and vector-valued additive functionals of Markov chains with general state space. Under suitable recurrence conditions, the ergodic theorem for additive functionals of a Markov chain asserts the almost sure convergence of the averages of a real or vector-valued function of the chain to the mean of the function with respect to the invariant distribution.
Diffusion Processes and Stochastic Differential Equations by
Quickly and concisely builds from basic probability theory to advanced topics that are suitable as a primary text for an advanced course in diffusion processes and stochastic differential equations.
Mathematics of Data Science by
This textbook provides a solid mathematical basis for understanding popular data science algorithms for clustering and classification and shows that an in-depth understanding of the mathematics powering these algorithms gives insight into the underlying data.
No vine a hacerme la inocente by
"No vine a hacerme la inocente" is a captivating collection of Cuban poetry that explores themes of identity, resilience, and the complexities of human emotions.
Errant Destinations by
Collection of nine literary chronicles in which contemporary Chilean-Jewish author Andrea Jeftanovic reflects on travel in its multiple variations, concerning diverse fields of study, including references to cinema, literature, and the visual arts.
Renewable Energy by
Offers the most current insights into innovations in renewable energy and energy storage, which are pivotal in forging a reliable and sustainable future powered exclusively by renewables. Its chapters equip the younger generation with the knowledge and critical skills needed to become well-informed and discerning professionals, ready to meet the demands of future sustainable job markets.
Familiar Setting by
In this evocative collection, Suárez weaves together ten tales that delve deep into the complexities of family, exposing the raw, often painful underbelly of relationships. These stories navigate the murky waters of familial dysfunction, drawing readers into a whirlwind of nostalgia, unease, and a spectrum of raw emotions.
Great Books by German Women in the Age of Emotion, 1770-1820 by
Emphasizing the role of and portrayal of emotion, this study argues for the inclusion of six late-eighteenth-century German-language novels by and about women.
The Object Of Jewish Literature : A Material History by
Through the lens of materiality and objects, Barbara E. Mann tells a history of modern Jewish literature, from novels and poetry to graphic novels and artists' books. Bringing contemporary work on secularism and design in conversation with literary history, she offers a new and distinctive frame for understanding how literary genres emerge.
Until She Go No More by
Simultaneously maps the coordinates of the intimate story of a female teenager and the broader historical and socioeconomic reality of Chile in the early 70's. The story is narrated in a monologue, through the eyes of a young female protagonist who resides in a desolate town in the mountainous region where the landscape is bleak and barren, and men futilely toil in unproductive fields.
From Biblical Book to Musical Megahit: : William B. Bradbury's Esther, The Beautiful Queen by
"From Biblical Book to Musical Megahit: William B. Bradbury's 'Esther, the Beautiful Queen'" by Juanita Karpf explores the journey of Bradbury's choral setting of the biblical Book of Esther. Despite Bradbury's intention for it to be a simple religious piece, music directors transformed it into elaborate theatrical performances, causing controversy. Regardless, its popularity soared, spreading across continents and becoming an international success decades after its 1856 publication.
Performing Racial Uplift: E. Azalia Hackley And African American Activism In the Postbellum to Pre-Harlem Era by
Juanita Karpf rediscovers the career of Black activist E. Azalia Hackley (1867-1922), a concert artist, nationally famous music teacher, and charismatic lecturer. Unlike most activists of her era, she did not align herself unequivocally with either Booker T. Washington or W. E. B. Du Bois In this book, Karpf reclaims Hackley's legacy and details the talent, energy, determination, and unprecedented worldview she brought to the cause of racial uplift.
Music and Power at the Court of Louis XIII: Sounding the Liturgy in Early Modern France by
Peter Bennett engages with Weber's seminal formulation of power to consider the contexts in which liturgy, music, and ceremonial legitimated the power of a king almost continuously engaged in religious conflict. Numerous musical settings show that David, the psalmist, musician, king, and agent of the Holy Spirit, provided the most enduring model of kingship; but in the final decade of his life, as Louis dedicated the Kingdom to the Virgin Mary, the model of 'Christ the King' became even more potent - a model reflected in a flowering of musical publication.
Honoring Trans And Gender-Expansive Students In Music Education by
This is a resource for music teachers to support TGE students. As TGE youth become more visible in U.S. schools, this book provides practical suggestions and shares experiences from TGE students and their teachers to empower these students in music education.
Angeles y peces: los mitos y el misterio: un breve libro bilingüe de poemas by
A bilingual book of poems.
Essentials of Audiology by
The quintessential core textbook for audiology and speech-language pathology students.
The Cambridge Handbook of Lifespan Development of Creativity by
This handbook focuses on nurturing creativity across the lifespan, from early childhood to later life. It explores fostering creativity in various contexts such as school, workplace, community spaces, and family life. The authors review research findings across disciplines and describe best practices for fostering creativity at each stage of development.
Histories in Tibet: Essays in Honor of Leonard W. J. van der Kuijp by
The thirty-four essays in this volume follow the particular interests of Leonard van der Kuijp, whose groundbreaking research in Tibetan intellectual and cultural history imbued his students with an abiding sense of curiosity and discovery.
Religion and Its Monsters by
In this unusual and provocative book, Timothy Beal explores how religion, horror, and the monstrous are deeply intertwined. This new edition has been thoughtfully updated, reflecting on developments in the field over the past two decades and highlighting its contributions to emerging conversations. It also features a new chapter, "Gods, Monsters, and Machines," which engages cultural fascinations and anxieties about technologies of artificial intelligence and machine learning as they relate to religion and the monstrous at the dawn of the Anthropocene.
Black Religious Landscaping in Africa and the United States by
Discusses how Black people have identified obstacles to their freedoms and constructed counter-landscapes. The book looks at religious, social, economic, and political spaces created by Black people that are physical, psychological, and conceptual. These spaces are influenced by colonial systems and institutions of modern slavery and aim to counter their effects. The contributors hope to offer insights into how these spaces support the emancipation of Black lives and bodies from oppressive forces.
The Federation of Asian Bishops' Conferences (FABC): Bearing Witness to the Gospel and the Reign of God in Asia by
The book explores the theological contributions of the Federation of Asian Bishops' Conferences (FABC), focusing on the postcolonial dimensions of Asia and the challenges of religious pluralism. It also discusses new challenges and possibilities for the FABC, including migration, online communities, and insider movements shaping the future of the FABC's approach to theology.
The Sociology of Children's Rights by
This insightful text grounds readers in core theories and key data about children's legal entitlements. The chapters tackle central questions about what rights accrue to young people, whether they advance equality, and how they influence children's identities, freedoms, and societal participation.