Choosing Daughters: Family Change in Rural China by
Explores this critical, yet largely overlooked, reproductive pattern emerging in China's demographic landscape.
Health, Culture and Society: Conceptual Legacies and Contemporary Applications by
This book traces the history of formative, enduring concepts, foundational in the development of the health disciplines. Feminist legacies are discussed with a clear message that early sociological and anthropological theories and debates remain valuable to scholars today.
Child Abuse and Neglect in Uganda by
Bringing together cross-disciplinary expertise, this volume addresses a vast range of topics related to child abuse and neglect in Uganda.
Handbook of Child Well-Being by
A comprehensive exploration of children’s well-being from multiple disciplinary perspectives. It discusses key issues, political aspects, intervention strategies, and measurement methods for a holistic understanding and practical application in policy-making.
Handbook of Child Maltreatment by
Examines core remaining questions in the field of child maltreatment. The book studies the issue from the perspective of the broader international and cross-cultural human experience.
C. Henry Kempe by
The “Child Maltreatment” book series offers a comprehensive handbook and annual volumes on research and policy. The inaugural volume honors C. Henry Kempe, coinciding with the 50th anniversary of his seminal work, “The Battered-Child Syndrome,” reflecting on its enduring impact on current practices and policies.
On the Cultural Revolution in Tibet: The Nyemo Incident of 1969 by
Reexamines the 1969 Nyemo Incident, a violent clash in Tibet often misinterpreted as ethnic resistance. The authors argue it was a conflict between revolutionary factions, offering a critical perspective on the event’s historical portrayal.
Children and Families in Communities by
This title amalgamates the latest research on the relationship between children, families, and communities and explores policy and practice implications.
Junkie Business by
Results from an intensive three-year ethnographic study of the formation and eventual demise of a heroin dealing network in Denver.
Filial Piety by
Examines the impact of industrialization and aging populations on filial piety in East Asia. Fieldworkers provide ethnographic insights into how these changes affect family dynamics across China, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan, making it a valuable resource for understanding regional cultural practices amid evolving social and economic landscapes.
A Tibetan Revolutionary by
This is the as-told-to political autobiography of Phüntso Wangye (Phünwang), one of the most important Tibetan revolutionary figures of the twentieth century.
The New Tibetan-English Dictionary of Modern Tibetan by
A comprehensive dictionary featuring over 80,000 terms from various fields, reflecting new vocabulary since 1951 and traditional terms used by officials before 1959. It includes everyday language, proverbs, and illustrative sentences to aid pronunciation and understanding.
Buddhism in Contemporary Tibet: Religious Revival and Cultural Identity by
This book examines the significant revival of Tibetan Buddhism after China’s Cultural Revolution. It details case studies by experts in Tibetan regions, observing monastic and lay religious renewals amidst political tensions and aspirations for autonomy
The Snow Lion and the Dragon: China, Tibet, and the Dalai Lama by
Offers an impartial analysis of the "Tibet Question" and the conflict’s history and suggests a potential future compromises.
The Struggle for Modern Tibet: The Autobiography of Tashi Tsering by
This autobiography details the life of Tsering, a Tibetan educator who overcame adversity and political imprisonment.
The Return of the God of Wealth: The Transition to a Market Economy in Urban China by
Introduce the reader to contemporary Chinese urban life and examine how reforms have changed not only the material circumstances of daily life but also the overall well-being of urban residents.
The Changing World of Mongolia's Nomads by
Provides an intimate look at Mongolia’s shift from communism to democracy and a market economy, through the eyes of the first Western scholars permitted to conduct fieldwork there. Living with herders, enduring harsh climates, and observing their traditional ways, Goldstein and Beall offer insights into the nomadic life and its evolution amidst Mongolia’s societal changes.
Nomads of Western Tibet: The Survival of a Way of Life by
Goldstein and Beall’s book chronicles their sixteen-month study of Tibetan nomads, capturing their traditional lifestyle and cultural perseverance against modern challenges
History of Modern Tibet. Volume 3, The storm Clouds Descend, 1955-1957 by
Covers the establishment of the Preparatory Committee for a Tibet Autonomous Region, the Tibetan uprising, and the political maneuvers of the era, including the halted democratic reforms known as the “Great Expansion.”
History of Modern Tibet. Volume 2, The Calm Before the Storm, 1951-1955 by
Melvyn C. Goldstein’s book offers a critical examination of the 1950s to understand Tibet-China politics, drawing on new archives and interviews with key figures, including the Dalai Lama. It provides insight into the era’s geopolitical dynamics, influencing contemporary Sino-Tibetan relations.
History of Modern Tibet, 1913-1951: The Demise of the Lamaist State by
Drawing on a wealth of British, American, and Indian diplomatic records; first-hand-historical accounts written by Tibetan participants; and extensive interviews with former Tibetan officials, monastic leaders, soldiers, and traders.