CWRU Faculty and Staff Author Publications

The Great Paradox of Science by Mano Singham Science has revolutionized our lives and continues to progress. The book "The Great Paradox of Science" by Mano Singham argues that countering anti-science efforts requires a deeper understanding of the nature of scientific knowledge. It provides tools for making sound, rational decisions in all areas of life.

New Directions In Thin Film Nanophotonics by Guiseppe Strangi Highlights recent advances in thin-film photonics, particularly as building blocks of metamaterials and metasurfaces.

Magnetic Resonance Imaging by E. Mark Haacke; Robert W. Brown; Michael R. Thompson; Ramesh Venkatesan; Norman Cheng Provides a clear explanation of MRI’s physical principles, design, and implementation, using consistent terminology and mathematical notation.

A Universe From Nothing: Why There is Something Rather than Nothing by Lawrence M. Krauss; Richard Dawkins (Afterword by) Lawrence Krauss’s “A Universe from Nothing” challenges deep philosophical and religious questions, offering scientific perspectives on the origins and fate of the universe. Krauss suggests that the universe can and does arise from nothing, a concept that intertwines cosmology with the debate on the existence of God.

Miller's Waves by William Fickinger This biography presents a complete chronological description of Dayton Miller, an American physicist in the early twentieth century. He was known for his research on medical X-rays and musical sounds. Miller sought evidence for the luminiferous ether and joined the worldwide debate about relativity

Quantum Man: Richard Feynman's Life in Science by Lawrence M. Krauss A scientific biography of Richard Feynman, a leading physicist who transformed our grasp of quantum mechanics. Krauss narrates Feynman’s vibrant life and scientific journey, from personal tragedies to professional triumphs, portraying him as a rule-breaker in life and science.

God vs. Darwin by Mano Singham; Charles J. Russo (Foreword by) Examines the contentious legal history of evolution versus creationism in American education, from the Scopes Monkey trial to the 2005 Dover trial. The book highlights how opposition to evolution has changed, acknowledging evolution’s permanence in education while religious ideas remain excluded. Singham addresses why evolution faces such resistance in the U.S. and what legal rulings have been made against this opposition.

Physics at a Research University by William Fickinger Explores the history of physics at Case Western Reserve University.

Hiding in the Mirror by Lawrence M. Krauss Lawrence M. Krauss explores why humans have longed for alternate realities and examines the possibility of extra dimensions holding the key to a deeper understanding of the universe.

The Achievement Gap in U. S. Education: Canaries in the Mine by Mano Singham Author Mano Singham looks at what is happening within the US educational system. The book identifies factors that lead to widespread underachievement and professional development programs necessary to produce good teaching practices,

A Quantum Approach to Condensed Matter Physics by Philip L. Taylor; Olle G. Heinonen Explores the theory behind the intriguing properties of solids. It assumes basic knowledge of quantum mechanics and focuses on intuitive methods for calculating and predicting complex phenomena in solids and quantum liquids.

Atom: An Odyssey From The Big Bang To Life On Earth-- And Beyond by Lawrence M. Krauss; Deborah Baker (Editor) Lawrence Krauss tells the story of life and the universe from the Big Bang to the end of life in the universe. He infuses this cosmic tale with humor, insight, and accessibility. The story begins below the Earth's crust and ends long after the planet on which the water is found is no more.

Quest for Truth by Mano Singham Create a model of the nature of knowledge and its evolution.

Quintessence: The Mystery of Missing Mass in the Universe by Lawrence M. Krauss Lawrence Krauss explores the mystery of dark matter and its connection to the fate of the universe.

Modern Physics in America by William Fickinger (Editor); Kenneth L. Kowalski (Editor) The symposium was held to celebrate a century of modern physics initiated in 1887 by the Michelson-Morley experiment which demonstrated that the earth's motion did not affect the behavior of light. Fifteen papers address development in physics at higher energies and smaller distances.

Beyond Star Trek: Physics From Alien Invasions To The End Of Time by Lawrence M. Krauss Theoretical physicist Lawrence Krauss delves into the intersection of physics and popular culture. Building on his earlier work in “The Physics of Star Trek,” Krauss explores how scientific principles relate to concepts from movies, TV shows, and folklore. From alien visitation to interstellar travel, he takes readers on a mind-bending journey through topics like warp-drive systems, time, consciousness, and the probability of extraterrestrial life.

The Physics of Star Trek by Lawrence M. Krauss; Stephen W. Hawking (Foreword by) The author of Fear of Physics takes readers on a journey to the world of physics with a Star Trek twist. Learn about warp speed, the holodeck, and beaming up in this accessible introduction to physics.

Quantum Mechanics by John D. McGervey The third edition of McGervey’s “Introduction to Modern Physics” bridges the gap between descriptive quantum mechanics and abstract mathematical approaches.

Fear of Physics: A Guide for the Perplexed by Lawrence M. Krauss Explores the complexities of modern physics using accessible examples and anecdotes. It covers a wide range of topics, from the physics of boiling water to cutting-edge research at the observable limits of the universe.

Horns, Strings, and Harmony by Arthur H. Benade Explains the physics of musical instruments in an engaging and understandable way. Dr. Benade, a nuclear physicist, flutist, and science educator, elucidates the ways in which music is formed by many different kinds of musical instruments.

Dynamical Collision Theory and Its Applications by Sadhan K. Adhikari; Kenneth L. Kowalski Discusses methods for calculating two-particle transition amplitudes (on- and off-shell), literature on the uniqueness problems associated with the use of Lippmann-Schwinger equations for multi-particle collision problems, and various analytical properties of many-particle collision amplitudes.

Fundamentals of Musical Acoustics by Arthur H. Benade Offers a comprehensive and accessible exploration of acoustical principles in music. Aimed at music students and enthusiasts alike, it covers the production of sound in various musical instruments, including keyboards, strings, brass, woodwinds, percussion, and the human voice. The book also examines the influence of the environment and the listener’s auditory system on sound.

Physics by S. Machlup This concise, first-year text in physics provides a suitable introduction to the subject for students specializing in physics as well as for those for whom it is a subsiduary subject.

Probabilities in Everyday Life by John D. McGervey; Oswald Jacoby (Introduction by) John D. McGervey, a physics professor, provides information to help you make informed decisions at home, work, and play.

Foundations of Electromagnetic Theory by John R. Reitz; Frederick J. Milford; Robert W. Christy Discuses electromagnetic phenomena and theory.

Scientific Papers of Arthur Holly Compton by Arthur Holly Compton; Robert S. Shankland (Editor) Arthur Holly Compton, a pivotal figure in 20th-century physics, made groundbreaking contributions to X-ray research. This volume, edited by his former student Robert S. Shankland, compiles Compton's significant papers in the field. Compton's work from 1913 to the 1930s included proving key optical properties of X-rays and pioneering the use of ruled gratings for X-ray spectra. His most notable achievement, the Compton Effect, earned him a Nobel Prize in 1927. This effect showed that X-rays scatter like particles, with their interactions adhering to conservation laws of energy and momentum. Shankland's introduction provides a historical context and traces Compton's journey to his quantum explanation of X-ray scattering.

Introduction to Modern Physics by John D. McGervey Discusses the history of physics.

Introduction to the Quantum Theory of Scattering by L. S. Rodberg; R. M. Thaler

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, A Ready Reference Book of Chemical and Physical Data, Forty-Fourth Edition by Samuel M. Hodgman; S. Shankland

Theory of Direct Nuclear Reactions by W. Tobocman

Problems for Atomic and Nuclear Physics by R.S. Shankland