Skip to Main Content
Religious Studies (College of Arts & Sciences) Books
The Book of Revelation: A Biography by Timothy Beal
Timothy Beal's work offers a concise cultural history of the Book of Revelation, detailing its origins during Christian persecutions in first-century Rome and its lasting impact on modern culture. Beal discusses its influence on figures like Augustine and Hildegard of Bingen, its role in art, and its evolution through various interpretations over time. The book highlights Revelation's unique voice and its ability to inspire and terrify across generations.
ISBN: 9780691145839
Publication Date: 2018
Suburban Islam by Justine Howe
For many American Muslims, the 9/11 attacks and subsequent War on Terror marked a rise in intense scrutiny of their religious lives and political loyalties. In Suburban Islam, Justine Howe explores the rise of "third spaces," social surroundings that are neither home nor work, created by educated, middle-class American Muslims in the wake of increased marginalization.
ISBN: 9780190258870
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by Timothy Beal
Named a Best Print Reference title of 2015 by Library Journal, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts (OEBART) is an in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
ISBN: 9780199846511
Publication Date: 2015
Classical Indian Philosophy by Deepak Sarma
Provides a comprehensive exploration of India’s key philosophical traditions. The book covers six schools of orthodox Hindu philosophy, including Mimamsa (focused on the earlier Vedas), Vedanta (including the Bhagavad Gita and the Upanishads), Sankhya (self-nature dualism), Yoga (a practical outgrowth of Sankhya), and Nyaya and Vaisesika (realism).
ISBN: 9780231133982
Publication Date: 2011
The Rise and Fall of the Bible by Timothy Beal
Delve into the origins of the Bible with a look at early Christianity and questioning how a collection of handwritten scrolls evolved into the revered Bible. Simultaneously, it looks forward to the present, examining the multibillion-dollar industry that produces Biblezines and Manga Bibles, potentially diminishing the Bible’s sacred significance.
ISBN: 9780151013586
Publication Date: 2011
Biblical Literacy by Timothy K. Beal
This volume contains fifteen essays on biblical exegesis, spanning from the late biblical period to today. It includes theoretical and methodological discussions, as well as specific studies, reflecting the work of leading scholars across various traditions and interpretations.
ISBN: 9780061718625
Publication Date: 2009
Hinduism by Deepak Sarma (Editor)
Introduces students to the main textual, regional, intellectual, philosophical, historical, and contemporary traditions of the Hindu faith Includes excerpts from both canonical ancient texts and thought-provoking contemporary texts to offer a balanced overview of the religion.
ISBN: 9781405149891
Publication Date: 2008
Religion in America by Timothy Beal
Describes many aspects of religion in contemporary America that are typically ignored in other books on the subject, including religion in popular culture and counter-cultural groups; the growing phenomenon of "hybrid" religious identities, both individual and collective; the expanding numbers of new religious movements, or NRMs, in America; and interesting examples of "outsider religion," such as Paradise Gardens in Georgia and the People Love People House of God in Ohio.
ISBN: 9780195321074
Publication Date: 2008
Religion, Politics, Media in the Broadband Era by Alice Bach
Embodies a deep-seated engagement with the Bible, religion, and cultural expression. Popular religious themes permeate our culture, manifesting in various forms such as rock videos, televangelism, political discourse, children’s literature, movies, and animations.
ISBN: 1905048432
Publication Date: 2004
An Introduction to Maadhva Vedaanta by Deepak Sarma
This introduction to the Madhva school of Vedanta is accessible to a wide audience with interest in Hinduism, Indian thought and in the comparative philosophy of religion.
ISBN: 0754606376
Publication Date: 2003
Religion and Its Monsters by Timothy K. Beal
Timothy K. Beal writes about the monsters that lurk in our religious texts, and about how monsters and religion are deeply entwined; horror and faith are inextricable. \.
ISBN: 0415925878
Publication Date: 2001
The Book of Revelation: A Biography by
Timothy Beal's work offers a concise cultural history of the Book of Revelation, detailing its origins during Christian persecutions in first-century Rome and its lasting impact on modern culture. Beal discusses its influence on figures like Augustine and Hildegard of Bingen, its role in art, and its evolution through various interpretations over time. The book highlights Revelation's unique voice and its ability to inspire and terrify across generations.
Suburban Islam by
For many American Muslims, the 9/11 attacks and subsequent War on Terror marked a rise in intense scrutiny of their religious lives and political loyalties. In Suburban Islam, Justine Howe explores the rise of "third spaces," social surroundings that are neither home nor work, created by educated, middle-class American Muslims in the wake of increased marginalization.
Theological Reflections on the Hong Kong Umbrella Movement by
This book gathers the voices of four local Hong Kong theologians to reflect on the 2014 democracy protests in the city from the perspectives of Catholic social teaching, feminist and queer intersectionality, Protestant liberation, and textual exegesis.
World Christianity: Perspectives and Insights: Essays in Honor of Peter C. Phan by
An analysis by twenty leading scholars from around the world of "global Christianity" for understanding the Christian faith in the C21st.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by
Named a Best Print Reference title of 2015 by Library Journal, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts (OEBART) is an in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
A Cultural History of Japanese Buddhism by
Examines relevant social, political, and transcultural contexts with an emphasis on Japanese Buddhist discourses and material culture.
African-American Female Mysticism by
The primary subjects of this book are three icons of black female spirituality and religious activism - Jarena Lee, Sojourner Truth, and Rebecca Cox Jackson.
Moses' Ark: Stories From the Bible by
An engaging collection of thirteen stories--some well known, some lesser known--based on the new translations from the Hebrew and written especially for young people. The retellings and explanatory notes that follow each story capture the wit and humor of the original language and show daily life in vivid detail.
Classical Indian Philosophy by
Provides a comprehensive exploration of India’s key philosophical traditions. The book covers six schools of orthodox Hindu philosophy, including Mimamsa (focused on the earlier Vedas), Vedanta (including the Bhagavad Gita and the Upanishads), Sankhya (self-nature dualism), Yoga (a practical outgrowth of Sankhya), and Nyaya and Vaisesika (realism).
The Rise and Fall of the Bible by
Delve into the origins of the Bible with a look at early Christianity and questioning how a collection of handwritten scrolls evolved into the revered Bible. Simultaneously, it looks forward to the present, examining the multibillion-dollar industry that produces Biblezines and Manga Bibles, potentially diminishing the Bible’s sacred significance.
The Fate of King David by
Celebrating the 500 volume, this Festschrift honors David M. Gunn, one of the founders of the Journal of Old Testament Studies, later the Library of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Studies, and offers essays representing cutting-edge interpretations of the David material in the Hebrew Bible and later literary and popular culture.
Authority And Its Challenges In Hindu Texts, Translations, And Transnational Communities: Proceedings Of Two Of The Sessions At The Fourth DANAM Conference by
The book includes insights from two sessions of the Fourth Dharma Association of North America (DANAM) conference, which took place alongside the American Academy of Religion (AAR) in Washington DC, from November 17 to 19, 2006. These sessions focused on the difficulties of translating classical Hindu texts and the concept of authority (Adhikara) within the Hindu diaspora.
Biblical Literacy by
This volume contains fifteen essays on biblical exegesis, spanning from the late biblical period to today. It includes theoretical and methodological discussions, as well as specific studies, reflecting the work of leading scholars across various traditions and interpretations.
Hinduism by
Introduces students to the main textual, regional, intellectual, philosophical, historical, and contemporary traditions of the Hindu faith Includes excerpts from both canonical ancient texts and thought-provoking contemporary texts to offer a balanced overview of the religion.
Religion in America by
Describes many aspects of religion in contemporary America that are typically ignored in other books on the subject, including religion in popular culture and counter-cultural groups; the growing phenomenon of "hybrid" religious identities, both individual and collective; the expanding numbers of new religious movements, or NRMs, in America; and interesting examples of "outsider religion," such as Paradise Gardens in Georgia and the People Love People House of God in Ohio.
Biblical Interpretation in Judaism and Christianity by
This volume contains fifteen essays on biblical exegesis, spanning from the late biblical period to today. It includes theoretical and methodological discussions, as well as specific studies, reflecting the work of leading scholars across various traditions and interpretations.
Roadside Religion by
Explores the varieties of religious experiences with personal narratives.
Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan by
Captures the essence of life in great civilizations of the past. Each volume in this series examines a single civilization and covers everything from landmark events and monumental achievements to geography and everyday life.
Human Rights and the World's Major Religions by
Covering a wide span of history, this set includes volumes on Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism.
Epistemologies and the Limitations of Philosophical Inquiry by
Deepak Sarma explores the degree to which outsiders can understand and interpret the doctrine of the Màdhva school of Vedànta.
Mel Gibson's Bible by
In this volume, biblical scholars Timothy K. Beal and Tod Linafelt offer a provocative range of views on The Passion of the Christ.
Religion, Politics, Media in the Broadband Era by
Embodies a deep-seated engagement with the Bible, religion, and cultural expression. Popular religious themes permeate our culture, manifesting in various forms such as rock videos, televangelism, political discourse, children’s literature, movies, and animations.
Theory for Religious Studies by
In this handy volume, two professors of religious studies provide the student of religious studies with a brief review of theorists' work from the perspective of religious studies.
An Introduction to Maadhva Vedaanta by
This introduction to the Madhva school of Vedanta is accessible to a wide audience with interest in Hinduism, Indian thought and in the comparative philosophy of religion.
On the Cutting Edge: The Study of Women in the Biblical World by
These essays in honor of Professor Elisabeth Schussler Fiorenza come from international feminist scholars indebted to her ground-breaking achievements in the areas of biblical studies, feminist thought, and social justice.
Religion and Its Monsters by
Timothy K. Beal writes about the monsters that lurk in our religious texts, and about how monsters and religion are deeply entwined; horror and faith are inextricable. \.
Women in the Hebrew Bible: A Reader by
Presents the first one-volume overview covering the interpretation of women's place in man's world within the Hebrew Bible or Old Testament.
Women, Seduction, and Betrayal in Biblical Narrative by
Alice Bach applies literary theory, cultural representations of biblical figures, films, and paintings to a close reading of a group of biblical texts revolving around the 'wicked' literary figures in the Bible.