It's a Setup: Fathering From the Social and Economic Margins by
Narrates the political and economic circumstances that shape the lives of low-income fathers. Based on 138 life history interviews, they expose the contradictions of the norms and expectations of father involvement that have changed rapidly within a generation.
Economic Inequality in Later Life by
The 40th volume of the Annual Review of Gerontology and Geriatrics focuses on economic inequality in later life. It includes perspectives on the changing pathways in later life, retirement income and security, race, and associated advantages and disadvantages, and social rights for the elderly.
Disability and Aging: Learning From Both to Empower the Lives of Older Adults by
Synthesizes disability and gerontological perspectives to explore the unfolding challenges of aging and the practices and policies that can enhance the lives of older adults.
Institutions Unbound: Social Worlds and Human Rights by
To release human rights from institutional bindings, sociologists must solve riddles of how institutions work and determine social life. This book is a step forward in identifying means by which we can loosen human rights from institutional constraints.
Movements for Human Rights: Locally and Globally by
To understand why sometimes we enjoy human rights and other times we experience vulnerability and risk, sociologists seek to understand the individual within her context. Bringing together prominent sociologists to grapple with these questions, Movements for Human Rights: Locally and Globally, offers insights into the ways that people move for (and against) human rights.
On Becoming a Teen Mom by
In this myth-shattering book, the authors tell the life stories of 108 brown, white, and black teen mothers, exposing problems that are often overlooked in pregnancy prevention campaigns. Offering a fresh perspective on the links between teen births and social inequalities, this book demonstrates how the intersecting hierarchies of gender, race, and class shape the biographies of young mothers.
Expanding the Human in Human Rights by
The fight for human rights has primarily been waged by oppressed groups against the very systems that oppress them. In this context, sociological research into the experiences of various marginalized communities—such as women, racial and ethnic minorities, children, LGBTQ+ individuals, and the mentally ill—provides valuable insights. These insights help us grasp both the potential and the obstacles in the pursuit of human rights.
Health Web Science by
Understanding and appreciating the overlapping, yet divergent disciplinary orientation of Health Web Science compared to related research domains, motivates specific research efforts around better utilization of, innovation, and communication over and within the Web. Health Web Science is an ideal reference for researchers and practitioners with an interest in this emerging topic.
Handbook of Sociology and Human Rights by
Brings new perspectives to the study of human rights in an interdisciplinary fashion.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Gerontology by
This volume reflects the emergence of aging as a global concern, including chapters by international scholars from Asia, Australasia, Europe, and North America. It provides a comprehensive overview of key trends and issues in the field, drawing upon the full range of social science disciplines.
Public and Private Social Policy by
This collection delves into the growing role of the private sector in shaping social policy. The analysis aims to shed light on how these two sectors collaborate and conflict in the realm of social governance.
Aging, Globalization and Inequality: The New Critical Gerontology by
A focus on the variety of ways in which age and aging are socially constructed, and the extent to which growing old is being transformed through processes associated with globalization.
Holocaust Survivors and Immigrants by
Based on a unique research study, this volume examines the later life development of Holocaust survivors from Israel and the US. Through systematic interviews, the authors - noted researchers and clinicians - collected data about the lives of these survivors and how they compared to peers who did not share this experience. The orientation of the book synthesizes several conceptual approaches - gerontological and life span development, stress research, and traumatology, and also reflects the varied disciplines of the authors, spanning psychology, social work, and sociology
Altruism in Later Life by
Authors Elizabeth Midlarsky and Eva Kahana introduce the results of a series of investigations on assistance offered by--rather than to--the elderly, in the context of historical, philosophical, and theoretical trends in gerontology and altruism research.
Family Caregiving Across the Lifespan by
Examining caregiving issues from a multigenerational, family life cycle perspective, this volume deals with the broad spectrum of chronic illnesses that necessitate family caregiving throughout the lifespan and discusses responses to these challenges by both caregiving families and caregiving systems.
Stress and Health Among the Elderly by
An interdisciplinary volume focusing on the interaction of stress and health. Coverage includes examinations of stress/health issues among minorities, social support, adaptation to stress, and psychopharmacological management of stress.