Skip to Main Content
Department of Economics Faculty Publications
Is Entrepreneurship Dead?: The Truth About Startups in America by Scott A. Shane
Despite common beliefs that American entrepreneurship is in decline due to lack of capital, regulation, and other challenges, Scott Shane's research shows that entrepreneurship is actually thriving. Through his research, he disproves each of the commonly accepted theories and convincingly demonstrates that the number of startups that are officially incorporated is increasing, fewer startups are failing, and more businesses are being supported by investors.
ISBN: 0300212119
Publication Date: 2018
Born Entrepreneurs, Born Leaders by Scott Shane
Author Scott Shane explains why genes matter and how they influence numerous aspects of our professional lives, from job satisfaction to income levels. The book also delves into the role of genetics in creativity and innovation, and how genes affect our tendency to start companies.
ISBN: 9780195373424
Publication Date: 2010
Fool's Gold? by Scott Shane
Challenges the myth of the angel investor as a wealthy retiree who effortlessly earns massive returns. Contrary to popular belief, Shane’s research reveals that most angel investors are not full-time investors, often invest modest sums like $10,000 or less, and rarely involve themselves deeply in startups.
ISBN: 9780195331080
Publication Date: 2008
The Illusions of Entrepreneurship by Scott A. Shane
Entrepreneurship is surrounded by myths and misconceptions. The reality is that most new businesses fail and have a low economic impact. Scott Shane's book, The Illusions of Entrepreneurship, provides accurate information about who becomes an entrepreneur, why they do it, how businesses are started, factors that lead to success or failure, and more. It's an essential resource for dreamers, investors, policymakers, and researchers interested in the economic impact of entrepreneurship.
ISBN: 9780300113310
Publication Date: 2008
Growing Your Business: Making Human Resources Work For You by Robert Baron
Explain why you should grow your business and describe some major growth challenges. This book identifies several strategies that enhance the growth of new firms. It explains how entrepreneurs can select high-performing employees and describes various ways of enhancing employees' motivation and commitment.
ISBN: 9781606490013
Publication Date: 2008
Technology Strategy for Managers and Entrepreneurs by Scott Shane
This book emphasizes how the future manager can use strategic management of innovation and technology to enhance firm performance. This book covers the evolution of technology, meeting consumer needs, capturing values generated from investments, and development of technology strategy.
ISBN: 9780131879324
Publication Date: 2008
Entrepreneurship by Robert A. Baron; Scott A. Shane
With solid theory and relevant examples, this thorough resource covers the entire process of building a business. Seasoned instructors and entrepreneurial authorities, Professors Baron and Shane deliver a practical, applied process approach with a multidisciplinary perspective, drawing on knowledge from the studies of economics, psychology, and other areas.
ISBN: 0324365586
Publication Date: 2007
Economic Development Through Entrepreneurship by Scott Shane (Editor)
Despite a wealth of efforts that examine separately the role entrepreneurs and universities play in economic development, no systematic effort has been made to examine the role universities play in promoting economic development through entrepreneurship.
ISBN: 1843768550
Publication Date: 2005
From Ice Cream to the Internet by Scott A. Shane
This book focuses on the strategic issues and challenges faced by franchisers. It presents principles for various facets of franchising success: designing the system, recruiting, selecting, managing; establishing territories, and pricing.
ISBN: 013149421X
Publication Date: 2005
Entrepreneurship by Robert A. Baron; Scott Shane
Baron and Shane’s book on entrepreneurship offers a fresh perspective, acknowledging the diverse motivations and backgrounds of students. It presents a flexible and accessible guide through the entrepreneurial journey, covering five key phases: idea generation, resource assembly, venture launch, success building, and reward harvesting.
ISBN: 0324273568
Publication Date: 2004
Academic Entrepreneurship by Scott Andrew Shane
Scott Shane provides a systematic explanation of how university spinoff companies form and their role in commercializing university technology, creating wealth in the US and beyond.
ISBN: 1843764547
Publication Date: 2004
Finding Fertile Ground by Scott A. Shane
This book provides clear and practical coverage of unique challenges faced by high-tech startups, including predicting demand for new products, measuring adoption and diffusion patterns, creating high barriers to entry, exploiting competitors' weaknesses, and managing risk in high-risk ventures.
ISBN: 0131423983
Publication Date: 2004
A General Theory of Entrepreneurship by Scott Andrew Shane
In the first exhaustive treatment of the field in 20 years, Scott Shane extends the analysis of entrepreneurship by offering an overarching conceptual framework that explains the different parts of the entrepreneurial process.
ISBN: 1843763826
Publication Date: 2003
Technological Systems in the Bio Industries by Bo Carlsson (Editor)
A comprehensive effort to understand the role of technological change in the bio industries. The volume compares the biomedical clusters in Sweden and Ohio and sheds light on the emergence of new science-based technological systems.
ISBN: 0792376331
Publication Date: 2002
Technological Systems and Industrial Dynamics by Bo Carlsson
This volume is a summary of several years of multi-disciplinary research by Swedish researchers. The project 'Sweden's Technological Systems and Future Development Potential' was initiated by the Swedish National Board for Industrial and Technical Development (NUTEK) and has been carried out at the Department of Industrial Management and Economics at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, the Research Policy Institute at the University of Lund, the Industrial Institute for Economic and Social Research (lUI) in Stockholm, and the Department of Industrial Economics and Management at the Royal Insitute of Technology, Stockholm, under the direction of Bo Carlsson, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio.
ISBN: 0792399404
Publication Date: 1997
Technological Systems and Economic Performance by Bo Carlsson (Editor)
In 1987, the Swedish National Board for Technical Development initiated a comprehensive study of Sweden's technological systems and future development potential. The project group focused on factory automation, resulting in several publications. This was the first in-depth analysis of a technological system designed as a component of a systematic study of technological systems.
ISBN: 0792335120
Publication Date: 1995
Industrial Dynamics:Technological, Organizational, and Structural Changes in Industries and Firms by Bo Carlsson
This book is based on the papers presented at a conference on "New Issues in Industrial Economics" held at Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, June 8-10, 1987. The conference was organized by the Research Program in Industrial Economics (RPIE) in the Department of Economics at CWRU and was sponsored by The Cleveland Foundation, the Eaton Corporation, and The Standard Oil Company (later renamed BP America, Inc.). Their generous support is gratefully acknowledged.
ISBN: 079239044X
Publication Date: 1989
Is Entrepreneurship Dead?: The Truth About Startups in America by
Despite common beliefs that American entrepreneurship is in decline due to lack of capital, regulation, and other challenges, Scott Shane's research shows that entrepreneurship is actually thriving. Through his research, he disproves each of the commonly accepted theories and convincingly demonstrates that the number of startups that are officially incorporated is increasing, fewer startups are failing, and more businesses are being supported by investors.
Operations and Production Systems with Multiple Objectives by
The first comprehensive book to uniquely combine the three fields of systems engineering, operations/production systems, and multiple criteria decision making/optimization
Born Entrepreneurs, Born Leaders by
Author Scott Shane explains why genes matter and how they influence numerous aspects of our professional lives, from job satisfaction to income levels. The book also delves into the role of genetics in creativity and innovation, and how genes affect our tendency to start companies.
The Handbook of Technology and Innovation Management by
This timely handbook represents the latest thinking in technology and innovation management, with the latest overview of the key developments in the field.
Fool's Gold? by
Challenges the myth of the angel investor as a wealthy retiree who effortlessly earns massive returns. Contrary to popular belief, Shane’s research reveals that most angel investors are not full-time investors, often invest modest sums like $10,000 or less, and rarely involve themselves deeply in startups.
Managing Your Intellectual Property Assets by
This book outlines and illustrates strategies that one must employ to protect your intellectual property.
The Illusions of Entrepreneurship by
Entrepreneurship is surrounded by myths and misconceptions. The reality is that most new businesses fail and have a low economic impact. Scott Shane's book, The Illusions of Entrepreneurship, provides accurate information about who becomes an entrepreneur, why they do it, how businesses are started, factors that lead to success or failure, and more. It's an essential resource for dreamers, investors, policymakers, and researchers interested in the economic impact of entrepreneurship.
Growing Your Business: Making Human Resources Work For You by
Explain why you should grow your business and describe some major growth challenges. This book identifies several strategies that enhance the growth of new firms. It explains how entrepreneurs can select high-performing employees and describes various ways of enhancing employees' motivation and commitment.
Technology Strategy for Managers and Entrepreneurs by
This book emphasizes how the future manager can use strategic management of innovation and technology to enhance firm performance. This book covers the evolution of technology, meeting consumer needs, capturing values generated from investments, and development of technology strategy.
Entrepreneurship by
With solid theory and relevant examples, this thorough resource covers the entire process of building a business. Seasoned instructors and entrepreneurial authorities, Professors Baron and Shane deliver a practical, applied process approach with a multidisciplinary perspective, drawing on knowledge from the studies of economics, psychology, and other areas.
Economic Development Through Entrepreneurship by
Despite a wealth of efforts that examine separately the role entrepreneurs and universities play in economic development, no systematic effort has been made to examine the role universities play in promoting economic development through entrepreneurship.
From Ice Cream to the Internet by
This book focuses on the strategic issues and challenges faced by franchisers. It presents principles for various facets of franchising success: designing the system, recruiting, selecting, managing; establishing territories, and pricing.
Entrepreneurship by
Baron and Shane’s book on entrepreneurship offers a fresh perspective, acknowledging the diverse motivations and backgrounds of students. It presents a flexible and accessible guide through the entrepreneurial journey, covering five key phases: idea generation, resource assembly, venture launch, success building, and reward harvesting.
Academic Entrepreneurship by
Scott Shane provides a systematic explanation of how university spinoff companies form and their role in commercializing university technology, creating wealth in the US and beyond.
Finding Fertile Ground by
This book provides clear and practical coverage of unique challenges faced by high-tech startups, including predicting demand for new products, measuring adoption and diffusion patterns, creating high barriers to entry, exploiting competitors' weaknesses, and managing risk in high-risk ventures.
A General Theory of Entrepreneurship by
In the first exhaustive treatment of the field in 20 years, Scott Shane extends the analysis of entrepreneurship by offering an overarching conceptual framework that explains the different parts of the entrepreneurial process.
Technological Systems in the Bio Industries by
A comprehensive effort to understand the role of technological change in the bio industries. The volume compares the biomedical clusters in Sweden and Ohio and sheds light on the emergence of new science-based technological systems.
The Foundations of Entrepreneurship by
Entrepreneurial opportunities are now crucial for wealth creation as business schools worldwide embrace the study of entrepreneurship.
Entrepreneurship, Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises, and the Macroeconomy by
The book explores why the US economy moved beyond its competitors and suggests that entrepreneurs played a significant role in this shift.
Technological Systems and Industrial Dynamics by
This volume is a summary of several years of multi-disciplinary research by Swedish researchers. The project 'Sweden's Technological Systems and Future Development Potential' was initiated by the Swedish National Board for Industrial and Technical Development (NUTEK) and has been carried out at the Department of Industrial Management and Economics at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, the Research Policy Institute at the University of Lund, the Industrial Institute for Economic and Social Research (lUI) in Stockholm, and the Department of Industrial Economics and Management at the Royal Insitute of Technology, Stockholm, under the direction of Bo Carlsson, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio.
Technological Systems and Economic Performance by
In 1987, the Swedish National Board for Technical Development initiated a comprehensive study of Sweden's technological systems and future development potential. The project group focused on factory automation, resulting in several publications. This was the first in-depth analysis of a technological system designed as a component of a systematic study of technological systems.
Industrial Dynamics:Technological, Organizational, and Structural Changes in Industries and Firms by
This book is based on the papers presented at a conference on "New Issues in Industrial Economics" held at Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, June 8-10, 1987. The conference was organized by the Research Program in Industrial Economics (RPIE) in the Department of Economics at CWRU and was sponsored by The Cleveland Foundation, the Eaton Corporation, and The Standard Oil Company (later renamed BP America, Inc.). Their generous support is gratefully acknowledged.