Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Pocket Guide to Neonatal Nutrition (Second Edition) by
This book provides practical information on nutrition assessment, parenteral and enteral nutrition, medical and surgical conditions, and updates on medical-surgical conditions and growth charts, parenteral nutrition shortages, new enteral products, and safety issues with the use of thickeners.
The Art Gallery of Pathology by
Presents human pathology samples as art.
Biomechanics of the Female Pelvic Floor (Second Edition) by
This book combines engineering and clinical expertise to focus on women's health. The book provides a common language for conducting research studies and those working on female pelvic floor dysfunction.
Clinical Principles of Transfusion Medicine by
This resource covers the latest advancements in transfusion therapies and the current practice of transfusion medicine. It offers a concise overview of best practices for specific clinical settings and discusses special populations, making it essential reading for transfusion specialists and other practitioners.
Family Murders: Pathologies of Love and Hate by
Explores various types of family murders through real-life cases and research data. It offers a unique framework to understand the commonalities, differences, and misconceptions of these tragedies. Ten forensic psychiatrists examine crimes such as intimate partner homicide, child murder by parents, and siblicide.
Fat Planet: Obesity, Culture, and Symbolic Body Capital by
This book explores the global impact of weight stigma. The authors examine social science perspectives, including the history, culture, and meaning of fat and its social rejection. They also discuss the power of non-fat bodies and how they influence our thinking about fat.
From Reading to Healing: Teaching Medical Professionalism Through Literature by
This book discusses how medical professionals can use literary texts to engage with students. The anthology includes diverse sayings from Charles Bukowski, Leo Tolstoy, William Carlos Williams, and Buddha.
Fundamentals of Pain Medicine by
This book offers a clear, comprehensive guide to pain medicine, covering key concepts, case studies, and multidisciplinary strategies for managing pain. It aligns with the American Board of Anesthesiology’s certification requirements, making it essential for trainees and new practitioners in the field.
Gastrointestinal Malignancies: A Practical Guide on Treatment Techniques by
The book serves as a guide to integrating advanced radiation therapy in treating gastrointestinal cancers, detailing the use of various therapies and their safety. It’s a valuable resource for oncology professionals.
Handbook of Clinical Sexuality for Mental Health Professionals (3rd Edition) by
The handbook is an updated guide for mental health professionals on clinical sexuality, offering new insights on sexual disorders, therapies, and emerging topics in the field.
Health Disparities by
addresses the urgent need to understand and address health inequalities, particularly for marginalized groups. It combines personal narratives with professional insights to highlight the biopsychosocial aspects of health issues. The book provides educational tools, including exercises and guides for creating case narratives, to help professionals improve patient care and advocate for systemic change. It’s a compassionate call to action for those in public health and related fields.;
Immunologic Concepts in Transfusion Medicine by
The book begins with a refresher of basic descriptive immunology and then covers TRALI, transfusion reactions, alloimmunization, TRIM, complications to transplantation, HLA-incompatibility, responses in adults versus neonate/pediatric patients, and state-of-the-art topics such as polyclonal/monoclonal therapies and CAR T.
Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate (6th Edition) by
This neonatology reference book presents new guidelines, equipment, drugs, and treatments that have greatly increased the chance of survival for high-risk infants and all aspects of neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care.
Laparoscopic Colectomy: A Step by Step Guide by
This book equips new surgeons with the anatomical and technical knowledge to supplement hands-on experience in minimally invasive colon and rectal surgery.
The Making, Breaking, and Renewal of a Surgeon-Scientist by
Autobiographical narrative about a middle-class youth who endured personal turmoil and family crises to achieve his lifelong goal of becoming a physician. The story provides a personal account accentuating why physicians and surgeons are fleeing medicine in droves and detailing what must be done to mend the cracks in the once-great American medical system.
Measures for Community and Neighborhood Research by
This book is a compilation of community and neighborhood-focused measures, offering a theoretical framework and practical tools for researchers to evaluate their impact on local environments.
Mesenchymal Stem Cells and Immunomodulation by
Discusses mesenchymal stem cells in managing immune inflammation, their applications in autoimmune diseases, blood cancers, and reproductive issues, and the research methodologies for MSCs.
Neonatology at a Glance (3rd edition) by
This is an illustrated guide to neonatal medicine, highlighting key areas such as perinatal care, neonatal issues, and management techniques, supported by visuals and video clips. It’s a comprehensive resource for healthcare professionals in neonatology.
Neuropathic Pain: A Case-Based Approach to Practical Management by
This book presents a practical management strategy for patient care, focusing on key findings and case scenarios to guide clinical decision-making and improve outcomes through better diagnosis and treatment approaches.
Oxygen transport to Tissue XL (Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, Vol. 1072) by
The book summarizes the interdisciplinary studies presented at the ISOTT 2017, focusing on oxygen transport in various medical contexts, including its clinical applications and the latest research findings.
Oxygen Transport to Tissue XVIII (Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, Vol. 411) by
The proceedings cover the 23rd ISOTT meeting, discussing various aspects of oxygen transport in tissues, including oxygenation in tumors, angiogenesis, and the role of nitric oxide and free radicals.
Oxygen Transport to Tissue XXXII (Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, Vol. 701) by
This volume from the 37th ISOTT conference discusses oxygen delivery to tissue, highlighting methods of measurement and their application in understanding tissue oxygenation pathology, for a multidisciplinary audience.
Oxygen Transport to Tissue XXXIX (Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, Vol. 977) by
This volume presents all aspects of the delivery of oxygen to tissues and tumors in peer-reviewed short articles. Both overview and the most recent, advanced techniques for oxygen measurement are presented.
Patient-Centered Clinical Care for African Americans by
This title is an easy-to-read guide outlining specific differences in communication, clinical therapies, medications, protocols, and other critical approaches to the care of African Americans.
Pocket Handbook of Esophageal Disorders by
This text covers prominent esophageal disorders and syndromes, with an emphasis on pathophysiology, diagnosis, treatment/management strategies, and complications for each disorder or syndrome.
Presenting Your Case: A Concise Guide for Medical Students by
This text provides a comprehensive guide for students giving well-prepared, focused, and concise presentations. It also allows students to discuss differential diagnoses, incorporate high-value care, educate their colleagues, and participate actively in patient care.
The Random Matrix Theory of the Classical Compact Groups by
A comprehensive overview of the study of random matrices from the classical compact groups, drawing on the subject's deep connections to geometry, analysis, algebra, physics, and statistics.
Respiratory Outcomes in Preterm Infants: From Infancy Through Adulthood by
This book presents pulmonary outcomes of prematurity, from their emergence in infancy through to their consequences in adulthood.
Role of Oxidative Stress, Mitochondria Failure, and Cellular Hypoperfusion in the Context of Alzheimer Disease by
This book discusses the roles of oxidative stress, mitochondria failure, and cellular hypoperfusion in the context of Alzheimer's Disease.
Specimen Science: Ethics and Policy Implications by
The book examines the complex legal, ethical, and regulatory issues surrounding the use of human biospecimens in research, focusing on consent, rights, and the balance between societal benefits and personal autonomy.
The Spectrum of Nueroendocrine Neoplasia by
The book conveys the similarities and differences of tumors that may be found from the hypothalamus and pituitary to the rectum, and in soft tissue as well as in many organs.
Thyroid Ultrasonography and Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy: A Practical Guide and Picture Atlas by
This textbook is an essential reference for both practicing and training endocrine surgeons, endocrinologists, radiologists, cytopathologists, sonographers as well as any healthcare worker with an interest in managing thyroid and parathyroid diseases in their daily practice.
The Working Woman's Pregnancy Book by
Offers practical advice, checklists, and stories to support women in managing pregnancy while working, understanding workplace rights, and finding balance post-birth. It’s designed to inform, comfort, and empower working pregnant women.
Writing Case Reports: A Practical Guide from Conception through Publication by
This guide offers a practical approach for medical students and physicians on writing and publishing medical case reports. It emphasizes the significance of case reports in medical discovery and education, detailing the process from selection to publication.